We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You can't get much closer to the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Surf
Save
You added Laguna Surf to your Saves list
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“You can't get much closer to the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I own a timeshare at the Laguna Surf as well as having rented daily where it is more charactistic of a hotel than a timeshare. It is important to get one of their ocean front rooms which are directly on the beach and provide a 180-degree+ ocean view. Patios are large and include a BarBQ. Rooms are 1 bedroom with a convertible bed in the living room, sleeping 4 maximum or
2 very comfortably. Location couldn't be better.
There is not daily maid service and the office hours are not 24/7. However, I recommend staying at the Laguna Surf as long as it is "ocean view" and not "village view".

Room Tip: Only ocean view. Don't book the Village view unless you are just looking for value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RugglesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We made reservations for mid-September which is off season less noisy and crowded. Although this unit was not overlooking the ocean/beach, the hotel itself was ocean front. My corner third floor unit was overlooking the street with a private balcony that had a bbq and with a nice side view of the beach/ocean. The one bedroom had two full baths, kitchen, and a pull out bed in the small dining area. It needed updating, but all in all was comfortable. The staff/employees were helpful and courteous. Great location, situated near all ie.: waterfront restaurants, shops supermarkets. Would go back a second time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cutestuff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

First let's be clear, it is vital that you make sure you are getting a unit facing the beach. Most of these units for prime weeks are already assigned to owners so you may need to rent from one of them. If so the resort can provides names with weeks available. We were in a third floor unit facing the beach and we were very pleased. Yes the rooms are a little dated and small but we spent most of our time on the beach or the deck. There were two bathrooms, one bedroom, a murphy bed (so you could sleep up to 4), and a small but fully functional kitchen. With a couple trips to Trader Joe's for some groceries and wine, the kitchen, and the large deck with a good sized gas grill, we were able to enjoy the majority of our breakfasts and lunches along with a few dinners on the deck watching the waves roll in. We were able to save at least $400 on restaurant and bar tabs and I've never eaten at a Laguna restaurant with a better view. Also the price for the week was about $1,000 less than we used to pay for a week at a beachfront hotel. As long as you are careful to make sure you are getting what you want, I don't see how anyone wouldn't be happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, UT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Based on beautiful pictures posted on the internet, my wife and I secured a reservation at the Laguna Surf resort 4 months ahead, but when we arrived, we found that the resort had a “dark side.” Two-thirds of the condos overlook the ocean with private balconies that provide enjoyment of the beautiful ocean sights and sounds (they were the idyllic picture that drew us to the location). But we were given one of the other third, which are just across the hall and which we were told nearly always are given to those who aren’t owners and who didn’t reserve at least a year ahead. Our condo balcony door faced and was approximately 30 feet away from an extremely busy street (actually, State Highway 1, with a stop light and bus stop right outside our condo). We had been looking forward to a week of ocean peace and tranquility, but instead found ourselves bombarded with heavy traffic noise 24/7 (trucks, motorcycles, sirens, etc. continued all night every night); we felt like we were camping at a truck stop. Sleeping was very interrupted (or absent altogether), and the ambiance of our condo was the very opposite of peace and tranquility. The condo itself was very small, but livable, and would not have bothered us but for the noise. The internet portrayal of the resort gave no hint of the proximity of the street, and we felt very betrayed. In terms of the positives, we were situated right next to the beautiful Laguna Beach and nearby happenings, and the staff was courteous and helpful. So, we tried to stay out of our condo whenever possible, but with very little sleep and the horrible atmosphere in our condo preventing a daytime nap, we were completely exhausted by week’s end. We would have gone home much earlier except for the difficulty of arranging flights. Had we known of the possible conditions, we never would have reserved our vacation at the Laguna Surf, and we warn others to beware!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank KASinUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We walked out on the big balcony overlooking the ocean and immediately felt relaxed. There is a full kitchen so you don't always have to eat out. There's even a bbq on the balconies. The best part is that you can hear the waves crashing all day and all night long!
The decor is a little outdated, but it was still very comfortable. What a wonderful, relaxing stay! Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — outdated decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank camarillomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego Ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stay here every year. The views are spectacular (on the ocean side). I always start out feeling very stressed but within a few hours I am so relaxed. I love sitting on the balcony in the early morning drinking coffee, listening to the sound of the ocean and, more times than not, seeing dolphins playing in the waves. We generally only eat out once during our stay as it is so special to just eat on the balcony and enjoy the sunset or the view! Since the remodel, they look more modern. Sure it would be nice to have a pool, but the spa is really nice to relax in.

  • Liked — The spectacular veiw
  • Disliked — I honestly can't think of anything!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knittingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

We stayed at Laguna Surf last year and while the views from our room were incredible, the room was quite average. The Hotel is basically a timeshare resort that rents its surplus rooms. Most of the rooms are one bedroom wih 1 1/2 baths. There are full kitchens and the living room has a fireplace that appears to have been added in after the resort was built . The fp is in a useless place. The bedroom is quite small with just enough room in front of the bed for one person to pass. The restrooms are very dated and do not have a unique design. The Ktichen has newer appliances and is small. The resort does not have a restaurant or a pool. It does have a spa on the roof deck. However one gets the feeling that you are actually sitting on the roof when you are up there. There is absolutely no other amenities other than the spa on the roof. There are many restaurants nearby so the resorts lack of one does not really matter. Access to the beach is also a little cumbersome. There is a stair set with at least 100 steps. This is not a problem going down but coming back to your room can be quite tiring. We have decided not to rent at Laguna Surf again. The experience was not worth a return trip.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Surf

Property: Laguna Surf
Address: 611 South Pacific Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Laguna Surf Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Surf Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing