We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food, great service...”

Splashes Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Splashes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Bird Canyon and Coast Hwy
Description: Terraced above the beach, with waves breaking just 25 feet below, the casually elegant Splashes Restaurant boasts some of California's best views and finest cuisine. Whether seated in the dining room or alfresco on the palm-shaded patio, you'll enjoy American Coastal Cuisine set against a dramatic backdrop of the Pacific Ocean.
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
“Terrible food, great service...”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We used to look forward to going to Splashes with its amazing beachside, luxe location and fantastic views whenever we are in Laguna. Unfortunately this was our first stop on our return to Laguna with family and friends in tow. The food, and I mean everyone's, was below average. Our server was very attentive, especially since it was the busy 4th of July weekend at the Surf n' Sand, but this could not make up for terrible food which included my salad in which the shrimp were not deveined-gross. What a shame that this restaurant's food and its menu have changed for the worse. I would not recommend at all unless you are only going for drinks, then the view would be worth it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlawler438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    163
    59
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

My family and I have been going to Surf & Sand Hotel where this restaurant is located since the 1970's, years before they opened the restaurant. The food and service at Splashes is great but I have noticed the front desk personnel in the hotel and at their on site spa get more snobby and snooty each visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schawkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“seriously mediocre food, bad service, wonderful view”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were greeted by a hostess who told us the only available table was inside. Some friends had told us not to accept this answer. While we waited for the table we took a quick walk around to find 2 (2 top) tables available on the water. When we reported this to the hostess, she seemed surprised and then sat us at one of them.
Then we waited, and waited.... 30 minutes later the waitress showed up. She was slow and uncaring the entire evening.
The food was unbelievably mediocre. The "prawns" were shrimp we can buy at Costco. Service slow, slow, slow.
My advice would be to go here for a drink in the bar to enjoy the seriously wonderful view... and then go somewhere else (anywhere else) for dinner.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why do they even bother serving food?”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Did they even try? The food was terrible! The lemongrass chicken was so dry, my husband said that if you tapped it with a fork, it would sound like tapping on a wooden table with your nails. He had to take the bed of salad at the bottom and put it on top of the chicken to wet it. Felt bad when he later told me. My food was bland. The presentation, dessert, drinks and food was disappointing. We paid so much money for absolutely nothing!

If you want the view, bring a folding table, chair, and your own food and sit on the sand in front of the hotel. You're paying for the view which you can get for free.

Friends wanted to go here which is why we went but we already knew what to expect since we read the reviews on Tripadvisor. The majority warned about the food. It's HOTEL food so don't bother eating here!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shullamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northridge, ca
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Management and Service”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We are regular guests at Surf and Sand hotel and we love the hotel BUT stay away from Splashes restaurant!! It should be Trashes restaurant not Splashes! I have never came across such poor customer service! All the employees have trashy attitudes including the manager! The receptionists, Heather and Jennifer were EXTREMELY rude and no smiles on their faces! Their manager Robert was even worse! They made us wait an hour in a half for breakfast until breakfast time was over. We are a group of six who are very friendly and easy going but we will NEVER EVER go to that restaurant again! U get trashy service for your money. They lack customer service skill and they all need training so only go there if your gonna offer them training classes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trust_Me1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splashes Restaurant also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Splashes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing