We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why we love the Laguna Riviera Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed April 4, 2014

For 23 years, coming to the Laguna Riviera has offered us a respite from stress and exhaustion of daily living. We come here for rest, relaxation, and renewal-- and never leave disappointed!!
It may not offer the glitzy luxury many seek, but here-- surrounded by flowers and ocean--one can find peace, welcome, and comfort. It is the "pearl of great price".

Room Tip: Rooms on the highway side are a bit noisy. Most rooms are quiet and have an ocean view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful and serene review.

It is an honor that our family and beach side hotel have been able to provide you with 23 years of service. We pride ourselves on delivering a relaxing authentic Laguna Beach experience sharing our beach lifestyle making everyone comfortable. We don't even try, nor want to be, a buttoned up 5 star property where you have to worry about what you are wearing just to stop by the office for some coffee in the morning. With that said we are constantly striving to be better and offer more at the best ocean front prices in town.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 365 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

We just returned from 3 days at the Laguna Riviera. Our visit started out poorly, but the hotel went out of their way to make us happy. We had four of us staying (two adults with our two grown children), and I had carefully picked room 403 to face the ocean and accommodate all of us. When we arrived, we were told they had moved us to 401. When I asked why the move, the person at the desk told me it was an upgrade, and that we would also be getting a discount. After viewing the room, it was clear that it was not an upgrade -- it was a smaller room with a pull out sofa rather than a murphy bed. I went back to the front desk and let them know I was not happy with the change.

He said he would see what he could do as it was clear they had a problem. The eventual solution was that we would stay in the smaller room for one night, and then be moved to the beach bungalow for the next two nights. This was a really nice surprise, and went beyond our expectations as the beach bungalow is a beautiful 3 bedroom beach house with two fireplaces, two bathrooms, and two decks immediately overlooking the ocean.

Our stay in room 401 was fine, but it definitely would be much better for two people as we were cramped with four. The dining table is crowded for four, and the pull out sofa was very uncomfortable. The public decks and patios were great, and the path to the beach is in great condition paved with patio blocks. However, it is a pretty long and steep walk up if you have any difficult walking. The hotel provided beach chairs and towels at no charge. They also had free umbrellas (which we did not use) and boogie boards available for a fee.

The beach house is a fabulous property that would easily accommodate two families. We enjoyed drinking our coffee on the side deck and eating dinner on the large patio table on the large deck. You could walk from the deck down a short flight of stairs to the beach.

The beach outside the hotel is super nice, no rocks, we had surfers to watch every day and saw dolphins pass by. We walked both north and south of the hotel and felt like we had the best spot on the beach.

The breakfast was about what we expected -- bananas, oranges, packaged muffins, oatmeal and cold cereal.

The only thing that is a negative on the hotel is the location of the pool. Placed between the parking lot and the PCH, it is very unappealing. We did not use it at all.

It was a short walk to many restaurants. We enjoyed the sushi restaurant across the street and the natural food stand around the corner. We also were able to walk to several places that offered surfing rentals and lessons.

Overall, I would recommend the Riviera Laguna. I loved the whole 50's vibe with the painted murals on the walls. I would definitely recommend the ocean or surf rooms. Not sure that I would have enjoyed staying in one of the interior rooms.

Room Tip: Choose surf or ocean rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for the review and such an appropriate title. We are definitely on one of the best beaches in town.

It is unfortunate that the room requested was not available upon check in, but I am glad you found the concessions more than appropriate. Our 1932 beach bungalow is truly an authentic Laguna Beach experience and there is more than enough space for your group of 4. It will comfortably sleep 6 with its' 3 bedrooms and the views are truly amazing.

Your comment about the pool is interesting. I agree, that it would be better positioned by contemporary standards if it overlooked the ocean.

As a bit of history, when the hotel was opened back in 1948 it was a luxury to have a pool so many properties including the Laguna Riviera if they had this luxury would put their pool in a location that allowed passersby to know immediately that feature was available. It was advertising at its' best and worked quite well for its' time.

The indoor sauna, jacuzzi and pool are used frequently all year round and the roof is open most of the time bringing in fresh air and sun. Since we use a salt water system there are no harsh chemicals or chlorine smell to deal with. It is really quite comfortable and relaxing, and while you can't watch the surfers while you relax you can see a parade of exotic cars pass by all day long and the wall and steamed up glass offers sufficient privacy from passersby. Adjacent to the pool is a game room with foos ball, air hockey, and ping pong which the kids enjoy as they bounce between swimming and playing games.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.

Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have been coming to Laguna Riviera about 5 times in last 6 years. We absolutely love this hotel. Since we are traveling from Europe and we are limited on luggages we really do appreciate that hotel provides beach chairs, towels, sun umbrellas and even children beach toys.
The complimentary breakfasts perfectly suits us since we rather prefer bigger lunch in one of the great restaurants that the area offers. For the breakfast you can choose from cereals, sweet pastries, fresh or canned fruit and of course warm or cold drinks.
Since me and our children are not very familiar with the Pacific ocean waves we are really grateful for a pool that is part of this hotel. The pool area includes jacuzzi that can be very relaxing after a busy day.
The location of the hotel is great. It is very close to the Laguna Beach centrum ( 5-10 min walk ), the hotel beach is much more relaxing than the Main Beach which is downtown and the hotel is just across the Ralphs.
The staff of the hotel is very friendly and nothing seems to a problem for them.
I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Laguna Beach since you can fully enjoy Laguna when staying in a great place like this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. Repeat business is the highest compliment we can receive and we are honored that you have stayed with us so many times.

The Laguna Riviera has arguably one of the best locations in Laguna Beach and it is clear this has served you well. We are away from the crowds and noise but a short walk puts you in the middle of everything. The beach we sit on is known as St. Ann's and from here and to the south a few blocks is where all the locals enjoys the water and you can relax, swim, and watch the surfers year round.

We hope your trip home was pleasant and look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was my mom & I's third stay at the Laguna Riviera & our best yet! We decided to splurge a bit (though the prices here are the best for beach front in Laguna!) and booked room 101. It was well worth the extra money! The room was very large, the view was amazing, and it was a quick walk down to the beach. At one point we needed maintenance and they were there right away & fixed our problem. We loved spending the day out on the private deck reading our books and enjoying the view! We could not have asked for anything better & we cannot wait for our next stay!

Room Tip: Room 101 is the best!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Melissa,

It is always a joy to hear how our guests experience the Laguna Riviera and it is great to know that your return visits just keep getting more memorable.

Room 101 is very large and has an amazing brand new private terraced surf view patio. I am glad you were able to use it to relax, catch up on your reading and enjoy the breathtaking views. This time of year it is common to see dolphins and even migrating whales and 101's deck is the perfect vantage point.

Thanks for the fine review and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels.


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my second stay at the Laguna Riviera and I have finally figured out that it is well worth it to pay for a room with a view! I took my 87 year old mother in law to Laguna for her first visit (she is from Colorado) and we had the perfect surf view room where we watched the dolphins swim by each morning and listened to the surf all night. She had the luxury of the king bed and the queen hide a bed was sufficient for me. I remembered that the continental breakfast was nothing special so I brought muffins and coffee from the nearby Orange Inn to our private balcony each morning. The staff was extremely attentive and pleasant. My mother in law was thrilled with everything and the Laguna Riviera was the perfect place to soak it all in. The weather was gorgeous in February too!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank ehsincolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review and sharing your experience with us. You stayed at an amazing time as the weather has been spectacular and the dolphins closer to shore than usual.

It is great to hear you and your mother in law enjoyed your stay. Im sure it was a nice retreat for her from the Colorado winter weather.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in the Beach Bungalow last weekend and just loved it. The location is unbeatable - literally steps from the water. Even though it was the middle of winter, the weather was beautiful. We walked on the beach, enjoyed beautiful sunsets, and family dinners. It fit my parents, my sister, her husband, my husband and baby very comfortably. We were able to cook as well as enjoy the great restaurants within walking distance. My baby took his first dip in the warm, salt water pool.

Would definitely recommend for family or groups. Perfect for southern California staycations. Those traveling from farther away would also appreciate the restaurants and shops within walking distance. When I travel abroad I like to look for smaller, family run places to get a more unique and genuine experience. This is the kind of place I would love that captures southern California's beachy, laid back, charming spirit.


Favorite feature: The breathtaking view of the ocean, sunsets, and private access to the beach.
Least Favorite: The free wifi wasn't really practical for much more than basic functions, but that just ended up encouraging us to enjoy the moment more.

Tip: My brother-in-law actually complained that the ocean was too loud, so bring earphones if you need it silent to sleep! He was the only one - everyone else loved the soothing sound of the waves.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Laguna Rivieras Beach Bungalow. Built in 1932 it is the epitome of an authentic Laguna Beach cottage with all the charm one would expect and a location that you can never tire of. Year round the sunsets are truly amazing.

I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed it as much as we do. It used to be the home of my grandparents. They lived there after building the hotel and it holds many memories of wonderful family gatherings. It is our pleasure that we can share those same experiences with families like yours when you visit Laguna Beach.

Your brother in laws complaint that the ocean is too loud is very funny. We had another guest years ago actually call the office and ask that we quiet the ocean for her. Unable to do so we ran to the local drug store and bought her some ear plugs. Fortunately many find it very relaxing to fall asleep to the sounds of the waves.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were looking for a beachfront room/suite to stay in for a weekend getaway in Southern California, and found this lovely beachfront property, older (built in 1948) but recently renovated, charming, and just what we were looking for. Our room was spacious, and looked out directly on the surf. The sound of the waves lulled us to sleep in the night, and the views and the breeze kept us smiling all day. We enjoyed a gorgeous sunset that seemed to go on and on from our private balcony, walked on the beach into town when the tide was low, and on the main road (South Coast Highway) when the tide was high.

We were right on the beach, all we had to do was walk down 100 feet to the sand. The room, though renovated, was not kept up (bathroom fittings were loose, some were rusted), and the heater would not work the first night, but the staff were super friendly and fixed things as soon as we called.

The free continental breakfast was insubstantial, and can be skipped. Much heartier breakfasts are available within a block or two. Lots of gourmet and fashionable restaurants are within walking distance. There is also a nice, large, inviting pool, but we did not get a chance to use it.

Will definitely go back, again and again. A great weekend getaway. Go for a surfview room for the best experience. Very reasonably priced, compared to other properties in the area.

Room Tip: Get a surfview room. Definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for the review. We always appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their experience. You hit on so many high points that I will simply address the maintenance issue.

Being right on the beach maintenance never stops as we are in a constant battle with the element. The salt air and salt water are persistent so rust receives constant attention to keep it under control and our staff is ready to address any issues that may come up. As you, found you only need to notify the desk and then go back to relaxing and enjoying your vacation while we address any issues.

As mentioned there are so many great choices for a substantial breakfast within a short walk of the hotel which is why we simply provide complimentary rolls, cereals, juices, coffee and muffins to help jump start the day. We may add a full service kitchen in the future but, until then, you cant go wrong with the Penguin Cafe or Orange Inn for breakfast.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Address: 825 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2724
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $159 - $1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax year-round at this beach resort, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting. Relax in our heated sauna, indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Enjoy a Free continental breakfast in the cozy lounge and complementary Internet property wide. Parking is free and we are located close to downtown in world famous Laguna Beach. Come stay with us, this hide-a-way is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Laguna Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Riviera Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing