We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Two-Night Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manzanita Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzanita Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Two-Night Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Green Cottage just after Thanksgiving last year. There is no on-site staff but everything was well communicated up front and we quickly settled in. The cottage was exactly what we were looking for and is in a great, central location. The kitchen was well provisioned, the bed comfortable and the living room with the fireplace and overstuffed couch couldn't have been improved upon.

We really enjoyed our time at Manzanita Cottages and will return soon.

Room Tip: I didn't see all of the interiors but it looks like the red and green cottages are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liningrs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
27
46
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

The pictures do not do it justice! The Price so reasonable!I stayed a week in the studio and it was plenty big for a single get away or for a romantic couple. Everything was spotless. Dianne was wonderful and left chocolates and coffees to greet me. So comfortable, So cozy so welcoming and it smelled terrific. So welcoming! The gardens are so beautifully manicured and frame the walk to the wishing well where u can cast a penny for a wish. There are multiple sitting areas on the way to the back gate which leads to the beach and to downtown in only 5 minutes. I didn't want to leave then my flight was cancelled and Dianne was able to arrange for me to stay another night! Part of me is still there. You just gotta stay there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages several years ago and then again in December, 2010. Each time we loved our cottage and the lovely secluded garden compound. I read some of the negative reviews and can only guess that as the owner responded, they must have suffered from a bad manager. Our recent experience was very positive. We had a cottage (I can't remember which color) that had a small kitchenette, a very comfortable bedroom and livingroom with a fireplace. The bed was very comfortable and there was a choice in pillows (firmness to soft) and good reading lights. The bedroom closet was quite large and had extra pillows, blankets, a space heater and I think even a crib. Everything was immaculate (I confess that I sometimes refuse to walk barefoot in hotel rooms).

Having the kitchen was quite nice and not only was it darling, it was quite functional and well-equiped for a little space. The cottages were well-maintained and while the compound has historic charm (they almost look like something from "Snow White and the Seven Dwarves"), the interiors have been updated or restored and very tastefully decorated.

The walk to town and the beach is a few blocks (I never counted) but it was an easy stroll and we enjoyed the farmers' market that is only a couple of blocks away.

Our experience is that the cottages are a lovely retreat on a quiet street, they have charm and character with no compromise on comfort. We'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldloverSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

My wife had been to the cottages before and loved them. I read the reviews and was skeptical. I am a convert. What a lovely way to spend a few days. I am very picky about dust and dirt and had absolutely nothing to complain about. The place is spic and span and just so darn cozy. Sitting in front of the gas fireplace was so relaxing since the wide floor to ceiling window made you feel like you were sitting in the garden, but looking at the fire. The place is so quiet, you would never believe you were just a 5 minute walk from the coast highway. I can't wait for an excuse to return for another breather.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM-Jog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

I was suprised to find this beautiful garden property in the middle of town but tucked away in a world all its own. Its like stepping back in a time warp. The cottages are like nothing I'd ever seen from the 20's/30's don't remember the exact build date but they leave nothing to be desired. Floor to ceiling windows look out on gorgeous garden landscaping. If you are looking for a relaxing getway destination look no further. The town has nice views and restaurants but the cottages made the trip for us. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Yellow cottage was our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Neither my partner nor I had been to Laguna Beach before. And while the city was different than what we'd expected, the cottages exceeded our every expectation and we wondered why anyone would want to leave their cottage anyway!

When you first pull up , there is a wooden gate in which you park face in. You have no idea the treat that you are in for, once you open that gate and get off the street.

You open the gates to a secret magic garden with charming little guest cottages all surrounding the enchanted grounds. We stayed in the Yellow Cottage. It was immaculate. Every detail lovingly tended to. Authentic vintage 1930's touches, all fresh and clean. Gas fireplace, hard wood floors, authentic large windows we opened up to let the fresh breezes and garden views in by day, a darling little kitchen with "starter" items such as coffee, hot chocolate, tea, popcorn, a microwave, mini stove, fridge and plates, silverware and much more. All items appear brand new and again - everything - every nook and cranny- looks brand new and just immaculate. We had our own little private patio off our Master bedroom. Also on the grounds is a "yard" with grill and chaise lounges. Truly a home away from home. It was peaceful and quiet. I suppose the hardest thing to quantify is just a feeling of "soul" and protection and being embraced by a graceful, loving environment. How does one describe that? We needed to retreat and there simply is no better place.

While the beaches in Laguna are stunning, they were packed (we were there on a Saturday in the midst of Spring Break), parking was a bit of a challenge in the town (if you're up for a bit of a walk downhill and then back up again, you can always walk easily from Manzanita Cottages anywhere). But then again, there was no reason to really leave the cottage - it was such an oasis.

I cannot recommend this property enough and while I believe in writing both the negative and the plusses, there were simply no negatives on this property. We will be back. And we will tell our friends. Then again, maybe not - I like having this "hidden gem" of a property as one of my secret spots to escape to!

Room Tip: All the cottages look equally charming.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BohemianCowgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed (parents and two kids) in the Green Cottage with Grandpa in the efficiency apartment. Both places were really cute and had everything we needed. We were there for Thanksgiving week, had a great time, and plan on going again. We too had problems with the manager (couldn't get any confirmation on our reservation, had no heat during a very cold week in November and she didn't do anything about it, etc.). But the cottages are really nice, the grounds are nice, it was very quiet, walking distance to everything, and we had a great time. With a new manager, I'm sure it is a much better experience. The kitchen in the Green Cottage was small but we even managed a holiday dinner by being a bit creative. It's a great place and I hope people don't stay away because of a problem with the former manager. We hope to make a stay there an annual family tradition.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzanita Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanita Cottages

Property: Manzanita Cottages
Address: 732 Manzanita Dr, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1962
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These are four enchanting cottages nestled in a private, garden compound located within walking distance to the beach and the village of Laguna. The cottages capture the original charm of the original Laguna Art Colony. Guests particularly enjoy the quiet garden setting as well as the privacy of living in their own stand alone cottage. There is also a studio apartment located on the site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manzanita Cottages Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing