We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, very friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Edge for 5 nights and were very pleased with our stay. Being the "baller-on-a-budget" that I am, we did not stay in an ocean view room - but our room was very nice despite being on the rather busy street, so somewhat noisy. However, if you can afford to get an ocean view you should do it. The staff were incredibly friendly, everyone said hello and smiled at us. This hotel is pet-friendly, a big bonus. There are so many restaurants and shops nearby you can walk to everything. Check out Costa Azul surf shop, Laguna Beach Cyclery, and Taco Loco.

Room Tip: Village suites are on the noisy street, but they are still nice. If you are on a budget stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're proud to offer our guests a fabulous beach side getaway, no matter their budget! Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your kind words. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    371
    165
    141
    129
See reviews for
382
525
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed just for a night while I was in town but my stay with the Pacific Edge was wonderful. I had an ocean view room and it wasn't just ocean view...I was above the ocean. The staff was very friendly. The bed was comfortable and the room itself was nice. There was a large flat screen tv. The only thing that wasn't great is the lack of storage area on the bathroom. I had to keep my makeup on the floor which was not ideal.
I will be sure to stay here each year on my annual visit to Laguna Beach, CA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Bree! Between our friendly staff and your beautiful ocean view, it sounds like you had a wonderful vacation. We couldn't be happier to hear that—thank you! We'll see you next year—or sooner! :)

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights,we paid top dollar and on one hand it's worth the money as you get a large modern room which overlooks the pacific ocean complete with dolphins,but basically the owners of this place are living off the view,all other aspects of the hotel are poor. We are smokers and thought great we have a balcony so we don't have to go mooching around for a place to smoke,but we were informed by the cleaner that smoking not allowed on balcony,she said if we get caught we will get a fine,funny really as everyone was going out for a crafty smoke.we went down to the hotel restaurant for breakfast, it was far from clean,the bar in the evening was quite nice but when we went out for a smoke we got hassled by a man who made me feel very uncomfortable,none of us are wimps but he was strange,maybe holiday makers don't want people like him hanging around,we went back in the bar and watched the mice running up and down, yes real live mice,our kids popped to the pool the next day and were back in a flash as someone had taken a dump in the pool,don't think it was an accident as they finished the job off in the hot tub,now I'm not having a go at you guys for that but then again if your staff were more on the ball it may have been discovered before our kids found it.also had to ask twice for towels at pool side.you may read this and think I am moaning on but like I say service really is very poor for what we paid ,your in the hotel business that's what you should be good at but afraid to say your not, lower your prices and people might say your value for money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozzie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
As a hotel intent on offering outstanding service, your comments are quite concerning. On behalf of the entire staff, we want to extend our sincere and humble apologies. We would like to continue discussing your experience in detail. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you would like to continue the conversation. We want to make this right.

Best wishes,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
143bki
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had read all of the review, recent and old. I decided to trust the recent review stating that the rooms had been renovated and the service was great. We had also had a great experience with the Joie de vivre chain before. We had booked a partial ocean view room. The room looked like it had been attempted to be renovated however there were still holes in the walls and rust in the showers and toilet barely flushed, the phone did not work, the temperature control did not work, the tv was not angled right to watch tv while in bed and the layout of the room was terrible! We paid for a partial ocean view which was beautiful be you could only see it from the side of the room that the bed was not on. Who does that? I would have loved to push the bed over to the other side of the room so that we could have laid in bed in the morning and watch the ocean. Overall i though the room was way over priced for the experience we had. On top of the room the hotel requires you to use valet, which I understand charging for parking but requiring guests to use valet is a little ridiculous, I do not mind tipping people but when you are leaving the hotel quite often by car you feel obligated and i would love not to feel obligated to use valet and have to tip 3 times a day you know! I have had great experiences with the other joie de vivre hotels just no this one. The bed was extremely comfortable though and you could hear the ocean through the walls, that was about the only good thing that and the location the location was great.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 143bki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Although we've very happy to hear that you were pleased with our comfortable bed and our beach side location, your description of your stay is disappointing. However, we truly appreciate your feedback—you left a very descriptive account of the layout of your room, and we will certainly utilize those insights as we continue to make the necessary updates for our guests. Thank you for your candor. We hope to have another opportunity to impress you in the near future.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in March 2013. The hotel is old and renovation is done poorly, at least in one of the rooms that we had. The first night we had a room at the road side which was EXTREMELY loud, the room had a bad smell and the bathroom was clean but old and very small. We had asked if there is any way to upgrade the room and get a room at the beach side. It would be an additional $75 per night which was not an option for us. The village rooms are not located at the beach directly but at a side street and some low rise buildings are completely blocking the view of the rooms in level 1 &2. You have to walk through a small passageway to get to the beach.
After we couldn't sleep most of the first night we decided to go for a room that is at the other side of the building to get at least some sleep during our short vacation! The same room that was offered a night before for an additional $75 was now available for an additional $25. The second room was much bigger, had a nice view of the ocean and didn't smell. However, the rooms are connected through locked doors and the walls are pretty thin. So the noise level again was not very low but much better than the road side rooms. Breakfast was offered at an independent restaurant at the beach front. You get a discount on the bill if you show your hotel card. The view was wonderful; you sit basically on the beach on a balcony. The quality of the breakfast was very average. There are coffee shops in the area that probably offer a better price/value breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariam_28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
While it seems that we were able to find a room that better suited your needs, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We were very surprised to learn of the odd smell you encountered in your first room. Although we have yet to receive any similar reports, we will certainly investigate this further. That said, we are currently in the midst of making the necessary updates for our guests, and we apologize if we had not yet begun work on your suite. It seems that we still have work to do, and we will certainly keep that in mind as we move forward. Thank you for your feedback, Mariam.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

It's safe to say that I'm a pretty stressed person. It's not easy for me to "let go" and enjoy relaxation time, but it took NO EFFORT to do that at Pacific Edge Hotel! My boyfriend and I visited Laguna Beach for the weekend, for his birthday. I'm so glad we did. We both had such a great time. We rented a "beach front room," at a pretty affordable price. It was definitely worth every penny! The front desk staff was super friendly and accommodating too. They seemed to remember all of the guests, so it wasn't like you had to "start over" every time you walked up there. There's a taco bell right next door, and a ralphs right across the street, so you don't have to feel obligated to spend a bunch of money on "Laguna Beach" food. They do, however, offer fine dining options, and GREAT room service! The hotel offers valet parking ONLY, so that is both a plus and a minus. It makes it very convenient, but costs $20 / night. I only gave the "sleep quality" 3/5 because I was woken up at various time in the middle of the night by random teenagers yelling and laughing on the beach, right outside my window. I don't blame the hotel for that, but they do have very thin windows. This is also sort of a plus though, because you can fall asleep to the sound of the ocean (without having to leave the window / door open), which is very relaxing. Overall, I would say this trip was a very worthwhile experience. I will definitely be visiting there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen84476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Kristen,

With all the stresses of modern life, it's not hard to see why most folks have trouble unwinding. However, we are absolutely thrilled to hear that you and your boyfriend were able to find some much needed relaxation and peace of mind here in Laguna Beach! Thank you for staying with us, and for the wonderful review. Come back and see us next time you need to get away! :)

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Newly designed rooms, super friendly staff, gorgeous views! Be sure to ask questions when booking your room and you won't be disappointed. It's not the ritz but who needs to spend so much time in their room when you are in paradise?!?! Think beachy chic ;) be sure to bring your own drinks (aka alcohol) to the room... They don't provide room service for drinks. Though there is a bar next door... Just sometimes it would be nice to enjoy a drink in your room or on your balcony without the crowds ;)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenLandry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Beachy chic—that's exactly what we were going for! It sounds like you had a wonderful time enjoying the sun and surf of Laguna Beach. Thank you for staying with us, Jen, and for leaving such excellent tips for fellow travelers. We hope to welcome you back again next year!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing