We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Depends on the Room you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Depends on the Room you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked the lowest level room and received a slight upgrade to a partial ocean view room. We were in the main building. Others we knew got the buildings closer to the ocean. We could see it and it was fine. But if you do pay for an Oceanview room, you should be very happy.
To describe our room, we had 2 doubles instead of 2 queens. We wanted a king, but it wasn't available at booking time. The bathroom was adequate. The toilet paper roll was on the door, so you had to shut the door if you didn't want to have an issue. The bathtub was fine. Wasn't thrilled with the lack of space to place your toiletries. It had one pedestal sink with no cabinets. One thin shelf above the toilet, so pretty important to leave the seat down in case your bag fell over. There was another mirror in the room, but no close outlet, so using your hair appliances had to be in the bathroom. There was a fridge and a coffeemaker which was great to have. If you're going here for peace and quiet, you may want to look elsewhere. They have weddings here and the crowd was very noisy late into the night on a couple nights. Maybe midweek is better. Probably won't stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank BenedettaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
It seems that we fell short during your visit, Benedetta. I'm sorry to hear about this, but I really appreciate your comprehensive feedback. It will only make us better! Thank you, and I hope we'll have another chance to better demonstrate our impeccable level of service next time you need to get away.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    338
    151
    130
    119
See reviews for
357
482
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our second visit back to this property and we were just as pleased the 2nd time. Surf wing is the way to go with oceanfront room. Location of room is perfect views and if you like to sleep to the sound of the surf this is where to be in Laguna. Kids spent entire week on the beach. Staff at the property can't do enough for you. Perfect location also to get to shops and restaurants. Only drawback we found this time was slower housekeeping support - room was not cleaned until late in the day (3-4pm) and since my balcony was one of my favorite places to be each day this was a bit of a downer. On a side note - I would beiive if I requested an early cleaning the hotel would have done everything they could do to accomodate my request. I will do that on my next visit back and assume that my only complaint will be eliminated. Worth the visit!

Room Tip: Surf wing with oceanfront accomodatrions - rooms rennovated in 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTKPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Great suggestion! We'll be sure to speak to our housekeeping staff about earlier assistance. That said, I'm delighted that you and your kids had such a fabulous time here in Laguna Beach, and we'd love to welcome you back again soon! Until next time, thanks for the fantastic review!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The photos on the website are exactly what you will get - spend the extra and get an ocean front room. Being able to fall asleep to the sound of the crashing waves on the beach is worth every dollar. The beach is steps away, with a very helpful beach attendant available on the weekends. Will go back!! Fabulous hotel with wonderful staff!

Room Tip: You MUST choose beach front! Well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
You're right—there's nothing better than hearing the waves crashing outside your window! Thanks for staying with us, Heather, and for the kind words. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We will definitely return...the customer service was exceptional! Our visit was quite spontaneous and we couldn't have been more pleased. Watching the the Pacific sunset while sitting on our balcony was picture perfect. While the room decor may not have been 5 star, the service was! We had some plumbing issues and Bryan (the front desk supervisor) and the maintenance staff went out of their way to make things right. A special thank you to Bryan for all of your kind assistance!

Room Tip: Ocean view premium worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillbear72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Sometimes the spontaneous trips are the most fun! Thanks for thinking of us, Jill, and for the fabulous review. Come back and see us soon—the beach is just as lovely during the winter months!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Edge for a week in October and it was absolutely magnificient! Our room had a large balcony which literally was right over the ocean when the tide was high. It was nice having an oversized room with the huge granite countertop wetbar and kitchen area and refrigerator, because we enjoyed many of our meals on our private deck just kicking back and enjoying the view. The sunsets were amazing and we loved the beach! The vibe of the Pacific Edge was warm, inviting and totally unpretentious. It's worth paying the extra money to be oceanfront, but with us, we parked our car for the week and didn't leave, except to take walks around the shops and streets of Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: Room 605 in the Surf Wing is awesome! We were told that Betty Davis used to stay in this room many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Beach views and a comfortable room—it doesn't get much better than that! Thanks for staying with us, Peggy. Come back and see us next time you need to unwind!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Their web shows awesome oceanfront rooms. However when you check in you find yourself in a different building with little or now view, unless you like Pacific Coast Highway. We were greatly disappointed. An old hotel remake trying to become luxurious. That was not what we found. We would never recommend them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSMNavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Although we're currently in the midst of implementing the necessary updates for our guests, some of our rooms have yet to be updated. I'm sorry you were disappointed, but we would have been happy to move you to another room had you brought this to our attention. That said, I wish we could have taken care of this during your visit, but I would be happy to discuss this further. Don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to talk.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband & I have been coming here since 1976!We have always enjoyed it here! It was family owned then & was Vacation Village.We have celebrated all of our wedding anniversaries & our son got married on the beach so we have many happy memories .It is now Pacific Edge .We are always welcomed by Rafael,who has been here for at least 35 yrs.He is without a doubt always so cordial & professional each time we arrive,& always meets all our needs & requests.We recently had the privilege of meeting Javid & he greeted us with the biggest smile & remembered us from our recent stay.His customer service along with Rafael is so welcoming !Our room is updated with perfect view of the ocean.We were offered a bottle of wine by Kim who was very helpful & Brian who introduced himself to us.A team like this is the reason why we will continue to come back! Our friends & family are repeat guests as well.Thankyou all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I can't describe how rewarding it is to keep welcoming you back after 35 years. Thank you so much for your support, Rosanne. It means the world to me, Rafael and the the rest of our team! We're looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back again, but please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can do to make your next visit even better!

Take care,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing