We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own pad in Laguna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
14 West Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Your own pad in Laguna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is 14 individual units. It is more akin to an apt. We arrived and checked in with ease. The property manager was wonderful. She tried to get the wifi working but was unable. She printed our sea world tix in her office. She was a real help and invaluable to their operation.

We stayed in room 1. This room had a step that split the room. Dangerous at night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    27
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
56
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location! Great ambiance! Everything was in walking distance (Ralph’s, Starbucks, beaches). This little hidden jewel is hands down one of the best vacation spots in Laguna Beach with a rooftop deck and garage parking. Manager Carolyn is so hospitable and helpful. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Love the rooftop deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The location of 14 West is good. Beach access at Cleo Street and the main beach is within walking distance. The hotel room was clean everywhere except the floor which was filthy; we had to wear socks and take them off right before getting into bed so the sheets would stay clean. Having a fireplace in the room is nice, but the uncovered skylight wakes you up at dawn and having frosted glass on the front door takes away from the romance. Also the toiletries were lower quality than what you get at a Holiday Inn. On the upside, the mattresses are comfortable memory foam. Overall 14 West is good, but missed the mark on a few things. I wouldn't pay full price for a room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The rooms are very modern and clean, kitchenettes included. They are all centered around a main patio area, so if you're traveling with multiple families it would be fantastic. Also, the rooms are pretty much sound proof...we heard nothing from outside despite a loud party, and we didn't hear any street noise.

The only complaint I have is that the glazed glass doors and the skylights into the room have NO shades...so plan to wake up with the sun.

Other than that...great boutique hotel, great location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank STMRobynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

For what you get in terms of room quality and location for the money, this is a very good bargain & exceptional for a longer term stay of 3+ days. My girlfriend and I were only there for one night. What was very disturbing, however, was we arrived sharply at 3:00 PM (check in time) on a Saturday afternoon and our room was not ready until 4:00 PM. The checkout time of 11:00 was not posted anywhere conspicuous and one would generally assume 12:00. However, planning on the noon departure, we were informed we must be out by 11:00. I negotiated an 11:30 checkout and afterward became rather irritated, because only one maid was cleaning 14 rooms. Now, if everyone requested a later checkout, I could perhaps understand the insistence on keeping to the rules, albeit said rules were not made obvious anywhere and our room was delivered to us an hour late upon checkin.

So, the little things that keep this from being an excellent hotel are: Quite obvious remodel of older studio apartments - done well, but having to walk into the master closet to change TV channels is absurd; the obivous old Murphy bed converted to look like something permanent; understaffing in terms of quality and quantity; no one from the management firm on premises after 6 PM (the room next to us had a party going on until 3:00 AM with no one to complain to - also, a security concern).

Despite the Murphy conversion, the mattress and bedding were very comfortable, the AC and fireplace worked great, the small kitchen was very convenient, the decor inside rooms and the common patio area was exceptional, and the bathroom was quite nice. Also, very close to the beach (short stroll across the street and down some stairs; a Ralphs is across the street to the south; great little cafe and bakery close by as well as the Beachouse restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spent 1 night there with my wife as we passed through Laguna beach. Great location with everything in walking distance. Shop around the corner can be used for any goceries you need. Definitely use recomendations section of guide in room we got to try out two of them while we stayed there and they were amazing. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bed is very comfortable. Highly recomend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blomdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Charming boutique hotel in perfect location! Spacious, well appointed rooms. Great roof deck. So nice to be able to access restaurants, shopping and beach all without worrying about parking. Manager Carolyn is so welcoming and helpful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
#16 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 West Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 West Boutique Hotel

Property: 14 West Boutique Hotel
Address: 690 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 14 West Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 14 West, we encourage you to #LiveLikeALocal. With our collection of 14 modernized studios with thoughtful home-like comforts, we are the ideal place for a few nights stay or a few weeks! Our distinctive setup presents guests with the opportunity to socialize in our stylish centralized terrace or explore the area’s dynamic surroundings. Our prime coastal location is just a short walk from many of Laguna Beach’s gorgeous beaches, diverse restaurants, and fun beach-inspired activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 14 West Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing