We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Big Fish Tavern

Big Fish Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Fish Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Legion
Description: House of BIG FISH and Ice Cold Beer – the name says it all. This seafood savvy neighborhood hotspot boasts an upbeat atmosphere and a straightforward menu of fresh fish perfectly paired with one of the best ice cold beer selections in town. From the clean, vibrant interior to the relaxing ocean views of the wraparound dining patio, BIG FISH is uniquely Laguna Beach.
Lake Forest, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I went today for the first time, Definitely not the last! Wonderful food, (really fresh fish) friendly wait staff and a fantastic view. Fun atmosphere, but it can get pretty noisy. I was happy to find this place.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    121
    45
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Chow”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We visited Big Fish this past weekend for the first time.
It is a big restaurant and it was packed. The atmosphere was loud and happy.
The menu is extensive and provides for every palate I can think of including vegetarian. Jambalaya, pecan encrusted tilapia and a burger (seriously?) were all served in large portions and were tasty.
Our waitress was not particularly attentive; we tried to excuse it because the place was so busy but waiting 30 minutes for a drink order seemed excessive. Once the food was served she never checked back and had to be tackled so we could get our check. Maybe just a bad night for her.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UdosMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“House of Big Fish & Cold Beer in Laguna Beach - great food, cheap prices”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This weekend, I realized that I’ve become a Big Fish & Ice Cold Beer Restaurant groupie.

Seriously, I think I’ve found myself in Big Fish at least once each week since Chris Keller and Craig Connole opened its doors last spring in Laguna Beach. Brought to you by the guys who made K’ya and the Rooftop Lounge a screaming success, Laguna Beach’s Big Fish & Ice Cold Beer follows a lot of the same precepts:

1. Chef Craig Connole’s ability to create a menu of delectable, original and unique taste treats that keep locals and tourists piling in again and again,

2. An amazing array of gourmet “small plates” priced under $10 of every fish, shellfish, pasta with fish, fish sandwich and lobster fondue you can imagine,

2. Larger plates – their “Daily Catch” – offering 9 types of fish done grilled or blackened with 6 different sauces to choose from,

3. “Not Fish” specialty items like rib eye, filet, and hot sausage sandwiches for people who just aren’t into fish

4. More than 50 cold beers to choose from (hey, it IS in the name, after all) and an impressive array of big Hawaiian-style “fish Bowl” cocktails,

5. A killer Happy Hour for just ONE hour between 4:30 and 5:30 p.m., Mondays through Fridays. Because you’re getting Big Fish’s already inexpensive food for just $3 during this one, single hour, you’ll see crowds form at the door at about 4:00 ( just as they do at Craig’s Laguna Beach mother ship restaurant, K’ya), for the best tasting, most affordable, and fun happy hours in town.

6. And an altogether somewhat rowdy, happy, energetic kind of vibe that keeps this place packed while other restaurants in town lounge sadly on the same date and time with a handful of diners. (Note: If you’re looking for a quiet romantic kind of time, Big Fish is not your place. It gets loud in here – I mean, it’s a casual, neighborhood fish house – it’s exactly what Craig had planned all along.)

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A true bargain, easy parking, great family-friendly environment”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Big Fish is the kind of place you hope to find when you have a family in tow, you want good food and you don't feel like spending a million bucks or dealing with a pretentiously upscale atmosphere. The menu is large, and it has enough to variety to satisfy non-fish eaters, including my vegetarian daughter. I wouldn't say the food was amazing, but it is exceptional for the price. I never had anything I would consider less than good (after about a half dozen visits).
The bar scene is lively but not obnoxious, the staff is friendly and efficient, and there is a city parking lot right behind the building that has ample parking (unless you are in town during peak tourist times).

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murray9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“exceptionally reasonable”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

dine in late afternoon to enjoy the sunset and fabulous happy hour specials.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank batonrougehoni_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Tavern also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Big Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing