We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“depends on the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
portland, maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“depends on the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My brother and I each booked a room at the Pacific Edge for a wedding weekend in June. Mine was a generously sized oceanfront room with a balcony directly over the beach - beautiful views, great for watching surfers in the day and sunsets in the evening. Room was nicely furnished, although the bathroom was on the tiny side. My only complaint would be the thin walls - teenagers partying next door at 3 am sounded like they were in my room.
My brother's room in contrast was unpleasant and looked out onto the parking lot; he ended up upgrading to an oceanfront room where he was very happy.
There's coffee and baked things in the lobby in the morning, and two nice restaurants on site where we had three very good meals.
Bottom line, if you can get an oceanfront room, it's worth the stay, if not you might be better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bab6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Although I'm sorry your brother wasn't happy with his original room, I'm glad we were able to upgrade him so quickly. It sounds like you two had a fabulous time here in Laguna Beach, but I apologize if your lively neighbors were a bit bothersome. We would have been happy to help quiet them down -- don't hesitate to ask us! Until next time, thanks for reviewing us. We hope you'll keep us in mind next time you need a little California sun!

Regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    341
    151
    130
    119
See reviews for
359
483
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I am a traveler from Cambodia to camping in Yosemite, but this has to be one of the most horrible places we have stayed at given it's price tag. I would value it at $30 a night given some better hotels I've stayed at for $50 beach side. They have only renovated a few selective rooms but the rest are out of the 1940's with carpets, bathrooms and walls that are from the 40's but with mold. If everything is booked in Laguna make the extra drive to Dana point for a much better hotel selection. It's worth it!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KEA06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Your comments are disheartening, and I wish we could have done more to wow you. While I can assure you that all of our rooms have been updated well after 1940, we do have some that are more updated than others. Summer is a very busy time here in Laguna with most hotels sold our every night; we try hard to be very competitive in terms of pricing to offer a great oceanside escape to our guests. I want to thank you for your feedback and I will be sure to pass this along to our team and make the necessary corrections so these issues do not happen again.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

*BEWARE - The rooms in the pictures are NOT the rooms that you get. We were told that they have "a few" renovated rooms that were already booked and a couple of bungalows that they rent for day use only. Most of the people who checked in while we were there came back to complain about the quality of their room. Very pleasant staff and are very good at smiling, apologizing, and mentioning the renovated rooms for future visits for a hefty price.
Pros: On the beach side of the street. Valet guys were super helpful and nice. Beach staff for chairs and towels were super nice and helpful, too.
Cons: Dirty, dirty, dirty! Our room wasn't ready at 3:30 b/c check-in is at 4pm, so we parked our car with their valet for another $24 and walked around a bit. At 4pm they said it would be about another hour or so for our room but offered another room for a fee. We had our children with us and had been driving all day to this location but had already paid more than $300 for our room and were told it would be about another $200+ for a room with an ocean view but only a king bed if we could fit (our family of 4). Ummm - No thanks. Was told that was the only room that was available. When we finally got our room, it was worn and dirty. Doors and walls are thin and the adjoining door had a gap between it and the floor so we saw shadows every time a person in the next room passed by the adjoining door, windows are held shut with sticks in the runners instead of locks, discarded paper under one bed and trash in the nightstand drawer, flooring felt damp and grimy (we had to wear our shoes), our room was nothing like the pictures, there are 4+ buildings and only some rooms/buildings face the beach, the base price is for the building closest to the street and each building closer to the beach includes another upgrade fee with similar rooms, only 2 towels in the room but they provided more upon request, nice coffeemaker and 2 pods for coffee but they forgot to include cups, noisy rooms, and a very busy street. This same room in any other neighborhood would rate much lower, but the location on the beach-side of the street was incredible and all other hotels on that side of the street were sold out. We checked out the next morning and would never stay there again. I don't think I have any pictures but you can Google Map it and check out the "street view". When facing the hotel, the building on the left is what the majority of the rooms look like from the outside. Check out some of the images customers have posted to some of the travel sites to get a better idea. Such bad advertising. I've seen the owner respond to several negative comments and suggesting they stay in another building next time. If there are different types of rooms, why not post the pictures of each so that customers can make that decision ahead of time instead of getting bamboozled after arrival and shelling out hundreds of dollars for a room that wouldn't cost $40 in any other location. However, nice beach location.

Room Tip: Speak to someone when booking and specify that you want one of the rooms like those in the pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We want our guests to know exactly what they're getting, Lisa, and we're sorry that you were so disappointed with your room. We try hard to point out the difference between the Village View rooms and the Ocean Front rooms. That said, we wish we could have done more to impress you. We appreciate your comments and we take them to heart. We will make sure to re-visit the room type descriptions on our 3rd party booking sites so that they match our own websites descriptions. We also like to encourage all guests to book directly with us so we can better inform them of our hotel and make sure they choose a room type that best fits their needs.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We called the hotel at 11:30 in the morning and asked to see if our room might be ready when we arrived. I also asked for an updated room, having read other reviews. Four hours later we were finally able to check into our hotel room- which can be no larger than 220 square feet with a tiny bathroom. Our window looks directly into the wall of the building next door. Clearly Joie de Vivre put very little money into the renovation- the very old elevators barely function, the pathway between buildings is circuitous and we had to enter the restaurant through a bizarre path, because the room that the hostess normally takes you through had been rented- really? Next door are several children which I can easily hear through the walls and our room reverberates each time they slam the door.

On the positive side, the restaurant's food and ambience was very good and our waitress couldn't have been more attentive.

Will I choose to stay here ever again? Absolutely not!! This is not a boutique hotel, rather a spruced up motel at an exorbitant rate.

Room Tip: choose carefully- be sure the room has been renovated, is large and has some type of view- there a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joelsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your room. Some rooms are a bit smaller than others, but we do our best to make all of them comfortable and welcoming. Were you able to voice your displeasure during your trip? We would have been happy to make new arrangements for you. Regardless, we want to make this right, and we hope we'll get a chance to do that soon. In the meantime, don't hesitate to email us at bookpacificedge(at)jdvhotels(dot)com if you want to talk.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Absolutely love this hotel. Great price and great location. I have stayed both ocean view and village view. Both are great, if you want to spend a little extra it is great to be ocean front and sit on the balcony in the evening and night. If you want to save a little money the village view is a great price especially in the off season and paying in advance. I find we do not spend much time in the room so village view is a great deal and you are still steps from the ocean where you can sit in the lounge chairs and umbrellas provided by the hotel. I am heading back on September 7th for my 4th stay. I am so excited! We also had a great housekeep Raphaela last May when we stayed, she was fantastic and we developed a quick friendship with her. She works her tail off!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Yes, the Village View really is a great deal! We're thrilled that you had such a fabulous time lounging on the beach with us, Laura, and we really appreciate your kind words. Looking forward to seeing you again in September -- it's only a few months away! :)

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to this hotel for many years, back when it was Vacation Village actually. We absolutely love it! You are paying for the location definitely. The hotel is nice but it is very casual and beachy. If your expecting Montage style amenities this is not for you. If you want a great family friendly hotel with a amazing view this is a great choice! We come back every year so they must be doing something right!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank microwavesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
It's always a pleasure to welcome you and your family back for a stay on the beach, Sally. You really can't beat these beach views, can you? Hope everyone had a wonderful visit, and we can't wait to see you back again!

Take care,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I loved the location, loved the staff, the cleanliness of the room was fair/poor however the room was different than the website it was stunning.. I was very dissatisfied with the room itself, the size, the location of the room and upkeep of the room. The room was approximately $400 per night and was the size of a very small bedroom -2 double beds, bathroom so small you could not turn around in it It faced the parking lot. I was shocked at the room compared to photos on the website. I went to the front desk and was upgraded for $105 extra per night, just so we could SEE the ocean over a all building in front of us, facing another parking lot. Valet parking was another $28 per night, so when you add it all up, I paid $532 per night, to face over a big gray building to see the ocean partially.You have no choice for valet parking, there is no where else to park. When you book, be very specific and be aware this is not what you're hoping for. On a happier note, the staff was incredible, the front desk wonderful, the ocean front when you walked there was beautiful and the beach staff very helpful and kind. The disappointment with the bait and switch feeling of the room when traveling so far, hoping for a really nice view and room made me more than angry.

Room Tip: You must pay high dollar and call the hotel itself and book a room facing the ocean. Don't book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I sincerely apologize that you weren't satisfied with your initial room. It sounds like there was some miscommunication when you were booking -- the pictures online show a variety of rooms and room sizes, which may have caused some confusion. That said, we're more than happy to find you something more to your liking. Above all, we want you feel taken care of. Next time you book, don't hesitate to let us know if you have any questions or concerns. We'd be more than happy to explain exactly what you're booking.

Take care,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing