We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hidden jewel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manzanita Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzanita Cottages
Save
You added Manzanita Cottages to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    12
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
26
43
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
548 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This establishment is a breath of fresh air in a town that is drowning in excess. The cabins are clean, well located, provide free parking, and are generally comfortable. These are older buildings with no air conditioning, but the same is true of the Surf and Sand at three times the price. If Laguna Beach winds your clock, this is worth a try.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay in the adorable quiet cottages. Diane was wonderful on making sure we felt welcome and was available via phone for any concerns which we had none as they had already though of everything. The location is just a few minute walk down to the beach and downtown Laguna but when inside the lush courtyard, it feels like a different world and is great for relaxing after a day at the beach. We were happy to find a playground for the kiddos at the beach as well. Great family vacation! We would definitely like to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great little house/cottage in a quiet neighborhood - we were in the Green cottage. The place was great and very clean with a super comfortable bed. The grounds/patio were great as well. 5-10 minute walk to the beach and town. Diane was great to work with and very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CASRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

So so pleased I found Manzanita Cottages during our trip from New England to southern California. Sometimes it makes sense to have the predictable accommodations of a hotel, but for a real sense of a community and vacation, these guest cottages were superb! Traveling with a teenager and a middle school girl, each of whom love the novelty of being away from home, I was not sure if the homey feel of the cottages would fit. They LOVED it - the hummingbirds at the window, the incredibly comfortable king sized bed in the Yellow Cottage, the beach supplies, the airy feel throughout. We have not stopped raving about this choice and you cannot go wrong. Thanks, Diane, for your care to us and this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracecurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORANGE COUNTY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Fabulous! Manzanita Cottages is a place in which existence is positive, harmonious and eternal. Our whole family found only peace, prosperity, and happiness during our getaway at Manzanita Cottages. We all felt very relaxed and absolutely loved the atmosphere, everything was amazing. It has a little secret garden where my boys had a great time looking for easter eggs, blowing bubbles, playing freesbie, and catch. There are lots of things to do here to keep your day filled or simply lounge to relaxation and peacfulness at its beautiful grounds! It is located at walking distance to everything: Main Beach, Beautiful Park, Galleries, Shops, Restaurants and Bars, Library, Community Pools and Tennis Courts, Grocery Stores, etc. The Main Beach has volleyball courts, basketball courts, playground, and great areas for a picnic. The Community Pools and Tennis Courts are right at the corner, nearly a minute walk. My boys had a great match of tennis! The blue cottage was an absolute charm and perfectly stocked with the necessities, very accommodating. The bed was very comfortable. The cozy kitchen and dinning area were perfect for making and enjoying a delicious spagetti and crab cake dinner along with great wine and cheeses. I also enjoyed having my morning coffee and night cup of tea. We loved everything and would have loved to stayed longer!! Thank you Diane!

Room Tip: Blue and Green Cottages are closer to garden, very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here in March in the Studio apartment.It had everything we needed and the setting feels like being in a very small village.It is very quiet which we liked but very close to all of the wonderful shops ,restaurants and beech.
the walk up and down the hill gave us a nice burst of exercise each day and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If there are only 2 of you the studio is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzanita Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanita Cottages

Property: Manzanita Cottages
Address: 732 Manzanita Drive, Laguna Beach, CA 92561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These are four enchanting cottages nestled in a private, garden compound located within walking distance to the beach and the village of Laguna. The cottages capture the original charm of the original Laguna Art Colony. Guests particularly enjoy the quiet garden setting as well as the privacy of living in their own stand alone cottage. There is also a studio apartment located on the site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manzanita Cottages Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing