We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word. . . Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
san jose
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One word. . . Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I honestly don't know how anyone could ever rate this hotel anything but fabulous. After a stressful work week, I checked in on Friday and spent a glorious weekend in one of the updated, beachfront rooms. My room was ready at 2pm so they allowed me to check in early. Friends (from LA) joined me on Saturday and were amazed how close we were to the beach. There really was no problem with thin walls either, as I didn't hear a peep out of the adjoining rooms. Besides, the waves crashing outside were so loud, it would have drowned out any noise coming from the other rooms, which was just fine by me. As others have said, the hotel is very close to the grocery store and fine dining. We ate at "The Deck" and really enjoyed the atmosphere. I would love to go back when I save up some money. The room was pricey, but worth every penny!

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra money for the oceanfront room. The other rooms just don't have the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckytravels66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Paradise, indeed! We're so glad that you and your friends had such a great time with us, and we'd love to welcome you back for many more. Until next time, thanks for the wonderful review. It made our day!

Regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    370
    165
    141
    129
See reviews for
382
524
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

great views of the ocean and you are 'on it', great food (make a reservation a must) drinks, great servers, great employees that are so very caring. a perfectly funky and beachy place. I would stay again for sure, great for business, couple, family, friends or solo!

Room Tip: ask for the best view they can give you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Sounds like a lovely getaway! We can't wait to have you back again!

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The whole trip started when i called to make a reservation with the hotel. Bryan at the front desk was extremely helpfully and really set my family up to have a great little vacation. Bryan met all my family's needs from an ocean view to having a pack in play all set up in the room for my 2 year old daughter when we got in the room. When we got to the hotel James checked us in and descried all of the amenities that the hotel has to offer which really helped us plan our evening. We really enjoyed how Jordan helped us get some beach chairs and towels when we made our way down to the water. Overall i cant what to go back and stay at the Pacific Edge again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It was a pleasure to make you feel at home, Thomas! Bryan, Jordan and James will be thrilled to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back for years to come. Until next time, thanks for the fabulous review!

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Now this place is a gem. I got a great deal on Hotels.com. When I arrived the parking was a little confusing you have to go through the alley way to the valet. Once I got to the reservation desk to check in I was pleasantly surprised with the service. I asked for a better view and I was offered a beachfront view for hundred dollars more. I took it, & boy was I glad I did!!!!! I sat outside on my L-shaped patio above the ocean listening to the waves. I didn't even want to sleep....or be in the room- the view is that amazing. When I got to my room I had a bottle of complimentary wine;)

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We're so glad you loved your stay, Christine! Thanks for making us a part of it, and for sharing your fantastic review. We can't wait to welcome you back again -- the ocean is beautiful in the winter, too!

All the best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This place has character. It's not 5 star but it is cosy and perfectly positioned on the sands of Laguna Beach. If you want salt, sand, surf and sun this place is for you. The rooms vary in class from the bungalows on the beach to those 50m away. Whatever your budget, come to relax and unwind. The beachside restaurant is great. Perfect for cocktail over sunset. Wifi is good and there are heaps of great restaurants within walking distance to enjoy. I had a great week here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Heiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
A California dream, indeed! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your week with us, and we hope to continue welcoming you back for years to come. Until then, thank you for sharing your kind words!

All the best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We just got back from spending 4 memory filled, relaxing nights here. Having now stayed at this property, I think some of the mixed reviews stem from guests who paid for something other than a beach front view. Don't expect to go to sleep and wake to the therapeutic sounds of waves if you don't book a beach front room. Our room was so close to the water that it created an optical illusion that we were actually looking out from an ocean view room on a cruise ship!

The dining experience at the "The Deck" was terrific and it too is right on the water. Both the food and service were great. No issues with the responsiveness of the valet on our trip.

In summary, great location, great service and great value. Select the room type to match your expectations. Understand that while this may not be a 5 star resort, nor are you paying for such. Having said that, the sunsets you will experience can't be beat at any price! We will be back!

Room Tip: Beach front is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
You're absolutely right, Elli -- those sunsets are absolutely unforgettable! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to continue welcoming you back for years to come. Until then, thanks for taking the time to review us!

Warm regards.
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Super friendly staff, bright and clean rooms, excellent service. We also rented a bungalow for the day and hosted friends which I'd highly recommend. The location can't be beat, literally steps from all Laguna has to offer. The sunsets are also an amazing bonus :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcastady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Those sunsets really are gorgeous! I'm glad you had a chance to soak them up, and I hope you'll continue to visit us for years to come. In the meantime, thank you for the fabulous review ;)

All the best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing