We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Amazing Experience”
Review of Studio

Studio
Reserve with OpenTable
Studio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 179 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & South Pacific Coast Highway
Description: With a panoramic oceanfront location and modern french cuisine with California influences, Studio is the portrait of beachside indulgence a refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Set on an oceanfront bluff in the artistic village of Laguna Beach, Studio is designed to captivate the senses. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water's edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
16
Reviewed October 24, 2005

The setting, the overall ambience, the food, and the service were all top notch and far exceeded my expectations. I read previous reviews and was concerned that I would be disappointed. I chose this place to propose to my girlfriend due to the location right on the cliffs in Laguna, and it was absolutely perfect. The food was delicious - the optimal balance of flavors and you could really enjoy the taste of all the ingredients. They knew it was a special evening for us (I let them know I was proposing and made arrangements beforehand), and they treated us like VIPs from the moment we stepped in the door. It truly felt like we had 3 people serving our table alone, and we never had to ask for a thing. My new fiance and I will be going back every year to celebrate our engagement at this wonderful place!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Good day,
We would like to congratulate you on your recent engagement. Thank you for choosing to spend such a special evening at Studio. We are honored to welcome you back each year and re-create the wonderful moment you both share with us.
Todd Orlich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 328 of 339 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2005

Attended a corproate dinner at Studio that started with cocktails on the lawn overlooking the surf and proceeded to the "private" dining room the other side of the kitchen from the main dining room. The 5-course tasing menu was paired with appropriate wines. Superb lobster, Kobe beef and New England scallops. Smith Farm heirloom tomato salad...all superb.

Expensive, but highly recommended for food, atmosphere and service.

3  Thank caseyollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Good day,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience at Studio on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that the tasting menu and ambiance was so enjoyable. We are happy to accommodate you in many more memorable evenings.
Todd Orlich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2005

I took some friends to The Loft for lunch. We did not stay the beautiful resort (we live too close by) but enjoyed a lovely lunch there. The staff was very warm, friendly and not snooty. We ate on the balcony and enjoyed the view from there. All of our dishes were really good and even the breadbasket was devoured! We ordered the coconut creme brulee and it was heavenly! (I don't even like coconuts) We sat there for a while after lunch and the staff never rushed us out.

5  Thank Susan_sunnyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Loft on TripAdvisor. Your appreciation and commendation has been shared with the team. We look forward to making your future dining experiences just as enjoyable.
Todd Orlich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2005

The restaurant is located in the Montage resort which is elegant and yet still very friendly and accessible - far from stuffy. The restaurant itself has several tables inside and outside. We sat at an outside table and were afforded a great sunset view.

The service is excellent with a lowkey approach. The food was exceptional. Leave room for dessert.

Afterward, go into the lobby's grand lounge area for a nightcap. With the live piano and wonderfully comfortable couches, you will not be disappointed.

This might be a splurge - but it's one worth making!

Highly recommended with no complaints.

15  Thank LagunaGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Good day,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Studio on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that from start to finish your visit was truly memorable and relaxing. We look forward to having you dine with us again.
Todd Orlich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
38
Reviewed October 23, 2004

Stayed there at the end of September and dined at the loft. UNBELIEVABLE. We had a charming waiter and excellent food. We weren't expecting much as we had heard about the studio from friends and dined there two nights. Definately a great experience.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing