We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Way to Spend a Morning...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Marine Mammal Center

Pacific Marine Mammal Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Pacific Marine Mammal Center rescues, rehabilitates and releases marine mammals and inspires ocean stewardship through research, education and collaboration. We are open to the public for visitors every day from 10am - 4pm. We are closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and New Years Day. There is no charge for visiting us, but donations are appreciated!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Way to Spend a Morning...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is always a nice little side trip, if you're going to the beach, or for a hike, or maybe grabbing a shake at Ruby's Shake Shak on PCH- I always drop in and drop off a donation at the Pacific Marine Mammal Center.
It is a good stop for the whole family, and only takes about 20-30 minutes out of your drive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    44
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love the Pinnipeds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

When guests are in town or I want a moment of joy in my life, I go visit the PMMC. It is small; it is highly informative; it is fun.
What fun to see how the animals are cared for, how they are thriving in their environment in preparation to return to the ocean.
Further, it is small enough that 30 minutes will leave you saturated with education on our ocean and the fine critters living in it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must visit. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by to check out the rescued sea lions today & had the pleasure of spending time talking to Irene one of the volunteer workers. Her passion for the health and well being of all sea creatures (especially the east pacific whales) was overwhelming. I learnt more about marine life in 10 minutes talking to Irene than I think I ever have! Definitely makes me think about how my (& other human animals actions can impact on those that inhabit the sea)A must visit! The centre runs on the generosity of the public so be sure to show your appreciation in the donation box. I also picked up an awesome bracelet "I care about the animals" #vegan

Helpful?
3 Thank aeh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really neat place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

They rescue seals here, along with other marine animals. It didn't take very long to look around, but it was a really cool thing to see. We stopped here on the way to Laguna beach (its right on the same street you take to get there) and it was worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great mission, friendly volunteers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is wonderful. They do great work and the volunteers are happy to tell you all about the animals and what they do.

The site itself is quite small -- there's not much to do but observe the animals and talk to the staff, so don't plan on a long visit. We stayed for 25 minutes or so, and in that time 3 other groups came and went.

It was lovely to see the animals playing and recovering. Well worth a quick visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Marine Mammal Center also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pacific Marine Mammal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing