We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average food served in above average, friendly surroundings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White House Restaurant

White House Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 159 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
790 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
“Average food served in above average, friendly surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The White House has been serving customers in Laguna Beach for decades, and it is popular with locals. We have only eaten there three times in the last 20 years, and each time, the food and service have been between average and very good--not bad, but not enough to keep us coming back. We feel that locals like it because it is not crowded, the food is moderately priced, and the servers are friendly. The kitchen provides a good feed of good-sized portions. So we would recommend it, not for the quality of its cuisine, but for quiet surroundings during lunch time, friendly service, and a nice al-fresco experience at the few tables by the sidewalk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    63
    39
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California, United States
1 review
“caesar salad & cockroaches”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went there for a nice romantic dinner on a Sunday night. We got there at about 8pm and were surprised by how empty it was. We were the only ones having dinner and there were about 4 people in the bar. We had heard the live music started early on Sunday night and we wanted to have a nice dinner then maybe enjoy the music and dance a bit.
We started off with a caesar salad and to our dismay as we tossed the salad a big cockroach came squirming out and ran across the table. Our main course was an italian dish which tasted a bit out of the can. The whole scene was seedy and to top it off the sound system for the live music was really bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in the middle of a beach town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good food, changing specials, good value from fish to beef. Sit on the patio and watch the walkers. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the White House.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cigarsteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service, quality and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We absolutely loved our meal at this place. We started with Seared Ahi Tacos, fantastic! (I could eat them all day) I had the Pasta Lagunaise (something like that) with shrimp and chicken, this was amazing as well. I highly recommend this spot on PCH, plus they had really good live music. Our server Travis took excellent care of us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very overrated on TA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We dined at the White House after reviewing 5-star reviews. For those who know food preparation and wine, as we do, here is our review: wines - average wines (sent back a sheraz and cab sauv: no nose or fruit; waitress brought a pinot noir: so-so); food: salads were very overdressed (ate only 1/4); requested white rice with dinner (made with no chicken stock) and came to table with house rice dish made with chicken stock (they had to remake entire dinner); teriyaki salmon - heavy on teriyaki, came with pineapple slices, and coated with sesame seeds - very overbearing and could not taste salmon which was overcooked. We try many restaurants in Laguna Beach. This is the only one we found that we will pass up next time.

Helpful?
Thank 4perksteins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White House Restaurant also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing