We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbearably loud” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Fish Tavern

Big Fish Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Fish Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 169 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Legion
Description: House of BIG FISH and Ice Cold Beer – the name says it all. This seafood savvy neighborhood hotspot boasts an upbeat atmosphere and a straightforward menu of fresh fish perfectly paired with one of the best ice cold beer selections in town. From the clean, vibrant interior to the relaxing ocean views of the wraparound dining patio, BIG FISH is uniquely Laguna Beach.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
“Unbearably loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Never got to taste the food, between a long wait, then so much noise that we truly could not hear one another. We asked the server if there were some place quieter we could sit, and she kindly told us that it was about to get much, much louder, as a big party was coming in for a celebration. The noise was truly so loud already that conversation was impossible, and even trying to place a drinks order was hard -- we couldn't hear the server, nor she us without repetitions. The noise had us all on edge. Louder seemed-- well ... incompatible with any kind of good time! We left. The staff were very nice about it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank pmm510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    119
    43
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Addition to Laguna Restaurant Scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

House of Big Fish is a great place to go for a casual meal to root for your favorite team in a relaxed atmosphere. Wide selection of beers, large and varied menu. Great fun.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank pasadena4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Loved their Fried Clam Basket! Fish tacos were good, but I have had much better here in Reno. Overall it we were pleased. Would definitely go back. I loved the atmosphere, too. My biggest disappointment was that I wanted to take home some tshirts and they had NONE in L or XL. And only one of the choices actually had Laguna Beach on it. That bummed me out. But still a good place to eat lunch!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank WayCoolJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen,Tx
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good affordable place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

food great, service good, ate here 3 times while on vacation in Laguna Beach.
The fish plates are good;but they also have other dishes ;try the Hawaiian Pork it's very good

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcduff63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Happy Hour is the Happiest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stopped in at House of Big Fish on our recent vacation to Newport Beach and Laguna Beach, California. We had eaten here before, but we had never gone at Happy Hour. Wow, what a great deal! They have quite a few terrific seafood dishes available at great prices. They don't just do regular seafood. They do it up in a special way. I can't describe in writing what I am talking about except to say that they understand how to please your palette with flavors and combinations that I had never experienced before.

The prices at Happy Hour, which runs from 2-6PM are great! They have an escalating scale that starts at $2.00 per dish and adds $1.00 every hour until 6PM. If you go between 2-3PM you get the best deal and its not as busy. As the time passes it really starts to pack in and you can only get the specials in the bar area. If you like to drink, they have some wonderful drink specials too,

House of Big Fish is a Bar and Grill so don't expect it to be fancy or quite. But if you are looking for a great value and really good food, this is a place you should try. If you go a sunset, you have a great view of the Pacific as the sun sets on the water. It can be a very romantic place to take your special someone and save a few bucks to buy her something special besides!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScubaRabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Tavern also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Big Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing