We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this beachy hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We love this beachy hotel!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel every summer since 2007. They have since renovated the rooms and they are much nicer, but we love the quiet feel of this beachy hotel. This time we stayed in the Bungalo and it was very nice with a beautiful view. This hotel is a hidden gem. Doesn't look that great from the outside but we love it. You can always see dolphins in the water, hear the waves from your room, it's clean and continental breakfast is good. It's also convent to all restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TresFess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Repeat stays are the highest compliment we can earn. Thank you for being our guest for the last six years and appreciating the constant improvements to the property. You have joined the ranks of honored repeat guests, some going back as far as 50 years now.

The Laguna Riviera strives to provide affordable, comfortable, and relaxing ocean front vacations. With the Pacific Ocean and Laguna Beach as the back drop the location takes care of itself. Seeing dolphins, whales and more from the shore used to be a rare occasion and now it is almost a daily occurrence. Just the other day we witnessed 12 whales migrating north swimming in a single column. While that is quite an uncommon sight it was certainly awe inspiring.

I'm glad you enjoyed our classic 1930's beach bungalow. We have strived to keep it as original as possible while adding all the modern amenities. This is evidenced by the original glass gas lamps on the wall that have been converted to electricity. When the downstairs, two lower terraced patios, and private stairs to the beach are re-opened later this year it will be a spectacular venue for that perfect family reunion, special birthday or intimate wedding, and I look forward to you seeing it on your next visit.

Thanks again for sharing your experience.


Happy travels,


Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    86
    38
    25
    25
See reviews for
97
116
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It took a TON of searching for a hotel somewhere between San Diego and LA that would be right on the beach, with a suite, and at a reasonable cost -- Laguna Riviera met all 3, and I fell asleep to the sound of the Pacific crashing just outside the windows! Sure, this is no luxury haven -- the (included) breakfast is minimal, the hotel exterior is motel-y, and the sound partitions could be better. But who cares, when we have an apartment-sized suite overlooking the lovely, luxuriant bbq area, palm trees and the ocean! Plus, the rooms are newly done is excellent, minimalistic style; the free wi-fi is great; the concierge recommended a truly outstanding restaurant a couple of blocks away with excellent seafood at bar prices; the murals that cover the property are a lot of fun to look at; and the town itself is lively and pretty. And again, this is apparently one of a handful of hotels right on the beach, with ocean views from the room and just steps to the sand. Can't beat that combination, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveIntlTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
We are so please that your research paid off and you discovered that the Laguna Riviera met all your needs. You make a great observation in that most hotels, while having "beachy" names, are not actually on the beach. Very few between San Diego and Los Angeles are properties actually touching the sand as we do.

Being established in 1948 the Laguna Riviera is indeed a classic beach property with an old school vibe on the exterior that is contrasted with a lovely interior remodel. The fact it has never changed hands or been sold to a conglomerate has kept the rates reasonable and the staff local and knowledgeable. We pride ourselves on being relaxed and family friendly so we don't go for pretense, rather we settle for a comfortable zen approach striving to make everyone comfortable and feeling at home.

Laguna has some fantastic world class restaurants and several hidden gems. Our staff is here to understand what you are looking for and give you the best recommendations possible. It's great to hear they directed you to a spot that delivered what you were looking for.

We look forward to your return to the Laguna Riviera and thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us.


Happy travels,

Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our 3rd visit. We come from noisy, dirty London so this place is Paradise. We like room 507, with its kitchenette and breath taking views. This was the first year we'd seen a pod of dolphins swimming and jumping. I got quite a tan from the sea wind as I read my book and drank white wine on the terrace. We ate at The Watermark - good but pricey. I watched The Oscars on TV, but got a little distracted as the noise of waves kept lulling me into a snooze. Thank you to all the team and see you in 2013.

Room Tip: I like 507.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula55London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for the positive review. You came at the right time of year to see both dolphins and whales. However the whales are more difficult to spot as they surface for just a short time then stay under for quite a while. The dolphins you can now see year round, with some patience and a sharp eye. The upper patio is a great vantage point for scanning the waters.

The vantage point from your deck in front of suite 507 is an even better location to spot from because of the elevation.

We are honored to be part of your vacation and happy to provide an experience to remember. And, while I can’t promise the waves will be any quieter, we look forward to your stay in 2013.


Happy travels,


Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This will be our 3 rd year staying at the beach house! We love the owners and how easy they are to work with. We bring 5 families and stay throughout the property, including the beach house. Each family has their own favorite room they rent every year. They room renovations are great! The location is super and an easy walk to the grocery store or downtown. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kell113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your history and experience staying at the Laguna Riviera with other travelers. Your feedback and comments about our renovations, staff and management is very welcome.

By this time next year (completion expected June 2012) you will have an incredible space at the beach house for your family get-a-way. The two ocean front terraced patios will be completed for outdoor entertaining or just lounging around, and the house will have its' own private access directly to the sand.

Reviews like this keep us motivated to keep raising the bar.

Thanks again &
Happy Travels,

-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here at least four times beginning in 2006. We keep returning because it is an excellent value, and a very relaxing place to be. We love the quaintness! It works well for us. Have never had any trouble with staff. We usually use room 306 because we love the private balcony and the wonderful surf view.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for the great endorsement. Seeing guests return year after year is the highest compliment we can earn.

Room 306 is in a great part of the building with the large rooms and private decks overlooking the beach. This February has had great weather. Im glad you were able to enjoy it while staying at the Laguna Riviera.

We look forward to your next stay.


Happy travels,

Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My In-Laws have been staying at the Riv for about 14 years now, wooed from another hotel farther up the PCH. My wife and I joined them in 2006 and loved it.

The first time we went it was a bit rustic. Clean and maintained, but a bit old fashioned (in a good way). The second time the rooms had a very nice remodel done to them; a bit trendy, but it worked. I especially liked the new showers.

The location is great, and the beach access very convenient. The staff is helpful and understanding, management fair and knowledgeable, not like the monsters you might read about in lesser reviews.

Choose your room to meet your needs; there are plenty to meet your needs and price.

Room Tip: Visit the Orange, about a block or two north for some awesome coffee and breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamGumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it means a lot to us.

We are constantly looking for ways to further enhance our guests experience. For 2012 we have started our slope project and by next summer will have new pathways and terraces to the ocean, a two level surf view patio for room 101, and two ocean terrace patios and private direct beach access for the bungalow.

When the bungalows patios are re-opened, it will be an excellent venue for small weddings, family reuniouns, and parties. Even, as is, with 3 bedrooms it is perfect for a single or multi family beach vacation. Please stop by the office during your next stay, if it's not occupied, it would be my pleasure to give you a tour.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,


Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I first stayed at the Laguna RIviera back in 1985. Very funky place at that time..but suited our needs. Over the past few years we have stayed 3 times, Rooms 406, 511 and 101. I would recommend all of them with maybe the exception of 406. The hotel recently remodeled and room 511 was beautifully done. Room 101 was very private and was also very nice. I will be staying again in February...this time I have chosen Room 203. I am sure my stay will be just as nice. The beach is just steps away and it is a nice walk to the Main Beach shopping and restaurants. Also a plus is that the hotel does not charge parking. P.S Glad to hear the gal at the front desk is no longer there...she was a bit brusk! While I would love to stay at the Surf and Sand...for my money...Laguna Riviera is a great choice! Thanks

Room Tip: Room 511 while not ocean view - you could see it out the side window. Very nice and comfortable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memories2come
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. It is great seeing the observations of a repeat guest who has watched as we continue to improve and upgrade the property.

I would suggest that for fun, you ask to see room 406 on your next stay. It used to be, in my opinion, our least desirable room. Because of that we put a great deal of effort into upgrading it, and while not large, it is now a very nice room with more space, a beautifully upgraded bathroom, and additional amenities. If it was allowed, I'd love to include pictures within this reply.

Room 203 which you have selected for your next stay is very nice and I look forward to hearing your comments. Room 101 that you mentioned will be down for a while as we add a new retaining wall and a terraced front patio that will offer one of the best surf views on the property.

While I agree that the Surf & Sand is very nice property. I enjoy dining at their excellent restaurant Splashes regularly. The Riviera sits on an arguably better beach, our rates are about 1/2 of what you will pay for a king room with a surf view, and we have no added fees for parking, internet, etc.

Thanks again for the review and please feel free to introduce yourself and say hello on your next visit.


Happy travels,


Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
430 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Property: Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Address: 825 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2724
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax year-round at this beach resort, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting. Relax in our heated sauna, indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Enjoy a Free continental breakfast in the cozy lounge and complementary Internet property wide. Parking is free and we are located close to downtown in world famous Laguna Beach. Come stay with us, this hide-a-way is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Laguna Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Riviera Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing