We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delightful, charming, comfortable, homey - wonderful spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Benton, Louisiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful, charming, comfortable, homey - wonderful spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I actually found out about The Tides Inn on tripadvisor.com. My cousin and I wanted to spend a few days in a beach town prior to a business trip to Irvine. We hadn't decided on any particular beach town -- just trying to find a relaxing place to stay. When I came across the reviews for The Tides Inn, I knew we'd found the place.

We were greeted very warmly when we arrived and continued to receive superior customer service throughout our stay. The rooms are not fancy, but they are very comfortable. The little kitchenette was nice to have and we spent some time in the chairs on the front porch of our room. The bathroom was a bit small, but we managed just fine.

The only thing I didn't like was my own fault. I confused "ocean view" with "ocean front." I had expected a room on the beach and was initially disappointed in my mistake. The inn is across the street from the beach. But we had plenty of beach access and were able to spend plenty of time on the beach.

The town had great restaurants, boutiques, art -- just a really charming place. The staff at The Tides Inn made us feel like we were guests in their home. We will visit there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    127
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
112
176
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

It's a lovely place with a good character. Spotless clean and perfect service. Only a bit close to the road, otherwise perfect. We stayed in one of the rooms with kitchen. (well the american version of a kitchen: no stove, but microwave, fridge..) its a white friendly room with a lot of space, big Tv with a list of all chanels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldfishtrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi,
We love your review and thank you for the lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Safe travels.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very charming and well maintained hotel. The room was clean and had a bread and breakfast charm. Pool was great and loved the fireplace. Great location never had to drive once we got there. Even though they are right on the Pacific Coast Hwy you would never know it. The staff was very accessable and willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank korona123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Location. Location. Location. We love where we are also!
Thank you for your recent stay and for your kind comments. Our fabulous staff is always pleased to hear feedback from guests. We are hoping for a return visit soon.
Regards,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We loved our stay at the Tides. This little hotel is quaint, charming, and well maintained. The room was impeccably clean, the pool was great, the service was friendly. It is on PCH, just 3 blocks from the center of town and 1 block from the beach. Everything is in walking distance. The only thing that would make it better would be if it were overlooking the beach, but then you would pay A LOT more for that.

This has to be the best place in town for the price. Especially if you come on your birthday and get the bday special. And the friendly management even upgraded our room.

Be aware that it is on PCH, which is a noisy highway, but then most of the other hotels are also located on this street, so I am sure they would all be just as noisy. They do provide ear plugs to sleep noise free and that worked for us.

If you want the big corporate resort experience, then go to the Marriott in Newport. If you want a little taste of a time gone by in a quaint charming little place, then give the Tides a try. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful review.
Yes, it would be nice to be on the beach but our upstairs rooms do have a slight water view. We are thrilled you took advantage of our Birthday Special--such a great deal and we appreciate your taking the time to review us.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Tides Inn stands just off the main Highway passing down the Pacific Coast Highway and offers excellent value in this lovey town. We only stayed here the one night which was regrettable as we were felt to be made very welcome from the moment we stepped into reception.

Rooms very well equipped, more a suite than a room and would not go amiss in more expensive boutique hotel.

A lovely if underused pool area to the front of the property just adds to the excellent value of this property.

Room Tip: More of a suite than a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard_CRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent another 4 nights in Laguna Beach at the Tides Inn. Our second stay here to be repeated when we come to Orange County. Wonderful staff; extremely customer oriented, affortable accomodations considering it is Laguna Beach CA afterall. Nice pool and lounge area. Rooms spic and span. Great location within walking distance of absolutely everything. Make sure you walk North one block, cross PCH 1 towards the ocean and take the cliff walk that trails all the way back to the Laguna Beach city beach. Wonderful views of the magnificent Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have stayed here many times over the past decades. I find The Tides' location, friendliness, and room comfort a real reason we return there each time I come back to Laguna. No stuffy air conditioned sterile rooms here. Pool relaxing and advice from staff honest & quite spot on for restaurants, beaches. I grew up in Laguna & won't think of another place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenckes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Property: The Tides Laguna Beach
Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing