We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Valencia, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Escape”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Such a great place. Excellent staff, fair pricing and a view to die for.
I took my gf for Valentine's day. We stayed in a room overlooking the water. It was an amazing stay.
I hope to be back there soon. :0

Eric

Room Tip: If you can swing it... grab the Ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Sounds like a perfect Valentine's Day! Thank you for making us a part of it, and for the wonderful rating. We hope to welcome you both back again soon, Eric!

Cheers,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    382
    173
    148
    136
See reviews for
401
549
50
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stay at Pacific at Edge every year for the last 10 years. We always stay ocean front but this year we were fortunate to be upgraded to the villa. It was a gorgeous free standing house with 2 bedrooms and 2 spa bathrooms and 3 fireplaces . Gorgeous Gorgeous. We may never be able to stay in a normal room again. As always, we park the car and walk to the grocery store, food, and shopping. This hotel is the best choice if you want to be right on the sand.And the kids enjoy the always heated pool. Love Pacific Edge:)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseballmom909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Gorgeous, indeed! Thank you for your support over the last ten years, and for the wonderful review. We can't wait to welcome you back for another ten years, but in the meantime, let us know if there's anything else we can do to make your next stay even better!

Regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

First, I will qualify my review with the fact that I stayed here for a business meeting. While it was more than adequate for that purpose, this hotel is really geared towards families and those who want a weekend on the beach in southern California.

I had a great oceanfront room that had definitely been recently renovated. The room appointments, fixtures, etc were all contemporary and current - a good thing for a hotel that has been around for as long as this one. The bungalows on the beach front are great spots for some group privacy and the chance to take in the great ocean views without being actually on the beach.

The beach: view is beautiful, surf is great, more than enough sand to find a nice spot to take in the day. However, keep your shoes on. On several occasions, my colleagues and I watched dog walkers let their dogs urinate right in the sand on the beach. Ugh!

Back to the room - a colleague of mine had a non working light fixture (maybe a bulb) and I had two in my room that were out. Not a biggie but the attention to those details seems to be lacking. In addition, the sink in my bathroom drained slower than molasses. Again, not something to make me run from the place, but a bit annoying none the less.

I'd love to bring my family back for a nice long weekend in Laguna on the beach, but if we do, we will bring our surf shoes! ;)

Room Tip: Get a beach front room. Be prepared to hear guests in the adjacent rooms to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Yes, attention to detail is very important. Those little issues should have been attended to before you checked in, and I apologize for falling short in that regard, as well some of our guests' pets' behavior. That's not acceptable, and we'll look into it immediately. Still, it sounds like you really enjoyed our views, and we hope to welcome you back next time you need to get a little sun!

Thanks
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Perfect location, clean grounds & nice accommodations. Very active at night. Staff was kind, polite and helpful...well-trained to care for vacationers. We had a great stay. Do not order a hamburger from the Orange café...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Kind, polite and helpful--that's all we can ask for! Thanks for singing our team's praises, Steven. We'd love to have you back again soon!

Regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compton
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went here for my anniversary and had an oceanfront room. The room was very nice and the view was great. The staff was exeallent and the hotel even gave us complementary cake, flowers, and sparkling water. The only complaint I have was the room was above the restaraunt so from 9am to 10pm it was a little noisy . I enjoy going to sleep to the sound of the waves every night so 10p was ok. Lots of food places to eat at (can get pricy) and art galleries in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Sounds like a lovely anniversary! Thank you for celebrating this special occasion with us, and for the rave review. We can't wait to see you next year--or sooner!

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at Pacific Edge before & that's why I'll never stay anywhere else. If you're looking for the best location with clean, beach-themed rooms - look no further.

But the best part about Pacific Edge is the staff. You can't train people to be genuine, and when you interact with any employee at Pacific Edge, you'll experience this as well. They actually care and want to ensure your comfort & a successful trip. Brian Sullivan (GM) made a great impression on my family. James, Javid, Brian (FD Supervisor), Zachary (Beach Attendant)...all made an impact and I can't thank them enough. This trip was a long overdue gathering for my family - and everyone is STILL talking about it here at home :)
Thanks for everything PAC Edge!! See you again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We work hard to continue surpassing our own standards, so it's such a pleasure to hear that you were impressed with your stay! Thanks for taking the time to shout out our team, and for making us a part of your getaways, Haley. We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights in mid-March and celebrated our anniversary here and we were not disappointed. Many big pluses: (1) thoughtful staff: our thanks to Akiko for making our stay special -- she was wonderful! (2) location: great view of the beach and ocean (3) convenience: it is literally steps from the beach and a short walk to town and restaurants, (4) rooms have been recently renovated and are very clean, well kept and with good features (e.g. great balcony; counter space; good-size flat screen TV) and (5) although valet parking is necessary, they do provide an excellent service.
What could have made it better: we appreciate the extra large mini-fridge in the room but it is very noisy when you're trying to sleep (mentioned it many times to the front desk and they tried once to turn it off with no success so we tolerated it) and it runs often because the door doesn't seal. I'm hopeful they could solve the problem before our next visit because it's a nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Akiko and the rest of our team will be so happy to hear your kind words! Between our staff, views and relaxing rooms, we're thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your stay, Zachary, and we really appreciate your suggestions, too. Thanks, and keep us in mind for next year's getaway--if you can wait that long! :)

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#11 of 22 in Laguna Beach
596 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#13 of 22 in Laguna Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Property: Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing