We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
“Best time ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

Our friends and family have Vacationed in Laguna many times over the past 30 years.
We have stayed in Vacation Village, which is now Pacific Edge. My children now come here to vacation. The hotel is clean, the management is terrific and it is an excellent value. It is the "the best time ever"

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    375
    168
    141
    129
See reviews for
383
532
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past. It used to be called Vacation Village (I think that's the name) and has recently been updated and renamed the Pacific Edge. The updates are refreshing with new decor. The location is fanatastic! There are many other hotels right on the beach but the Pacific Edge offers a terrific value as the rates are much lower than the others. The staff is friendly and helpful (especially Cindy and Michael at the front desk). The manager, Paul, is very responsive to any concerns you may have and they all seem to go above and beyond. These are older buildings so the walls tend to be thin, but travelers should bring some earplugs or the hotel has them too. We had an ocean view room in the building closest to the street and still could hear the beautiful ocean waves. There are fancier, more upscale hotels for sure, but for the excellent value at the Pacific Edge, it will always be my choice!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wnjskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

The view says it all. We never closed our back door. Heard the ocean all night. Could have thrown the hotel pen in the ocean; that is how close the room is. Great place. Will go back again. Only down fall is parking is tough.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neomrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

I had a room that opened to the highway, which was much too noisy. If you can get a room blocked from the road noise, the stay would have been excellent! Great location, very accomodating service, and love the local flavor.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

The hotel is old. The room has funky smell. It's very noisy. On Saturday night, actions from the street were on until well past 2 AM.

Parking is terrible. It's very difficult to park an SUV. It certainly is not a "luxury" hotel as advertised on the hotel' web site.

We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moodang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

My stays at Pacific Edge Hotel (PEH), formerly Vacation Village, took place on two separate occasions two weeks apart on a my first visit to Laguna Beach in more than a decade. After diligently searching TripAdvisor for a lodging, I chose PEH purely for location, and arrived at the hotel shortly after dark on a Sunday evening. The staff was very helpful, and my room overlooked the pool on the west side of the complex. The sound of the waves crashing nearby on the shore might not seem conducive to sleep for some guests, and the hotel provides ear plugs in the room. The beach is terrific and easily accessibly. So, the next morning I spent at least an hour walking leisurely north and south, just enjoying the sunrise and the other people casually strolling along, some with playful dogs.
Upon my return two weeks later, the attentive hotel staff offered me an upgrade to a Tower Room with a jacuzzi and a spectacular view of the northern stretch of beach. I had a chance to explore the town on this second visit, and it's easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The eatery adjacent to the hotel on the north end also serves great breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the beachside view is magnificent.
Both rooms on either end of my stay were comfortable. The beds are plush and pillows like clouds. There was also a refrigerator in the rooms, which made storing snacks and beverages easy. If you don't want to sample the local cuisine in the many upscale and casual eateries within walking distance, there's a Taco Bell and KFC within a block. And there's also a Ralph's supermarket within a 5-minute walk. Bu you'll want to relax in your room when you're not exploring the beach or the town. I also got a chance to peek at some of the other rooms, which come equipped with small kitchens for those who'd rather cook and eat without going out.
If you desire plusher and more expensive lodging, the Ritz-Carlton is just a few miles south. For the easiest access to Laguna Beach and all it has to offer, you won't do much better than the Pacific Edge Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoydD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

Stayed here for two nights (Thursday and Friday) in mid March 2009. The property looks a little uninteresting from the outside, but inside the rooms are spacious, clean and easy to reach. It is an older property starting to receive some loving care. Paid parking is convenient and accessible. We had an ocean view room on the third floor and indeed the ocean was very visible and we were one building row back from the beach. We could not actually see any beach. The balcony we had was private, ample and had a chaise, table and chair. It was clean and well maintained. Had we wanted to go down to the beach the walk was short. The Laguna Beach village is a 10 minute walk away, all down hill going there, and then all up hill returning, but not tortuous. You could walk there along the beach also. With the parking it was nice to not have to get in the car to go to town.

We checked out on Saturday morning and it looked like they were catering to party goers over the weekend. Friday night was noisy around bar closing time and a 20 to 30ish crowd had checked in. But for mid week if you want to be close to town and near the beach it was fine. No breakfast.....grocery store right across the street. The room had a refrigerator. Reception was efficient and friendly. I think it's fine for a hotel on the ocean side of Pacific Coast Highway. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank maranasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing