We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brief relief from work life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brief relief from work life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I needed to see and hear the ocean for one day during a long stretch of business travel and i could not have picked a better place! The staff was friendly, the valets were helpful, the DECK food and staff were excellent and the ROOM on the beach was perfect! I will be back!!

Room Tip: Room 109 on beach with the deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11312love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Nothing like an ocean view to melt your troubles away! I'm so glad you found us, and that you felt at home at our hotel. Thanks for sharing that, and keep us in mind next time you need a little sun!

Regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    370
    165
    141
    129
See reviews for
382
524
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel was so accommodating to us after dealing with four flight cancellations to get out of Washington DC due to a massive snow storm. Our trip included stays in Santa Monica, West Hollywood, Disney and Laguna Beach. While all properties we stayed at were in the same category of expense and luxury, this property was by far the best experience.

Brian and the front desk staff was so welcoming and they created an environment that we were able to enjoy ourselves and truly relax. I have zero complaints and only hope that I find a way to make it back to this hotel.

Room Tip: One must get the oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosesRfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
The weather didn't cooperate, but we're glad you finally got a chance to soak up the sun! Thanks for getting away with us, and for taking the time to sing our praises. We can't wait to have you back again!

Regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I wanted a relaxing, romantic week on the beach. Being from the east coast, we knew very little about the best places to stay in California, let alone Laguna Beach. So, we surfed the internet, read the reviews and settled on The Pacific Edge Hotel with slight trepidation caused by a tiny percentage of not-so-great reviews. Jackpot! The whole experience was amazing. A beautiful, clean room with a king bed on the first floor, with a balcony literally hanging just 8 feet over the beach and the waves at high tide lapping within 6 feet of the building's foundation. Every night, we watched an amazing sunset over the water and, later, the breaking waves lulled us to sleep. Amazing maid and valet services. The hotel's restaurant, The Deck, was right on the beach and had a great staff, great food and great view. The hotel is within walking distance of everything. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It really was possibly the best vacation experience we've ever had, and we can't wait to stay there again. ** The only annoyance, and it was a small one, was the occasional smokers who apparently thought the "absolutely no smoking" signs placed prominently on the balcony handrails were merely a suggestion.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in the Reef building, which is the closest to the water and down the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMEE40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for making us a part of your California getaway! You just can't beat these views and being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. It was a pleasure to make you feel at home, and to read your kind words. Keep us in mind next time you need a little sun!

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My friend and I wanted to "run away from home" for a few days on our February break. She is a Principal and I am a high school teacher. We booked a room at the Pacific Edge in Laguna Beach.
The moment we walked into the lobby we were met with warmth, sincere friendliness, and lots of smiling faces. We were offered a fabulous upgrade and a complimentary bottle of wine and when we saw our room we knew we had made an awesome choice. EVERYTHING about our stay was perfect. The waves crashed right under our balcony and the sunsets were gorgeous! Nothing compares to being lulled to sleep by sound of waves.
Location, location, location! We were so close to all the best that Laguna has to offer so we walked everywhere. The "Deck" is a great place to eat with a friendly staff and another amazing view of the ocean.
Customer service is key to a good experience and this place "nailed it".
We vowed to make this our girl's retreat and we will visit often in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Sounds like you two really did deserve a beach getaway! Between these beautiful views, a few bottles of wine and excellent company, it sounds like you two had a great time here in Laguna Beach. Thanks for making us a part of your trip, Meg, and keep us in mind when you two need a little time away from the kiddos!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend to get away from work. We wanted an ocean view room with a balcony so we could sit and read all day.

Stacie at the front desk was wonderful. She gave us a warm welcome, answered all our questions, and gave great advice for local restaurants.

We stayed in the Surf building. NOTE: The Surf building is adjacent to the restaurant, The Deck, so if restaurant noise bothers you, stay in one of the other buildings. The noise didn't bother us at all. It was nice to hear the sounds of people laughing and socializing, and on Saturday there was a wedding so we had a free soundtrack. The restaurant closes at 10, so after that, all you hear are the waves on the beach. : )

The bed is very comfortable, shower had great water pressure, and they provide lovely toiletries. The only challenge was Saturday night, an outlet in our room started sparking at 2:00am. I called the front desk knowing that they wouldn't be able to take care of it until the next day, but the woman who answered apologized and thanked me for letting her know.

Very friendly staff, classic beach decor, and steps from the beach: all you need for a perfect beach getaway!

Recommended for: young couples, families, friends traveling together

Tip #1 When you arrive, pull around to valet (turn on Cleo, then right on Sleepy Hollow) It's easy to walk up to the lobby and then valet can start unloading your bags. You can park in the lot right in front, but pulling out into traffic can take a long time. Best to just go to valet.

Tip #2: Again, if you think restaurant noise will bother you, don't stay in the Surf building.

Tip #3: Make a pilgrimage to The Orange Inn, a restaurant that's been in Laguna since the 1930's. It's right next to the hotel. You can eat there or get your food to go. I recommend the cinnamon roll - especially if you can get one fresh out of the oven.

Tip #4: DO try to eat at The Deck during your stay. It's great for OC people watching.

Room Tip: 601 is a corner room. Amazing ocean/beach view, but near the restaurant. As soon as the restaurant c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleJisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Sounds like the perfect getaway! Thanks for making us a part of it, and for taking the time to share these wonderful tips—they'll definitely come in handy for our future guests! We can't wait to welcome you back, Elle. Until then, let us know if we can do anything to make your next trip even better!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent 10 days last summer on a road trip off the Pacific Coast and stayed 2 nights in Laguna Beach at this hotel. Location is great and views are fabulous, deck restaurant has great views as well. The fodd was nothing special and the rooms were run down, definitely not what I woud expect for the cost of the place. I would invest my money eslewhere next time. Bathroom was one star roadside motel caliper. Over priced by far!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LK196276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We want all of our guests to feel welcome, so we're sorry you feel this way. However, we're currently completing the necessary renovations, and we're confident that you'll be amazed when they're finished. Still, we wish we could have resolved this during your stay, and we want to make this right. Don't hesitate to reach out to us if you'd like to discuss this further—we know we can do better than this.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend in October 2011 to celebrate our anniversary. We had the oceanview room with a King size bed. During high tide the ocean was right under our balcony, which was awesome! We could always hear the beautiful and soothing sound of the waves crashing against the shore, and we had stunning views of the entire laguna, and the sunset. The entire hotel has a beachy/ summer theme, and there are surfboards, and really neat decor. The decor of the hotel was inspired by a surfing movie called "Endless Summer." Since staying here, we were so inspired that we bought a movie poster of "Endless Summer" and have it hanging on our wall in Canada to remind us of our time at Pacific Edge hotel.

The staff and service were excellent. I stepped on a bee on the beach, and one staff member was so genuinely concerned, and brought a bottle of wine to our room. Chocolate covered strawberries, champagne, and a thoughtful card wishing us a happy anniversary were also delivered to our room.

Some of the paint was chipped but it all added to the beach charm of this place. If you are looking for a perfect luxury boutique hotel, don't come here. If you are looking for excellent service, breathtaking views, a perfect location, comfort, romance, charm and character, this is the place for you!

This review is quite late, but after 2 and a half years, we still think very fondly of this hotel and Laguna Beach, and would love to return someday.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Sunset and the sound of the waves—it doesn't get more California than that! I'm absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your vacation, despite running into that bee on the beach. That's not a fun surprise, so I hope you're feeling better! Moving on to your review, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind words. Knowing that you felt at home means the world to us! We're looking forward to your next visit, too, but until then, please let us know if there's anything we can do to make it even better!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing