We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff although they didn't ever come to my room when I called for something, perfect view if you get a beach view, outd” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff although they didn't ever come to my room when I called for something, perfect view if you get a beach view, outd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me with a stay here one night, when we walked in to our beach view room on the 3rd floor it was very clean and spacious the beds were comfy and tv was alright I think they could get a little more modern though since there is more modern looking places near by for the same price. There lobby is very nice which is why I expected so much for the room. The view and patio is where I spent the whole day and night and even morning the view is breathtaking and you can tell its one of the best views available compared to the other hotels on the street. The chairs out there aren't comfy but there super cute. We were planning in staying in for room service but there wasn't very many options to be honest so we went ahead and went to Bjs down the street and brought it back to the room. Also we went shopping on the little streets near by and took a walk on the beach at sunset if it wasn't for the view than this place wouldn't be nothing but it definitely saves the place and I'll always remember this special little trip. Also my boyfriend mentioned since we already had to stay 2 nights mandatory on weekend than the parking should be cheaper or something for the cars.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Georgia! While I do appreciate your candid feedback and your suggestions about our room service and parking, I'm happy to see that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your getaway. Hopefully your next visit is worthy of five stars, but until then, thanks for the wonderful review!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    370
    165
    141
    129
See reviews for
382
524
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is bad. Room service doesn't answer. The menu is small and the choices are weak. The room is nasty. I feel like someone could break into the room at any moment. Bathroom is tiny and the kitchen is the same. Over all this is the worst place I've stayed in Laguna.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rvad268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We're proud to call Laguna Beach home, so it's upsetting to hear that you found your stay to be so dissatisfying. However, we can assure you that we are in the midst of making the necessary upgrades for our guests, and we would have been happy to move you to another room if you had let us know about this. Still, we appreciate your feedback, and we hope to have another chance to show you a great time during your next stay in Laguna.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding this past weekend and were frankly surprised at the poor service and aging conditions of the facility. The location is great, with a nice beach out front; the small lobby is modern and comfortable; the food and service at The Deck restaurant (part of the hotel) was great. But somebody needs to explain to the owners and management of this hotel that they are in the "hospitality" industry. At check-in and other times we had to deal with the front desk, the attitudes ranged from mildly pleasant to impatient and condescending. At no time were we made to feel welcome, certainly. And when I left my car with the valet (I had to drive it around back to find them), the attendant was unfriendly, bordering on surly. And it went downhill from there. I travel a lot but I live here in SoCal and, okay, I know that we're not known for hospitality, but this place was surprisingly embarrassing to our friends from out of state. Our rooms were small and old (rusting metal in the tub drain) and we had to ask for bath towels. On our checkout day, apparently the entire building (there are few small buildings clustered together that comprise this hotel) was out of hot water. We asked for a checkout time extension and were given 30 minutes. Mind you the check out time is 11am and check in is 4pm - no other hotel I've stayed in in the past many years has such a long turnover time. Only after a number of calls that had to get increasingly insistent, did they admit that the entire building was without hot water and agreed to give us more time to get ready for our event. And even then, the front desk woman was impatient, unapologetic, and snippy. So... we checked out, moved our luggage to the room of someone else in our party who was staying longer, and attended our event. When I had my car brought up from valet, a large plastic piece under the engine was dragging on the ground. For some reason that no one would explain to me, they have moved by car from where it had been parked all day previously. It was Sunday night, so there was no manager on duty, but the attendant reached him by phone. He immediately contended I had given them the car in this condition, which of course was ludicrous (it's a specialty car that is pampered to say the least). He was contentious, rude, impatient, condescending, and entirely uninterested in exploring reasonable optional explanations for what had happened, simply ignoring any question I posed that related to why my car was moved, why he hadn't said anything to me about the condition of the car if indeed that was his position - and never anything close to "we're sorry for your inconvenience" (I needed to drive home some 95 miles that night). We got some assistance from the security guard (the loan of a flashlight) and we were able to remove the loose piece (the father of the groom in his tux and I on our backs under the car) so that car was safely drivable. The only one to offer any pleasantness was the attendant whose English wasn't great, but his gentlemanly-ness was not impaired "I'm so sorry for this inconvenience, whatever the cause was". What a different conversation it would have been if his boss had started his phone call with that. While it was pointed out to me that the valet service is a separate company, subcontracted by the hotel, the experience is all the responsibility of the hotel. Our overall experience was ugly - we're local (SoCal) and have the opportunity to refer visitors often. Laguna Beach is a great place - visit it by all means. Just stay away from this disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelinDadfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I'm very surprised to hear of your disappointment. Our team works hard to make sure that all of our guests feel at home here in Laguna Beach, and the attitude you described is completely out of the ordinary. I'm so sorry that you left feeling this way—we should have made sure that we did everything in our power to make this right for you, especially when dealing with the valet. While they are a separate company, I will certainly discuss your comments with them for their future reference. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, and don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to talk.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is the perfect spot if you're budget conscious and/or seeking a place to spend a night or two. It's location is ideal and only a few steps from the beach itself, no matter where you stay in the hotel. Yes, the carpet is older, the paint is worn and it could use some renovation. However, by no means is this place 2nd class. It's staff are friendly, courteous and prompt to any issue or need that arises, including setting up free-of-charge lounge chairs, beach umbrellas and towels. The valet are fast and have your car ready in moments. The beds/sheets are clean. The walls are a little thin, so just a heads-up to couples ;) You can hear the ocean from your room, as well. Completely relaxing!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side offer no room-view of the ocean. If that's your desire, upgrade to a west-faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
There's nothing better than being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves! I'm so happy to hear that you were able to unwind with us, and that you loved every minute of your stay. Thanks for the kind words, and keep us in mind next time you need to get away!

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The only stop on our trip with no record of my booking!!
I felt really disappointed too as this was the last stop on our trip and one which I had been having twitter conversations with the hotel since our booking in July.
We were kept waiting whist Akiko checked the computer for our booking. it took 20 mins to sort and to apologise Akiko upgraded us to room 505 a junior suite with Ocean View.
I had booked a Beach front room but would have been allocated a room in a different block of the hotel (REEF). Akiko explained that these rooms hadn't been brought as up to date as those in Surf Wing and if you look at the hotel website you can see this
The hotel has a welcoming lobby that is beautifully decorated and furnished. The hotel rooms are in separate blocks on the site.
We were delighted with our room in SURFING WING. It was a corner suite directly above the bungalows with stunning views of the bay and Ocean
The room is decorated in a contemporary style and we loved the bar, bar stools and kitchen with fridge and coffee machine
The bathroom was small with shower so I took over part of the kitchen for all of my stuff!
The glass doors open up onto a large balcony with table and chairs
We were delighted with our upgrade but if I'd paid for this then the noise from others partying in the bungalows below would have bugged me.
Breakfast is not included and you pay for valet parking.
WI Fi is free and you get discounts at some restaurants and shops in Laguna when you show them your key card
There are steep steps to the beach
There is a pool and hot tub which we didn't use - didn't look inviting, overlooked by motel style rooms and in the shadows- besides look at the beach!!
It was perfect for our three night stay and would make a cool weekend break for the young or young at heart
I have popped on a pic of the hotel site map

Room Tip: High up on rooms 700+ in SURF WING ought to do it. Also if you get a corner room you wont be overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallluxuryitem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback. Although we are aware that there are a few areas in need of improvement, it's very helpful to have input like yours as we move forward. Still, it seems like you enjoyed your stay, and we couldn't be happier to hear that. Thank you, and hopefully your next trip is worthy of the five stars you deserve.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family and I chose this hotel for the great price and location. Originally, I booked a standard village front room. The lady at the front desk was super friendly and accommodating. Upgrading was not in my budget and we were just happy with the location of the property. Upon checking into our room we were able to get a glimpse of an ocean front room. Wow!!!! Breath taking. So we upgraded one night of our 2 nights here. Although, not in my budget...it was worth every penny. The room was fabulous, view unforgettable. We slept great with the waves crashing in the beach. Thanks for an amazing trip!!! My girls and I have already spread the word and all our pics to family, friends and all of Facebook.

Room Tip: We booked a standard village room. The room was okay....but had the chance to see a ocean front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Breathtaking, indeed! We're so lucky to get to wake up to this beautiful view every morning, and we're thrilled that you and your family loved it, too. Thanks for staying with us, Robin, and for spreading the word to your family and friends. We can't wait to welcome all of you back again!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I chose this hotel for the price we got and really didn't expect to like it. My husband and I stayed in Laguna Beach because my daughter and son in law moved to their first house near by and we came to help.We only needed a clean bed but got so much more. On arrival we tried to get a renovated room, but they were all taken. We had the old motel type room, but the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.He gave us a room with an ocean view.
The room was old but well decorated and the bed was heavenly.Great sheets and pillows.
Our next door neighbors decided to party late one night, and as soon as we reported it, we had silence.
The first night, we were really bothered by the air conditioner noise, but when we got used to it it was great white noise.The sound was constant, not the alternating loud and soft of most cheap motels.
The room had everything we needed including a hair dryer, shampoo and conditioner, great towels and a coffee maker with coffee.
We even went in the hot tub one night and it was the biggest I've seen with the perfect temp.
Very clean with towels, and no one else in it.
The staff recommended excellent restaurants for breakfast and dinner.
The common areas are very beachy looking with a nostalgic 50's feel.
We loved it and would stay there again if in that area.

Room Tip: at least try to face the ocean to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsoncnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
After helping your daughter and son-in-law move to their new home, it was our pleasure to help you unwind! Sounds like you and your husband did just that, and we're thrilled to hear it. Thanks for the fantastic review, and be sure to come back and see us next time you're in our neck of the woods!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing