We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memory of a lifetime”
Review of Studio

Studio
Reserve with OpenTable
Studio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & South Pacific Coast Highway
Description: WITH A PANORAMIC OCEANFRONT LOCATION AND MODERN FRENCH CUISINE WITH CALIFORNIA INFLUENCES, STUDIO IS THE PORTRAIT OF BEACHSIDE INDULGENCE A refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Since its debut in early 2003, Studio at Montage Laguna Beach has become a culinary destination for discerning gourmands and oenophiles alike. Set on an oceanfront bluff in the artistic village of Laguna Beach, Studio is designed to captivate the senses. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water"s edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memory of a lifetime”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Just did the chef's tasting menu...not sure why anyone would do anything differently...fabulous! Insist on Miguel Amador's server team

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrnohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    39
    28
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Extreme Rip-Off”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Being from metro NYC we may be spoiled but this place is a huge rip-off.
Dinner for three with tip was over $400.00 with only one person drinking.
Service while good was overly attentive and bordered on annoying. Such service is usually a cover for poor food. Food was alright but nothing special and very small portions.
Major issue. We left our two cars with the hotel valet. We had our parking stubs validated in the restaurant for what we assumed was free parking. Oh no such thing. We had to pay $11.00 for each car. The validation was merely a subsidy. Parking is $36.00 with the restaurant supposedly picking up $25.00. Of course we tipped the valets too. Not their fault and no reason to deprive them. Our complaint is that we should have been informed beforehand or when the stubs were validated but no one made a peep until the end. We then asked if we could have parked the cars ourselves. We were advised that we could have self-parked in the shopping center parking lot across the highway, which would have been close to a half-mile , round trip both before and after dinner. Additionally, walking across the highway is no safe or easy feat at that location. If it weren’t a five minute walk back to the restaurant, I would have gone back and raised hell. I regret that I didn’t.
Also, the acoustics in the dining room are poor.
Anyhow, find another spot. In no way worth it

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your experience at Studio; I apologize for your frustration. We understand your disappointment, and it is certainly not demonstrative of what we strive to achieve. To that end, I would like to speak with you personally in order to offer my formal apologies. Please call the resort at (949) 715-6000 so we can discuss the issues you experienced further.

Sincerely,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
350 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Wow! What took us so long to eat here?”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

For as many times as we have been to The Montage, I cannot believe this was our first experience eating at The Studio. It was absolutely perfect! I made reservations for the evening of my husband's birthday and requested a vegetarian menu, since we are both pescetarians. I enjoyed the vegetarian tasting menu, while my husband decided to order seafood from the regular menu. Our server, Miguel, was friendly, professional, and personable. All service throughout the evening was truly five star, as was the amazing food. I would go back in a heartbeat! The Studio is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion. It is my new favorite restaurant in California.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grlgrdgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
706 reviews
418 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“WOW THIS IS CA'S BEST!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

There is no question that you are stepping into a very special place. Impossible to find fault. An experience in dining unlike any other. If you can find better, no, you can't…only different interpretations of perfection.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Honored to be considered, “California’s best” and delighted that your experience was so stellar! Many thanks for your praise. We wish you many more wonderful evenings at Studio.

Warmly,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Every plate was delicious”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. The scallop appetizer was fabulous. This place is pricey but the food, service and view are one of a kind.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing