We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot in Laguna ...”
Review of Laguna Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Surf
Placentia, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice spot in Laguna ...”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were given the gift of a week at the Laguna Surf. Unfortunately, due to other circumstances, we were only able to go for a Saturday night (April 26, 2014) stay. However, in the brief time we were there, it was an enjoyable experience. We didn't have an ocean front unit, which was a bummer. We were in #207 which faces PCH so we heard a little street noise but the windows are pretty thick so it did not bother us. Parking was secure and our after hours check-in was fine (office closes at 5 so manager left our keys in a lock box) Our brief experience with the staff was a positive one. Room was clean and had a nice little kitchenette we could have used to prepare breakfast and other meals if we had been there for the week. Lots of restaurant choices in the area for all times of the day plus a Ralphs grocery store just a block south down PCH. We loved Skandia bakery - great alternative to the crowded Starbucks located on PCH. Great location on the beach! Would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyKat1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Laguna Surf, responded to this review, February 2, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide us a review of your stay. We are happy to hear you had a great time. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations and were pleased with our customer service. It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service and guest satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit.

Laguna Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Exchanged our timeshare for Laguna Surf. Very pleased to get a beach front...#212 end unit. Spectacular views! Comfy bed, grill on own patio, easy walk to lots of shops & restaurants. Ralph's grocery store very close too. Wahoo Fish Tacos, White House and Big Fish all excellent dining choices! Also Laguna Surf had very nice, secure underground parking.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Laguna Surf, responded to this review, February 2, 2017
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us a review of your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time. We are always happy to learn that our guests enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. We feel that providing outstanding customer service is a key factor in making a favorable impression on our guests and it sounds like we were successful with you. We look forward to your return.

Laguna Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

"The Laguna Surf doesn't need a good review," some owners told us. So I won't reiterate how great the location is right on the beach in the heart of town, or how relaxing and peaceful the condo, or how friendly and attentive the staff. I'll just say my wife and I had a thoroughly romantic week walking along the sand and watching some amazing sunsets from our private balcony!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 61only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Laguna Surf, responded to this review, February 2, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide us a glowing review of your stay. We thoroughly enjoyed reading your review. We are happy to hear you had a great time. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations and were pleased with our customer service. It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service and guest satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit!

Laguna Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a timeshare resort and most of the weeks are assigned to owners. To rent from an owner you have to go to www.Lagunasurf.org and see what is available. All the even numbered units are Ocean View, all the odd number units are Village View. Most of the units have 1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms and a murphy bed in the living area, so they sleep 4. Each condo also has a BBQ on the balcony, a fireplace and free wi-fi. There is also an owners lounge with a TV, computer, free games and books and a nice shared observation deck and rooftop jacuzzi. The Ocean View units have a GREAT view, you are right there and can hear the waves. It is very beautiful and peaceful. The location in Laguna also can't be beat because you can walk to the grocery store, restaurants, shopping and main beach. The condo comes with one reserved spot and we just leave the car there and walk everywhere. We like to walk to the Ralphs down the street, get groceries and BBQ on the balcony and enjoy the view. It is the BEST view around and the best location. This resort was a great find!! We also found the management staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Even number condos are ocean view. The odd number condos face PCH The third floor (top floor) has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjaeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Laguna Surf, responded to this review, February 2, 2017
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us a review of your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time. We are always happy to learn that our guests enjoyed our accommodations, amenities and location. We feel that providing outstanding customer service is a key factor in making a favorable impression on our guests and it sounds like we were successful with you. We look forward to your return.

Laguna Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We've owned a timeshare at LS for over 15 years. We go every spring break and over the last few years the place has most certainly fallen under the timeshare guidelines! The rooms are small but the view definitely makes up for that. The hotel sits right on the sand, the location is perfect! Unfortunately, the management has lowered the standard of cleanliness! THE ROOM WAS DIRTY, UNSANITARY AND GROSS. MILDEW IN THE BATHROOMS, HAIR EVERYWHERE, SMELLY TOWELS, & TO MY SURPRISE...BLOOD ON THE TOILET COVER. The kitchen wasn't any better I'm sad to say. We checked out early and the manager didn't even ask WHY or how was your stay!
Simply SAD!


  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cleanfreakytypeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcamarata, General Manager at Laguna Surf, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
We appreciate your comments about your stay. Thank you for informing us about the minor things that you thought needed enhancements. We assure you that the quality of customer service was not typical of our standards and sincerely apologize that you experienced it. This will greatly assist us in making continuous improvements to our resort. We look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed there through a timeshare exchange. Nice place right on the beach. The back overlooks the ocean, you have to walk down 100 steps but worth it. The front overlooks the noisy street and a gas station so you have to keep the door closed. The kitchen was well equipped and you could walk to restaurants. There is gated parking, a nice game room with a computer, copier, and television. Laguna Beach charges $17 a night for a room tax. I would go back but would get a room that faces the back.

Room Tip: Rooms in back face the beach, the front rooms face the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcamarata, General Manager at Laguna Surf, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations. We couldn't agree more with you about overlooking the minor issues compared to being within walking distance from the beach. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I own a timeshare at the Laguna Surf as well as having rented daily where it is more charactistic of a hotel than a timeshare. It is important to get one of their ocean front rooms which are directly on the beach and provide a 180-degree+ ocean view. Patios are large and include a BarBQ. Rooms are 1 bedroom with a convertible bed in the living room, sleeping 4 maximum or
2 very comfortably. Location couldn't be better.
There is not daily maid service and the office hours are not 24/7. However, I recommend staying at the Laguna Surf as long as it is "ocean view" and not "village view".

Room Tip: Only ocean view. Don't book the Village view unless you are just looking for value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RugglesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcamarata, General Manager at Laguna Surf, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback. It is so wonderful to hear from our owners. It always thrills us to hear that our owners enjoyed their accommodations and had a great time.

Laguna Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.4 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#13 of 22 in Laguna Beach
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#20 of 22 in Laguna Beach
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Surf

Property: Laguna Surf
Address: 611 South Pacific Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Laguna Surf Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Surf Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing