We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Mediocre Service”

230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: PCH
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Food, Mediocre Service”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Foodies will like the menu. We had the enormous and delicious double pork chop, which came with spinach side; and also the artichoke chicken pasta. Both very good. Sitting on the small outdoor patio was great for people-watching on the warm evening we visited there, but tables are tightly pushed together and there's not much privacy for dinner conversation. I'd go back for the food, yet I wish we'd had better service. We didn't get much personal attention from the waiter, not even a smile. He placed a bag on the table without explaining it contained our dinner bread, had to be asked a few times for items, brought the check before our entree was finished, never asked if we wanted coffee or dessert. So . . . I guess he was just having a rough night, or was new and needed training. Restaurant is OK, service not so much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VistaDelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    174
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always a safe bet”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Been there lots of times. Have never been dissapointed. Tables are very close to each other. Food is good. Nice upscale casual ambiance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dspolett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Inventive and Delicious”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

our best dinner during our week in OC. trendy decor, great people watching, excellent service. tables were uncomfortably close but it was easy enough to talk quietly as it wasn't too loud. the food was inventive and excellent. goat cheese creme brûlée with beet salad is a typical dish. we will definitely return on our next visit to the area. reservations suggested.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it so much, we went back for more”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

stopped in for a late lunch and fell in love. Server was super friendly and offered helpful suggestions. Service was prompt. Prices were very fair. Returned a few days later for dinner, hoping for some of the same food choices- like the fish tacos. Dinner was pricier but again, delish. Great beer and wine selections too. A real gem!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the Food...lol”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

There are several good eats around Laguna, but this is a great place to sit, watch, eat, drink and enjoy the night life. Out doorsey atmosphere, cuz its right on one of the main drags and open to the street. Fun place to meet friends and hang.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing