We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night with our two kids (5 and 7). It was nice to park the car and be able to walk to the main part of town very easily and have the beach right outside the hotel. We would have loved to stay longer if time allowed. Perhaps the nicest perk for us was the ability to reserve a VIP tour at the nearby Pacific Marine Mammal Center, a hospital for sea lions and seals. You have to call yourself and make the reservation, but it was so worth it. I enjoyed it as much as my kids. It's a small center, but they do amazing work and I appreciate staying at a hotel that supports them. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We're delighted that you had a chance to visit the Pacific Marine Mammal Center, Liz! It's one of our favorite places, and we're sure that your kids loved every minute. Thank you for supporting this fantastic cause, and for sharing your kind words about your stay with us. We hope to welcome all of you back again soon!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We travelled many miles to reach this beautiful destination a perfect location.........but with a trailer park room, I was astounded to realise we were paying $400 per night, honestly it had a wood chip effect on the wall!.
Everything was warped or paint was flaking !
I spoke to the manager Brian, who stated the views were great, but surely you cannot rely on just a view?.
He was decent enough, but I would avoid this hotel like a plague!. It was like a British butlins. Then the hot water stopped working! ..... For 12 hours , if you turned any tap on it smelled like an open sewer!! Disgusting!!
Avoid, avoid avoid!
I never used trip advisor before booking this hotel, I will next time

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dwell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

While I'm pleased to hear that you were happy with Brian's service, I wish that we had been able to show you a more relaxing vacation. The tap water and chipped paint you described fall far beneath our standards, and as such we would have been happy to move you to another room. That said, we will certainly keep your thoughts in mind as we work to improve for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to leave such candid feedback.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with our three boys and had a wonderful time. The hotel, like every building on the beach is older than some may hope, but we found our rooms to,be updated, clean and the location directly on the beach cannot be beat. The staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful, especially those working the beach. Our kids lovd the access to the sand as well a the pool,and hottub. Definately request a room on the water. In the end, a great location for central Laguna, a nice hotel and we'll look forward to staying there again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Drew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Sounds like the whole family had a fantastic time with us! Thanks for coming away with us, Drew. We'd love to welcome you back again next year, or sooner!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had my daughters 1st birthday party in the Bungalows recently and WOW what a success. The food was amazing the SERVICE was phenomenal. We have been coming here since they started the cabanas, now Bunglows! We did , New years, Halloween and other birthdays here at The Bungalow on The Deck. But now that they are all remodeled and newly staffed with professionals , I honestly was impressed! The servers go above and beyond what I expected, everyone was super friendly and very accommodating throughout the day. From checking in with the staff at the front desk to the time we spend down at the Bungalows, Christina really made our experience memorable! She let us arrive a little bit earlier then the check in time of 11am, and even helped me decorate the Bungalow with streamers and balloons. My daughters 1st birthday was a FABULOUS celebration, we had family and friends there visiting from out of town and they were all saying how great of a day it was. We look forward to coming back soon! We cant wait to book again, thanks to the Pacific Edge Hotel and staff for making our day at the Beach a luxurious one!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SierraLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

We're so glad that we could help you celebrate such a momentous occasion! Thank you for making us a part of this special day, and for sharing your kind words—Christina will be beyond thrilled!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The carpets in the room literally had sand embedded into it and had an overwhelming smell of mildew. They are in dire need of a good renovation, the buildings are just too old. The only saving grace is that it is located directly on the beach. Not very good for a family, but maybe acceptable for young college students looking for an economy beach hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bzika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

The conditions you've described fall far beneath our standards, and we apologize. We wish that we had been able to move you to a room that better suited your needs, but we appreciate your candor. Still, we're delighted that you enjoyed our location, and we hope to have another chance to wow you once our renovations are complete.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Upon check in I received an oustanding welcome from Javid he was very professional and extremelly couretous. Javid took the time to make sure all of my needs were met and even offered suggestions for great places in the area to dine. I enjoyed the view from my room and the overall stay was very pleasant. The view of the ocean from my room was oustanding and the overall decor made my stay even more enjoyable. I would like to suggest a couple of improvements. overall cleaniness, issues with TV not turning on, and the walls were thin.
yet again what impressed me the most was the oustanding Customer Service I received from Javid. He is an assest to your hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selphssooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I'm thrilled to hear Javid made your stay so memorable, and I'll be sure to pass along your compliments. Thanks as well for your constructive criticism—we'll certainly put it to good use. If you're ever back in Laguna Beach, I hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I received a voucher to experience an amazing getaway at Pacific Edge Hotel for a day with friends through a charity event participated in. I must admit my first thought was that it was going to be some cheesy pass for a day... But I'm happy to say it couldn't be further From the truth! I was in contact with Christina my planner and she set me up with the Fox racing Bungalow for the day and made every transition a walk in the park. As for the staff I must say was just as Fanaminal with their full, kind hospitality. I've been to a lot of upscale locations and I must say the service I received at Pacific Edge far exceeded any expectations. Bottom line is my friends and I had a blast and if your looking for a fun getaway call them up and see for yourself...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Happy to hear you and your group had such a pleasant stay with us! Friendly, accommodating service is one of our top priorities, so it's great to know you found our staff so helpful. The next time you're in Laguna Beach, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
787 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
613 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $148 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing