We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Laguna Beach
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Super fun activity to do with friends and family!

Super fun activity! We had so much fun doing the Newport Beach version that we signed up again for... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Kavilove
Great experience!

We participated in the Murder Mystery Scavenger Hunt on Nov, 9th. We were 8 teams in the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Aurelie M
Read all 108 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Laguna Beach
from $95.00
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
from $100.00
More Info
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
106
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
106
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great team building experience wear comfortable shoes puzzles teams solve fun clue laguna race adventure sights escape
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 108 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Alex, you have done it again!! Game designer, Alex B., has put together another incredible, thought provoking Murder Mystery game, now in the city of San Clemente. The Laguna Beach edition is incredible to walk all over the city to see the sites and solve the quest to find a Murderer. Now, the game gets even more intriguing as you walk all over the downtown area of San Clemente and even to the pier. How someone can put this much time into forming questions to solve clues to the "who's dunit" expedition, I will never understand. If you want to spend roughly 4 hours getting to know San Clemente and truly have to work as a team, then this has been developed for you. Two Thumbs Up for the Murder Mystery Scavenger Hunt!!!!

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank sjyancey1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

What a fun way to spend a Saturday afternoon! The word scavenger is a little misleading in that you don't hunt for things, but scavenge for clues instead to solve a "murder." The route takes you to all the important and nice areas of Laguna, so for a first time visitor you get to see it all, and for locals, learn a lot about the history of Laguna and maybe some overlooked gems like the community center, water district and city hall. You also get to spend plenty of time on and overlooking the ocean. You have the choice of an intermediate or advanced version. We chose the advanced and it took us 4.5 hours, with hardly any breaks, but we did solve the crime and came in first! But be prepared for a lot of walking! The riddles, clues and puzzles are all well-thought out and it took all 4 of us to solve them! Requires a lot of logical thinking and "outside the box" thinking. I would recommend not doing it with less than 3-4 people if possible or at least two very smart people! Read all the advice and tips on the website to make sure this is right for you. When we went a lot of groups stopped about half way through, either too challenging or time-consuming for them. And special kudos to Alex, the mastermind behind it! He said it took a year to design and fine-tune the course and the attention to detail and the variety of puzzles to solve makes that very evident. He has done a great job and is really friendly and helpful as well!

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Wendy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The scavenger hunt was awesome! I never got bored. I was always excited to see the next puzzle to solve. It wasn't too easy and it wasn't too hard. It was put together so well and you get to walk around the beach and get some fresh air while solving a mystery. I recommend it for sure! Check it out you won't be disappointed!

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Katallu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Highly recommend this - it was SOOO much fun! My girlfriends & I had an absolute blast. We loved the details and planning that went into creating this scavenger hunt: specific locations, clues, puzzles, riddles - all obviously well-thought out and structured. Pay attention to every detail, simple mistakes might cost you some time! It was just the right balance of challenging and fun. We got down there a little early and had time for coffee & light breakfast before getting started, had time to stop for a snack during the game, and hung around Laguna Beach afterward for dinner. We were able to successfully ID the killer in just under 4 hours. This was a great way to spend an afternoon in Laguna with friends & to get to know the area better. We are very much looking forward to the next one being planned, as they are adding a 2nd location - yippee!!!!

Date of experience: April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 703JenniferR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was fabulous! You don't have to be a local to follow the clues and get to see some of the fun sights here in Laguna! I want to do it again with another group when the clues change! Thanks for a great time!!!

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Soccalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews