We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a lot to see, but a lot to learn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Marine Mammal Center

Pacific Marine Mammal Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Pacific Marine Mammal Center rescues, rehabilitates and releases marine mammals and inspires ocean stewardship through research, education and collaboration. We are open to the public for visitors every day from 10am - 4pm. We are closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and New Years Day. There is no charge for visiting us, but donations are appreciated!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not a lot to see, but a lot to learn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The number of animals varies as this is a rescue center and depends on who needs rescuing! We saw two seals and a sea lion that we were not supposed to wave to or talk to because they will be returned to the sea when they recover, as wild animals. We saw the seals through chain link fence. Lousy pictures. We saw the sea lion from above, without a fence, and we saw a baby seal that can be played with (by the keepers) but cannot be returned to the wild so will go to a zoo eventually. What blew our minds was the docent; a retired lady pediatrician who taught us and amazed us with knowledge of the sea, the animals, and the rescue service. If you like lectures with friendliness and interaction, go see this "non"- attraction. it was 30-45 minutes depending on all our questions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    43
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting short stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After reading other reviews I knew the center was small but a very informational attraction. My husband and I are thankful to of stopped and taken the time to learn of the rehabilitation these locally recovered sea mammals receive. It is a well organized center and the volunteers are a pleasure and enjoy what they do.
We spent a little over a half hour there but we enjoyed our time. There is no fee but we left a donation to help the animal program.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank glee4533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I frequently stop by Pacific Marine Mammal Center to check on all of the little patients of the Pacific. The staff is amazing and so informative. Every time I go I learn a little something more than I already knew. What a wonderful place spreading so much care and love to these mammals to return them to their home, the Pacific.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lagunagirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Easy side trip - fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a tiny place for visitors, but they have a nice layout. We all liked seeing the various seals and sea lions up close. The educational materials are well thought out and informative. What amazed me is the back story to this place which is told on a board at the center (don't skip it!). Absolutely crazy how it got started. Really made an impression on me what one person with passion can accomplish.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank collette2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada - USA
Level Contributor
433 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
“Educational & Insightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The facility is easy to find and is next door to the City’s animal shelter (so you will hear barking from dogs). The parking lot is shared by both organizations; one parking lot is paved and fenced, and the other is not.

It is imperative that the public become aware of the tireless work and dedication of staff and volunteers at the Pacific Marine Mammal Center. It is not a sea zoo or "fun" attraction so those expecting rides or tricks will need to change their expectations.

This is a facility focused on the care and rehabilitation of live seals, and also serves to educate visitors on what is being done to help and prevent harm to these mammals. Volunteers are very knowledgeable and have a great, contagious passion for sea life. Bob Barker (The Price is Right) is a big supporter of the facility as are many local families.

There were 17 mammals at the facility when we visited but we only saw about 10 of them in the exterior pool areas. In addition to the outdoor area, which is fenced, there is an interior “barn” shelter (visitors are not permitted to enter that area).

Visitors can purchase a variety of items at the gift kiosk such as t-shirts, slippers, cards, etc. Though it is a short visit – we stayed about 15 minutes – learning more about these beautiful animals is helpful so we can do our part in supporting their way of life.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Marine Mammal Center also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pacific Marine Mammal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing