We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to unwind” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot to unwind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We (me, hubby, 4 yr old child) took a 3 day breather from the daily grind down to Laguna Beach and this was the perfect place to be. Ocean front, walking distance to everything, enough amenities to make stay great. It's NOT a luxury hotel, but they don't charge luxury hotel prices anyway, so it's OK. We were pleasantly surprised that we got an adjoining room with 2 double beds in it, so our child who got a fever right when we got there, could sleep comfortably and her constant coughing didn't wake me and hubby up at night. Instead the sounds of the waves crashing lulled us to sleep :)
There were a couple of glitches (staff was mostly friendly but for 1, the bathroom in the pool area was disgusting but it was not the hotel's fault-someone just went nuts with the t.p., and the bathroom kind of smelled but I just figured it's the beach plumbing -- rusty pipes. Also the cable was not HD but hopefully ppl spend more time staring out at the ocean than at the TV here). The ocean front beach had everything: sand toys, boogie boards, volleyballs, chairs/chaise lounges/umbrellas, towels of course, and lots of other stuff you don't always get like water bottles. Overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get OCEAN FRONT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mortezaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Glad we could help you unwind! It sounds like you and your family had a fabulous time here in Laguna Beach, but we're sorry that your little one was feeling a bit under the weather. We'd also like to apologize for the state of our restroom, and we will make sure to remind our team to be more vigilant. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and for the lovely review. We hope to welcome all of you back again next year—or sooner!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    371
    165
    141
    129
See reviews for
382
525
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of downtown Laguna, and right on the beach. The pool & jacuzzi area is nice to have as well. The hotel was updated a couple years ago, so it's in nice condition. The rooms are basic, but nice. You have chairs and umbrellas available for you on the beach too. If you're looking for a place to stay in the heart of Laguna and not planning on spending your days in the hotel room, this is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten_Y326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We're in the perfect place to soak up the sun! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, Kirsten, and we're happy to report that we are currently in the midst of renovating our rooms. Hopefully your next visit will prove to be even better! Until then, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my second stay at Pacific Edge, and I hoped that the rooms had been brought up to par along with the rates, but not so much.

Stayed in a beach front king in the Reef building, and the view from the deck was great, but not so much the rest of the room. Bed, linens and towels are good quailty, but the rest of the room, from the furniture to the bath to the TV, were not. Walls are thin, and you'll hear everyone on the decks next to yours.

Before you stay here, make sure you understand exactly where your room is located (end rooms on the beach are a bit more private), and make sure it's in an updated building. Not all buildings have elevators, and the worn, rotted carpets, rusted fittings, and general lack of attention to detail can be disappointing on the way to your room.

But you can be right on the beach, with an incredible view from your deck, and an easy walk to most everywhere in Laguna.

Room Tip: Beach front on a corner, and make sure it's in a recently updated wing. If stairs are an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tphinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Although we're thrilled that you enjoyed being steps away from the beach, we wish that your room had left you with a more positive impression. Your comments are concerning, but we are glad to report that we are currently in the midst of making the necessary upgrades for our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to wow you with one of our newly remodeled rooms, but until then, we will certainly keep your words in mind as we work to better ourselves. Thank you.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Laguna Beach at least twice per year for over twenty years and, when we don't rent a house, we usually stay at this old favorite. This trip it was just the two of us to celebrate my birthday. We stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms in the surf wing. I can recall staying in this exact room when it was done up in bright/loud beach colors (big bird yellow and bright sky blue). They have mercifully dialed it back to earth tones and it makes a big difference. Very tasteful. The location is unequaled for proximity to the beach and downtown. The only thing I can even come close to complaining about is the $24 per day parking charge. When we come here we never get back in our car until check out and the parking used to be included. My sore neck reminds me to suggest pillow top matresses to go along with the room upgrades.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our new look—it definitely offers a more relaxing experience for our guests. That said, we're sorry that you woke up feeling a bit stiff. We'll certainly look into this as we continue making the necessary upgrades for our guests. Still, it sounds like you had a fabulous time! Thanks for allowing us to be a part of your celebration, Kevin. We'd love to welcome you and your wife back again soon!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were very happy with both the location of the hotel to all the shops and restaurants (in walking distance) as well as the fact that it sits right on the beach, all you do is bring your bathing suit and they supply towels and beach chairs. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikkitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
There's no better place to soak up the sunshine! We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the kind words, and let us know if there's anything we can do to show you a five-star experience!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikeston, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed a week and the location is very good. Walking distance to Ralph's grocery and restaurants and shops. Scenery along the coast was fabulous.Parking is awful and a tight squeeze no matter where you park. Staff is friendly and helpful, very courteous.I saw dolphins and surfers from the balcony every day. Beach was a bit too busy for my taste, but you never know until you get to a destination whether the beach is secluded or crowded.

Room Tip: My room was oceanfront, great views, but the room interior and building exterior are a bit worn. Cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outtahere0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We're sorry to hear that our beach was a bit too busy for your liking—with the warmer weather, we do see a bit more congestion! Still, we're delighted that you were able to watch the dolphins playing in the surf from your balcony, and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you! We'd love to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Although the location is great, there are better choices in the same price range. The rooms have considerable deferred maintenance and are not cleaned well. Cheap (temporary?) fixtures and patio doors literally falling off their hinges. This is not a quaint hotel like many older beach hotels can be; this is a dumpy hotel with a pretty lobby. This was true of all the rooms that we saw (we were here for a multi family event). Also, the free wifi does not work unless the lobby puts you through to their "IT" department to connect. You will have to call them everyday for each device. The interior alley were the valet sets up is an echo chamber of conversations all day/night so all you hear is chatter and not the waves. Very limited privacy so this would be a terrible romantic get away. Try one of laguna's many other quaint hotels.

Room Tip: The suites with kitchens have no cooking pots/pans or dishes. You will have to bring those yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It's disappointing that you left with such a poor impression. While we do want our lobby to wow our guests, we want them to feel the same way about their rooms. We apologize, but we know that we can do better. We will certainly keep your words in mind as we move forward.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing