We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Preparations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed July 1, 2013

In the midst of trying to get a wedding planned in California and living in Arizona making a trip to "the golden state" is like a mini vacation. We luckily located at super deal for a room at the Pacific Edge.

Since we were traveling we arrived before check in and advised if our room was ready we would be happy to check in. The gentleman advised that the room was not ready and asked for a contact number that they could reach me at once ready...they asked for priority cleaning. I also shared with the gentleman at front desk that we were scoping out the hotel for our stay during our wedding.

While we waited for our room to be prepped we visited the Beach house restaurant. The view from the balcony was nice although the food wasn't too great. We ordered the grilled kabobs with steak and shrimp and the steak was over done. We also ordered a Caesar salad and when it was delivered some of the romaine lettuce was wilted.

Once I received the call we were provided a room in the reef tower which was amazingly close to the beach! The room was spacious with a walk in closet and separate shower and Jacuzzi tub! Once we settled in we went to the beach and we were serviced by a kind young man named Taylor. He gathered long chairs and towels per our request. We were so pleased with the location and service that we have decided to make this our hotel of choice for when we go in August to tie the knot!!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the beach are nice and quiet...and of course a few steps away from getting some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lissette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We are beyond elated to be a part of your wedding, Lissette! On behalf of our entire team, thank you so much for allowing us to take part in the celebration. Good luck with the rest of your wedding planning, and we'll see you in August!

Congratulations!
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Like many of the other reviews I must agree that the rooms are pretty standard and in tough condition. Not at all 5 star until you walk out on your deck and see the view. The location and service are what make this hotel. The staff go over the top to ensure that you have a great time and I would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimWentworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

It's so rewarding to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, Kim. From our friendly staff to our gorgeous ocean views, it sounds like you had the ultimate beach getaway! That said, we wish that your room had left you with a better impression, but we know that our renovations will wow you. Until next time, thanks for the kind words. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This first-class hotel is right on the sand! Rooms are spacious and airy, especially the beachfront rooms and the junior suites. Windows galore, udpated furnishings with coffee maker and fridge. Hotel staff has been excellently trained, from the valet to housekeeping to front desk. Front Office Manager Brian Sullivan was extremely accommodating when our wedding party needed early check-in to dress for the occasion. Our group of 30 or so loved this property, and we can't wait to come back for another stay!

Room Tip: It's worth the splurge on a junior suite; wrap around balcony, sliding glass doors to let in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lake Arrowhead Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Wow! Sounds like you had a fabulous time here in Laguna Beach! Thanks for soaking up the sun with us, and for the stellar review. Come back and see us next time you need to get away!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here last week for three nights. The staff were nice and accommodating. The room we stayed in was not renovated yet, and it was very old and tired looking. We didn't mind, because we were there for the view. We were oceanfront, which was amazing. The cabana boys are sweet, and will look after you while you are relaxing by the ocean. The location is perfect, as it is right in downtown laguna beach. Overall, we had a great time, and we are picky people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasmyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Between our location, our friendly staff and the ocean breeze, it sounds like you had a fantastic time with us, Jasmyn! We couldn't be happier to hear it. Thanks for the kind words, and keep us in mind next time you need to get away!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for four nights. After reading so many negative reviews, I was very worried, but it turned out to be a wonderful place to stay. The most important about the room: although older, it was very clean, the beds were comfortable, the televisions were updated, and we had plenty of space to relax and enjoy. Traveling with four young children is never easy (or cheap), but this hotel provided great value and great amenities! It was so nice to have chairs, umbrellas, towels, and toys waiting for us at the beach each day. We also thoroughly enjoyed the pools and hot tub. Being right on the beach and close to everything in town is a big plus, too. Overall, we were extremely happy we chose to stay at Pacific Edge and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 681kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Sounds like you had a fabulous time in Laguna Beach! Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to sing our praises—we're glad that we exceeded your expectations! Keep us in mind next time you're looking to get away.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

First of all the staff was great over the phone prior to our trip. Spoke w/ a variety of people including Christina Lomanaco who is a Sales Manager there. Marissa at the front desk and Aikiko were always very pleasant and helpful as well.
We were in the Surf Tower and the waves literally hit the bottom of the building. The sound of the ocean was wonderful and very calming and relaxing after long days out and about. My wife loved the two sinks in the room which was helpful when four of us are trying to get ready. Big spacious fridge in the room and all the amenties you would expect plus the a great balcony w/ some deck chairs to sun or just to unwind.
On Saturday nights they show a movie poolside for the kids which was a great treat. They swam and watched Nemo from the pool and enjoyed complimentary S'Mores prior to the movie. Beyond the amazing view and location I greatly enjoyed having beach attendants available to get chairs/towels/toys. Ben & Taylor took great care of us and these guys worked non stop and were always smiling. Make sure you toke them for all they do!
Activities desk helped us with booking a cruise on Father's Day. All the staff we encountered were nothing less than delightful. Valet was always very quick w/ the car and you are in walking distance to a grocery store, cafes, and boutiques.
Between the great views and the capacity to lounge on very comfortable chairs beachside this place was amazing for my family.
We have already begun searching our calendar for a future trip. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you dont want to do stairs. No elevators which can be tricky with kids.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Wow, Michael! Sounds like the ultimate getaway! Thanks for relaxing with us, and for your kind words. We can't wait to have you back again!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Everything about the service was wonderful. Javid and Marissa at the front desk were very friendly and extremely helpful. Every request I made of them was handled promptly and with enthusiasm. I was even able to check in early! Such a relief to not have to wait around! Subsequently, we were able to get down to the beach that day. Taylor down on the beach was also great. Even though it was starting to get late and he probably needed to start cleaning up, he made us feel welcome and provided great service. We really felt taken care of on this trip! The only thing that beats the location of this property is the service they provide! We will definitely be back due to your great staff!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesLaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Javid, Marissa and Taylor are going to be so happy to hear from you! Thanks for staying with us, and for the shout out to our team. We can't wait to welcome you back again next year—or sooner!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
617 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $151 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing