We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Studio

Studio
Reserve with OpenTable
Studio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 169 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & South Pacific Coast Highway
Description: WITH A PANORAMIC OCEANFRONT LOCATION AND MODERN FRENCH CUISINE WITH CALIFORNIA INFLUENCES, STUDIO IS THE PORTRAIT OF BEACHSIDE INDULGENCE A refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Since its debut in early 2003, Studio at Montage Laguna Beach has become a culinary destination for discerning gourmands and oenophiles alike. Set on an oceanfront bluff in the artistic village of Laguna Beach, Studio is designed to captivate the senses. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water"s edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The restaurant is located at the Montage Resort. It has spectacular views of Laguna Beach. I love the lounge area with a fireplace right outside the restaurant where you can lounge, sip champagne, watch the sun set, and enjoy the breathtaking views of the ocean. The service is hands down first class...impeccable! We got the 9-course tasting menu. Everything was delicious and prepared by a well-known gourmet chef. They had a great selections of wine included in the tasting menu. This place is perfect for wedding proposals. I can't say anything imperfect about this place. Everything was excellent! This place is simply incredible!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dearly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    39
    27
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newport beach
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“some awesome dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Perfect location especially if you are outside. Some truly incredible dishes and some so so and that should not be the point given the price point.

Plates were not warm enough for outdoor eating as well.

Wine is just too over priced.

superior service

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waltermichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I’m glad you enjoyed yourselves but only wish your Studio dining experience had been flawless. Please respond to the private message I sent you. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service at the Studio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We ate here during our recent stay at the Montage and the Studio lived up to its reputation as one of California's best restaurants. The food and service were simply awesome. As soon as we sat down, delicious bread and three types of butter were brought to the table, one of them made from goat milk. Never had butter made from goat milk before but it was exquisite. For my first course, I ordered the dungeness crab and ricotta cavatelli, and for my main course I had the venison loin and it came to the table exactly the way I ordered it, medium rare, and it tasted delicious. My husband had the cold asparagus soup and the duck breast and he too thought both dishes were absolutely amazing. The portions are not big so if you are looking for a lot of food, this place isn't for you. The piece the resistance was the chocolate sphere for dessert. I won't describe what it is here, you have to try it for yourself.
P.S. Yes, the prices are high but deservedly so.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMAigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I’m glad that your outstanding evening at Studio was complete with exquisite cuisine. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon for another incredible evening.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

What an experience of over the top service, food, and hospitality!! My wife and I just celebrated our 25th anniversary at The Studio and we were overwhelmed by the quality of service and food. We felt pampered and appreciated that we would choose to celebrate our 25th at their location. It was our very first time and most definitely not our last.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mi2critical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had dinner at The Studio while staying at the Montage. The service was excellent as was the food. I had heard a lot about the restaurant, and it lived up to it's reputation for fine dinning.

The location out on the edge of the water is very nice, but at this time of the year when you arrive for dinner it is too dark to appreciate it.

We were well attended by the staff but never bothered by them. They engaged in conversation and made us feel welcome.

Each course was well presented, with decent sized portions, and great taste. I had the beef tenderloin for the main course and it was some of the best I have ever had.




Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredbvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We are eager to welcome you back for another spectacular experience at Studio. Many thanks for your praise.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing