We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fresh, Creative and Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar

230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 159 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: PCH
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh, Creative and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This small hub of a restaurant is a gourmand's delight. We eat here just about everytime we get over to the coast from the desert. Due to its popularity and size, we now try to eat a bit earlier or a bit later and that always works out best for us. The calamari appetizer is one of the best we have ever eaten (including southern Italy); it is lightly coated and quickly deep fried so that it is never greasy or rubbery. The Frutti di Mare entree is filled with the freshest local seafood (and lots of it) along with a marinara sauce that is neither too spicy nor too bland and is served over al dente linguine. The seared seabass was perfectly cooked and had the most flavorful sauce. Martinis are crisp and wine list is extensive. Service is excellent and with a smile. Best to make a reservation as the restaurant gets crowded quickly, especially in summer. Although the space is small, the food is big in flavor and freshness. A definite must stop and eat for foodies.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    143
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San diego, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sibling Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar was our favorite place we ate on our Sibling Reunion of five. Easy walking distance from our hotel the Inn at Laguna Beach, close to Coast Hwy and main beach. Forest Avenue is the main street for shopping. Service was excellent and the restaurant a little quieter than some other restaurants we ate at. Nice atmosphere with friendly waiters. Advise reservations. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdwardSandiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food is great there, really enjoyed or mid week dinner. We went there on the later side which was certainly a good idea. The place has some SOHO vibe to it (positive but pretty tight seating). Service was good. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a fantastic restaurant. The menu was really varied. A lovely relaxed and informal setting. We ate here on the last night of our short stay in Laguna and are really glad that we took the trouble to book as it was heaving! Great service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pennybambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fabulous food--the gazpacho is the BEST! The most outstanding server EVER! Great location! It is now my FAVORITE!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdwIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing