We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so Service but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Tacoma WA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“So-so Service but great location”
Reviewed April 7, 2006

I'd give this hotel 4 points because of the location on the beach and close to the tourist shopping, on top of very reasonable prices. The rooms are not sparkling, but for the money, ours was decent and do-able. Parking is free and there is a normal continental breakfast.

But I'm goinv this 3 points because of the poor service. Sour people who weren't at all interested in the fact that I was a guest. When I asked for directions, one receptionist wouldn't even get up from her seat, which was a distance from the front desk, to talk to me. When I asked her to show me something on the map that I had, she looked annoyed. Now, I'm a pleasant person, so it's not as though I had alienated them with any aggressiveness or demanding demeanor. They were just consistently disinterested. The fact that the place is "family run" certainly runs counter to their favor. If they were corporate, they might have higher standards.

Given that there are many hotels on that same street, I'd opt for another place next time.

Helpful?
10 Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    90
    42
    26
    25
See reviews for
103
120
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 7, 2006

Can't wait to return. We came to Laguna for a family reunion and were fortunate enough to locate a room at this hotel. My cousin who lives in the area made the recomendation and if your looking for value and location with insane views this is the best in Laguna. I know there are fancier places but they are way too expensive. We stopped by the Montage were my very succesful uncle parted with over $1,200 a night for his room. Yes it was beautiful but I spent less than half of his nightly rate for 3 nights within walking distance of the downtown area, looking at the same ocean and had a closer view. We thought the rooms, location, public spaces and staff were all great. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
48 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2006

We were in Laguna Beach to attend the wedding of a good friend and wanted to stay in an ocean-view hotel without paying dearly. This hotel epitomizes the phrase that "you get what you pay for". The website and surprisingly, many of the reviews I read, make this facility out to be a gem. I can unequivocally state that it is not. I cannot emphasize how shocked I was when we got there. The rooms were well worn, outdated and void of any charm. The hallways were often very dark and frequently festooned with ridiculous amateurish painted murals, chipped paint on railings, old carpet, mildew smells, and an overall ambience of yuck. I can't understand the positive reviews of this place. Maybe these are folks who are not used to staying at the beach and were so wowed by the ocean that they forgot about the rest. I don't know. At any rate, I would urge anyone considering staying here to pay more and go to a different hotel. If we could have located another available room elsewhere, we would have moved in an instant. Unfortunately, every place nearby was booked and we tried to spend as much time away from our room as possible. Luckily, Laguna Beach is fantastic and the town is so much fun, that our vacation wasn't a complete loss, despite the fact that we were staying at a sub-par hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank maki1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 28, 2006

We were guests of the Riviera mid February and just loved it. The location, staff, beach, and weather were all spot on. As other reviews have pointed out this is not a new property but it is a unique boutique with all the comfort and ambiance we needed and a real bargain which left us enough in our winter vacation budget to have some first class dinners. One feature of note is the water pressure. I have stayed at so many hotels with wimpy water pressure, but at the Riviera it was every bit as good as back home. I just felt comfortable, at home and plan on returning at the next available opportunity. If all goes well it will be this summer.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
48 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2006

It was out first time we stayed in Laguna Beach, usually we stay with friends. This time we wanted to be near downtown and experience the Laguna nightlife. We are so glad we did! My wife and I had such a wonderful time with our friends. The nightlife has something for everyone! We were able to walk down to the center of town and back with no problems. Do be careful though when crossing Pacific Coast Highway, the cars don’t slow down very often.

The other guests staying at the hotel were just as friendly. It wasn’t out of the ordinary to strike up a conversation with other guests in the morning who were waiting for breakfast in the lobby. Laguna Beach has wonderful coffee shops and little diners that serve fantastic breakfast burritos, within a couple blocks of the hotel, a must try!

If you are looking for an all inclusive hotel with servants at your beck-and-call this isn’t the place for you! What the Laguna Rivera lacks in lavishness it makes up for with practicality. The only time we really spent in our room was to shower and sleep. What else do you need to do in Laguna? We had access to the beach and a beautiful ocean views from one of the many spots reserved for guests in their courtyard.

The only real drawback I can think of was the parking and that wasn’t even all that bad, unless you had a Hummer. All in all we will definitely be going back and staying at the Laguna Rivera! We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
51 Thank Markynature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 18, 2006

We can reccomend the Riviera to any traveler looking for a great place to stay at reasonable prices. After using a few online services to help us make a choice, we selected the Riviera and it lived up to all of our expectations. It is a fun classic feeling beach front hotel. At home We look at snow this time of year so being able to watch the sun set and wave crashing while wearing shorts was a welcome change. We were told that the weather was unseasonably warm and that it is not unusual to have rain in January and February so maybe we just got lucky. Never the less, we loved it. The rooms were very comfortable and the service was friendly and helpful. The center of town is a short stroll to the north, the beach is in front of the hotel and you get to it by walking down the hotels private garden pathway. Food is everywhere. Whatever you desire from a corner deli to fancy french we discovered that we were able to walk each night to diner and the walk back was a great way to cap off the evening. I saw the post about a mildew odor and we did not experience anything like that but in the moring there can be a very noticable scent of the ocean. We found it nice but others may not appreciate all that goes with staying right on the shore. In closing we plan on returning and believe that all but those used to five star hotels and the associated pammering will have as an enjoyable and memorable stay as we did.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
51 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 29, 2006

If you're looking for a beach front dive hotel, this is your place. If you're looking for comfort or romance, keep looking! The decor and the bedding haven't been changed in decades. The ocean front suites are some of the worst and they have a very strong mildew smell. If you want a cheap place where kids couldn't hurt a thing this hotel may be okay for you.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Property: Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Address: 825 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2724
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax year-round at this beach resort, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting. Relax in our heated sauna, indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Enjoy a Free continental breakfast in the cozy lounge and complementary Internet property wide. Parking is free and we are located close to downtown in world famous Laguna Beach. Come stay with us, this hide-a-way is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laguna Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Riviera Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing