We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Tarzana, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We've gone to Laguna every summer for over 20 years. This time we thought we'd try Pacific Edge cause Joie de Vivre has a good reputation. Well they need to do more to improve this place, which used to be Vacation Village! Despite what is shown on their website the room we got was literally 200 sq feet looking at the side of the building next door. The closet had a curtain. The tiny closet sized bathroom tile grout was staring to break up, even though this was one of the renovated rooms. After complaining, which we heard other guests also doing, they offered us some ice. After complaining again, we were moved to another room on day 2 of 3. One of the un-renovated rooms, it was nicer with a larger bathroom and a partial view of the ocean, but thin walls.
On the good side, the beach was nice. The restaurant Driftwood was very good. And the Valet guys were very helpful with the car ($24/day and moving our luggage).
I will not return to this property.

Room Tip: Be prepared to complain and check the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDHTarzana_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
While we are currently in the midst of making the necessary updates, it appears that we still have some work to do. I'm very sorry that we fell short, especially considering how long you've been visiting us, and I hope we'll have a chance to make this right soon. Please email me at bookpacificedge(at)jdvhotels(dot)com -- we wouldn't want to lose you over this.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    382
    174
    148
    137
See reviews for
402
550
50
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Covina, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Paim the extra money for the junior suite. Sometimes the sound of the ocean is almost too loud!!! What a fabulous view in every direction.
Everyone tries their best to make your stay the very best. Everyone smiles and is pleasant. The front destk supervisor, Bryan Dougherty is wonderful and goes out of his way to take care of each and every request.
Yes, some of the accomodations are a bit worn and dated...but this place is a perfect place to relax and renew.
Can't wait for our next trip back!!!

Room Tip: Spend the $$ and get an ocean front room in the Reef Building or the Junior Suites in the Reef Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2ruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Nothing's more relaxing than the sound of the waves! Thanks for coming away with us, and for the wonderful review. We can't wait to see you again next year -- or sooner! ;)

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We checked in this afternoon, arrived 45 mins early and it was no problem at all. Our room, an oceanfront junior suite, is just simply amazing. We are in this room for three night then will be spending two nights in their "Pacific Suite", the nicest room on the property. I'm so glad that I worked the extra hours that I did in order to pay for our dream vacation. Amazing beach access, we saw dolphins from our balcony 10 mins after first walking into our room. I'd just give two words of advice, BOOK IT! And to the staff of PE please keep up the great service!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmK9447PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
That's great advice, David! ;) So glad that you loved your stay, and that you were able to see the dolphins from your balcony -- I hope you got some photos of that! Thanks for singing our praises. When will we get to have you back?

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place is truly a Motel 6 charging big bucks. We booked a village view room and actually had a nice view of the ocean from the balcony but the room is utterly disappointing. From the gross carpet on the floor to the 1970s bathroom, it was really just a big letdown. BIG LETDOWN!! They were our of beach towels all day. What beachfront hotel that charges $400 night doesn't buy enough beach towels? Motel 6. There are many better places to stay in Laguna Beach. Don't do it!!

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dan,

Although some of our rooms have yet to receive the necessary updates, we are confident that our quality far surpasses that of the average motel chain. I'm sorry you were disappointed, and that we ran out of beach towels, but I can assure you that what you experienced is completely out of the ordinary. As such, I know we can do better, and I hope we'll have a chance to prove it to you during your next stay in Laguna Beach. If you have any further questions, don't hesitate to email me at bookpacificedge(at)jdvhotels(dot)com.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Excellent service, great location. Worth the expense of the junior suite. We would definitely stay there again. Go to Pageant of the Masters. Unique experience!
This is all travelers need to know about Pacific Edge.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, on the beach. Refrigerator in room, grocery store within 1 block. Laguna Beach has f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjkirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Sounds like the perfect getaway! Thanks for making us a part of it. We'd love to see you again next summer -- or sooner!

Cheers,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We loved the hotel. The atmospere was great and the service also. Exstra good help from a lady with name Amanda. The hotel had great views and was located on the beach. It`s great for families with lots of activitys in the water. Nice pool and good service with bed and towels at the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views. The penthouse was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljosland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Amanda will be so glad to hear from you! Thanks for singing her praises, and for making us a part of your getaway. Keep us in mind next time you need a little California sun! :)

Cheers,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My brother and I each booked a room at the Pacific Edge for a wedding weekend in June. Mine was a generously sized oceanfront room with a balcony directly over the beach - beautiful views, great for watching surfers in the day and sunsets in the evening. Room was nicely furnished, although the bathroom was on the tiny side. My only complaint would be the thin walls - teenagers partying next door at 3 am sounded like they were in my room.
My brother's room in contrast was unpleasant and looked out onto the parking lot; he ended up upgrading to an oceanfront room where he was very happy.
There's coffee and baked things in the lobby in the morning, and two nice restaurants on site where we had three very good meals.
Bottom line, if you can get an oceanfront room, it's worth the stay, if not you might be better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bab6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Although I'm sorry your brother wasn't happy with his original room, I'm glad we were able to upgrade him so quickly. It sounds like you two had a fabulous time here in Laguna Beach, but I apologize if your lively neighbors were a bit bothersome. We would have been happy to help quiet them down -- don't hesitate to ask us! Until next time, thanks for reviewing us. We hope you'll keep us in mind next time you need a little California sun!

Regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Property: Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing