We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Laguna Beach
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience!

We participated in the Murder Mystery Scavenger Hunt on Nov, 9th. We were 8 teams in the... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Aurelie M
Amazing Scavenger Hunt!

It was a really great experience! Been to Laguna Beach all my life, but the event encouraged us to... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2019
Phamtastico
,
Irvine, California
Read all 107 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Laguna Beach
from $95.00
More Info
from $100.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
105
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great team building experience wear comfortable shoes teams solve clues fun adventure sights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 107 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a great day walking around Laguna Beach, collecting clues, figuring out puzzles and learning some of the history of the area. Living in this area, I've been to Laguna Beach countless times to shop and eat, but this tour lets you see a lot of the things you would never see. The hunt consists of 12 locations you must visit marked on a map. Each location has a puzzle or two that you work out to determine which clues on the clue sheet are confirmed. If you follow all the clues correctly, you are left with just one suspect. It started at 11:00am, and most teams take 3-4 hours to finish. If you have trouble with the clues, you can call the organizer, and he will help you, for a penalty. We called once for clarification but were not charged a penalty. The puzzles are not easy, but with 4 people you can figure them out in a reasonable amount of time. We lost most time because we didn't realize some locations have two or more pages in the notebook so we had to backtrack. My suggestions are
1. Do this tour, it is a blast.
2. Wear good shoes, you will be walking several hours unless you bring Segways.
3. Don't stop and shop. You can do that afterwards.
4. Don't stop and start drinking, there are a lot of bars around here.
5. Check your notebook to ensure you have filled out all the pages at each required stop.
6. Check Groupon, we did it for 1/2 price.
7. Watch the time after you park, most places you can only pay for 3 hours at a time. We learned that the hard way.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex B, Owner at Murder Mystery Scavenger Hunt, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dennis, Thank you for the review! I must clarify for those who read it, as of 2/26/14, we have not ever offered a deal on Groupon. I think Dennis bought his tickets at a discount from Goldstar. There is another clue based company (with a different name) that sells tickets on Groupon very cheap. Don't be confused and assume it is as good as Murder Mystery Scavenger Hunt. Also, you can email us to receive a discount code off our posted rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a team of four and all had and great time. Very well put together with challenging and clever brain teasers to solve the mystery. Bring good walking shoes and water. It takes about 4 hours to walk around downtown Laguna looking for clues.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank Terrik827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was a great experience. I've lived in Laguna Beach all my life and it was so cool to see the little parts of history I take for granted everyday. The creator obviously has a passion for what he does and you really feel a sense of accomplishment as you go from place to place. It's totally worth a few hours to experience on a Saturday.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank MJAlisoViejo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you like riddles then you have to go on this scavenger hunt. It was put together so well and it is so much fun. The guy who put it together really did a great job! We were able to finish all the riddles and come up with the suspect... But even those who didn't had a great experience as well. It is a great way to experience Laguna Beach in a really different way. Have fun with it, don't get frustrated, and wear comfy shoes!

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank GreenEyedGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a fun day of walking to downtown landmarks and ocean side parks while trying to solve clues that lead you to the killer. Alex offers up some very challenging puzzles and is very encouraging when you get stumped. You will have fun whether you win or not.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Lagunatic345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews