We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our time there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My hubby and I just returned yesterday; we were there from 9/17 - 9/22 (weather was absolutely perfect). It is located about 1/2 mile from center of town; easy walk. Stayed in rm. 402 (full ocean view) for 4 nights and didn't want to leave so we got another rm. (407) for a 5th night since our rm. was booked for the additional night. They have done a lot of renovating since we were there years ago and it looks just lovely. It had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, 2 bath robes, flat screen TV, continental breakfast which I took full advantage of, a very nice patio right outside our room with tables and chairs and lounging chairs. They also have a computer to use in the front office area in case you need it. There were 2 BBQ's right below our room which we cooked salmon on one night...yum! The views and sunsets were gorgeous each night. Ralph's grocery market is just a block away for anything you might need. We love Laguna so I am positive we will return to Laguna Riviera in the future. Also you can't beat the price for a hotel room on the beach and I know that from experience! Keep up the good work Kort!

Room Tip: Some rooms have A/C and some have ceiling and free standing fans so inquire when you call for reserv...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepi4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

It's great to hear when a guest has such a wonderful and memorable time staying at the Laguna Riviera. Thank you for sharing your experience and what a great compliment that you extended your stay. This is really such a great time of year to visit Laguna Beach with perfect weather no big crowds and the ocean still at the right temperature for a swim.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Happy travel,


Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 365 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I are on vacation and our goal was to get to California and drive up the coast starting at San Diego. I had mentioned to him that when I was 18 I stayed at this great hotel on the beach in Laguna but I couldn't remember the name. I started looking up hotels on trip advisor and found it!!! It has been extremely renovated but more or less it still looks the same from 20 something years ago. Very pricey but overall it was wonderful room and the view from the multiple decks they have is wonderful. They are still working on the stairs that go down to the beach so you have to walk around abit. So happy to have that experience again so many years later. Beware the cost is $ 200 and up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phyljj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for giving the nice review. We are so glad you were able to find us after 20 years. It's a such a compliment that the Laguna Riviera left such great memories that you wanted to find us while on your vacation this year.

The pathway to the sand is almost complete and now that summer is at an end, the rates are back down. So it's now $138 and up. This time of year, mid September and October usually offers the same great weather as summer but with better rates and a much quieter town.

I'm glad after 20 years you noticed the newly remodeled rooms. They are quite comfortable but we left the exterior alone keeping it vintage 1950's.

Thanks again and I hope we see you back before another 20 years go by.


Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just got back from the Laguna Riviera with my husband and 10 year old daughter. I loved this hotel. The room was basic (402) but clean, and had a little fridge and coffee maker. Where this property really shines is its location. There was a patio right outside of our door outfitted with chairs and tables and the most beautiful views of the ocean and crashing surf that you can imagine. There are barbeque's set up for people who wanted to grill (and a grocery store just a block away). Parking was plentiful and convenient. The steps to the beach are right on the side of the hotel while they fix the on property steps. The construction didn't bother us. All we had to do is move down the beach a bit if it bothered us. The hotel provides beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels for free, and boogie boards for a nominal fee. This was incredibly convenient. There are quite a few steps to the beach (64 to be exact!) but the hotel is set up on a bluff (hence the gorgeous views) and I believe that this would be the same for any hotel right in this area. This was my first time there, and I wish that I had another week to enjoy the peacefulness and relaxation offered by this hotel. The continental breakfast in the morning was quite a nice set up. Special shout out to Bryndon at the front desk who was super nice and helpful. We hope to return to the Laguna Riviera some day!

Room Tip: The description of the rooms on their website is pretty accurate...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dixiechick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

We wish you could have stayed another week as well. The weather is spectacular and it's a great place to be this time of year.

I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with others and agree that the Riviera is indeed a Cool Funky Hotel. With the recent room upgrades we have created new beachy comfortable zen like interiors while avoiding being too trendy or modern. These new rooms combined with the old school original 1950's Laguna Beach exterior gives travelers a nice blend of both worlds.

I'm glad the renovation of our ocean front slope was not intrusive and we have to thank the contractor and his crew for going out of their way to keep noise and dust as suppressed as possible.

I'll pass your shout out to Bryndon (if he has not already read this ;-) and look forward to your next stay with us.


Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel has very nice rooms with seaview terraces which are reserved early for families that visit every summer for many years. Occasionial visitors like us were treated to a room facing a noisy thoroughfare. Since the room had no airconditioning (an unrevealed surprise when we made the reservation), the noise was unbearable, because of the open windows. The beach is literally five floors below the hotel and accesssible only by climbing a narrow, open staircase. Good for exercise but a pain for those who carry blankets, towels, bags, etc. to the beach. The common spaces are borderline sloppy, with many of the staircases and walkways within the hotel covered with filthy carpeting (and it is not just sand). The so-called " free continental breakfast'' contains about $1.50 worth of mostly junk food. Bottom line: read all reviews before you choose this one and not just the reviews of guests who stay there every year, because there are better choices for the same money in this beach resort. In fact, we moved after the second night, despite being offered a portable AC unit..

Room Tip: Don't prepay. Come, see and then decide.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us, and like you, I also encourage readers to peruse all reviews, explore our website, and call with any questions to make the most informed decision possible. Thank you for complimenting our very nice rooms and location. I'm sorry that our ocean front location does not provide an elevator to the beach, but unfortunately, that was not a viable option when the property was built in 1948, and today we could never get a retrofit approved by the city. Fortunately it is an easier walk than staying across the street or at one of the many properties in town that are not actually on the ocean. While our beach pathway is closed for renovations (expected to reopen soon) you do need to use the adjacent public stairs down to the sand. All in all it takes 2-3 minutes.

Yes you are correct we are very busy in the Summer with many families returning year after year and often selling out a year in advance. Anyone traveling to Laguna Beach on short notice in the summer will likely not have access to the preferred rooms unless there is a cancellation.

The worn exterior hallway carpets mentioned are schedule for replacement after the summer season closes. They do get a lot of abuse being outside and on the ocean and it is unfortunate that they impacted your stay with us.

The configuration of all of our rooms, including if they have A/C or not, is clearly called out on our website, and for those without A/C who do not get enough relief from the cool ocean breeze we offer portable A/C units like the one you mentioned that you were offered.

Our FREE Continental breakfast is dictated by the health department to be individually wrapped which could cause one to believe it is junk food. It is not. The pastries are prepared fresh and delivered daily, the fresh fruit usually consisting of bananas, apples and oranges are straight from the farm, we also provide name brand cereals both hot and cold, along with coffee, an assortment of teas, several fruit juices and milk. We may be expanding this offering in the future pending approvals to upgrade our food service permits and install an approved kitchen. The continental breakfast is complimentary and a nice way to get started in the morning. If one needs a more robust breakfast there are several great options within a 1-2 minute walk of the hotel, or you can have the folks next door deliver to your room.

You can certainly find less expensive accommodations in Laguna Beach but not on the ocean. If price is your main concern I encourage anyone to check rates on the North end of town at the properties inland of Coast Highway. If your desire is to stay ocean front with direct beach access, then we offer the best value in town. Unlike many ocean front properties, we do not charge for parking, internet, continental breakfast, beach chairs & umbrellas, and the new resort fee showing up everywhere. If price is not an issue I encourage anyone to look at the Montage, a truly amazing property or the Surf & Sand, both just to the south of us.

You are right, we are a family friendly hotel and because of that we have many loyal return guests every year. If one is looking for a quiet romantic retreat without the presence of family activities, please consider the off season when kids are back in school and both the hotel and town are much quieter.


Happy travel,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

can not say enough about how great this place is,we have been bringing grand children for 17 years ,now they have grown up and we bring our great grand children,you can not ask for nicer and helpful staff ,we missed joan this year and were sad to hear she had passed away.room 403 the deals

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Repeat business is the highest compliment we can receive and we thank you for your continued patronage. It is validation that we are successfully carrying on the tradition established when the Laguna Riviera doors were opened in 1948 by my grandfather, Mr. Harry Willats.

It is a testament that the town, location, and property create such special feelings and memories. I have to share that when I was a kid in the early 70's working at the hotel I met many kids vacationing with their parents and grandparents. Today I still run into some of them as they continue the tradition and are now vacationing at the Laguna Riviera with their children.

You selected room 403 a great 1 bedroom suite with an ocean view and a full kitchen. A very popular room with families for the views and functionality.

Thank you again for the review, sharing your history and the kind mention of Joan. We all miss her.

We look forward to your visit next year.

Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Beautiful location, right on the beach. Family owned and very comfy. Indoor pool and hot-tub. Staff is extremely friendly. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeannieBeanie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and one of the finest beaches in Laguna. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and everyone here appreciates your compliment to staff.


Happy travels,


-Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

In a city of over-priced beach resorts, the Laguna was a terrific find. It's quaint design reflects it's history, and it has been modernized just enough not to kill it's charm. Very comfortable beds and bathrooms.

It's right in town, so you can walk to all of Laguna's shops and restaurants. Easy access from the freeways, or take a drive up/down the coast to get to it.

Friendly staff and housekeepers, and guest actually socialized with each other!

Finally, don't be afraid of the "cheaper" rooms.... they still have a great view!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the lower priced room, they still have terrific views.... It is a steep walk...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

You have summed up the Laguna Riviera very well. Thank you for this fresh and spot on review.

The Laguna Riviera is the last of the original family owned and operated hotels in town. It was built by my grandfather and opened in 1948. Today, family members along with Laguna locals continue to operate and work at the hotel. We have been careful to embrace the old Laguna feel and beach vibe by keeping the exterior of the property as original as possible with with all its old school charm while giving all of the interiors a major upgrade with a zen feel so your comfortable and ready to relax the minute you arrive. You have a pallet of earth tones reflecting the coastal colors, luxurious bedding, flat screen HD televisions, proximity door locks, automatic energy efficient lighting and switches, and upgraded bathrooms, kitchens and kitchenettes.

With a great location and beautiful rooms, views, and grounds we still keep our rates the best in town when looking for a beach front vacation. Amenities like property wide high speed internet access, surf view commercial grade BBQs to cook your evening diner, parking, beach toys, umbrellas, chairs and towels are all inclusive with your stay as is the continental breakfast hosted each morning in the lobby. These complimentary amenities combined with no resort fees make the Laguna Riviera a great value.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with others and I appreciate your comment about the less expensive rooms. It is so true, the upgrades and remodel have made them all comfortable and tastefully furnished.

We look forward to your next visit.


Happy travels,


Kort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Address: 825 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2724
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $159 - $1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax year-round at this beach resort, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting. Relax in our heated sauna, indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Enjoy a Free continental breakfast in the cozy lounge and complementary Internet property wide. Parking is free and we are located close to downtown in world famous Laguna Beach. Come stay with us, this hide-a-way is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Laguna Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Riviera Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing