We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value on the water!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value on the water!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Pacific Edge Hotel is a great value in Laguna Beach located right on the water. The location to restaurants and shopping is the best!! There are several room locations to fit into any budget. We booked a very inexpensive room on the street side which was nice but then asked for an upgrade and for a small fee they gave us a wonderful room with an ocean view. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnG011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Laguna Beach doesn't get any better than this! We're so happy that you were able to enjoy the ocean breezes right from your room. Thank you for staying with us, and for the wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back next year, John!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    370
    165
    141
    129
See reviews for
382
524
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a corner room with our own private balcony deck. We couldn't have asked for a better location. The views from here were spectacular. The bed was very comfortable with nice bedding. But, the room itself is a bit worn around the edges. It definitely did not match the price bracket we paid to stay here. Hopefully, this room is on the list to be renovated soon. It could be very special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Yes, we are in the midst of making the necessary updates for our guests. That said, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and that spectacular view! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We checked in Saturday for a quick getaway in Laguna Beach.
The property is right on PCH....just a bit south of the downtown touristy area.
Javid checked us in, and...after a room upgrade (very nice), went ahead and sent a bottle of wine to our room. Followed by a SECOND bottle an hour or so later....even a different label!
The room (102), was one room off the beach....with a beach view from the window, and the sound of the surf in the air.
The room was a bit dated...Joie de Vivre purchases older properties, and updates them.
They have started on another wing, but not this one yet.
However, it was clean....good bed. Dated cart type tv.
The property has no parking, you share valet with the Beachouse resaurant, 20 bucks a night.
Typical Laguna Beach...there is no parking anywhere in this town.
The Hotel is kind of in peices...a wing here, another across a little alley of a street...again typical of Laguna squeezing every inch of land for development....so it takes a little getting used to the layout.
I do reccomend this Hotel, and will watch for the renovations to be completed.

Room Tip: Only a few ocean front rooms....so book early if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fleeteric06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! While it sounds like you enjoyed our beautiful ocean views, we feel that you may have been a bit disappointed with your room. As you mentioned, we are in the midst of renovations to our waterfront rooms, and we hope to complete them soon. Hopefully your next visit will prove to be a 5-star experience! Until then, thank you for taking the time to review us. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sw Grand Mound,
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel's website is very deceptive! The rooms are less then Motel 6 quality, there was a slope to the floor, ripped carpet, it smelled like mildew, had water damage on the ceiling, a view of construction, and what appeared to be a full size bed for two adults. I had to pay an upgrade charge just to have a room I was willing to sleep in for one night. I didn't want to loose my money but felt like leaving and going home. The towels are the size of wash cloths and are rough, I found hair in the bathroom. I want my money back! They dont even have central air and heat so we were freezing the whole time. The staff was pleasant but the hotel is so run down, not clean, and old it doesn't matter if the service is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbj_002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
It's very disappointing to hear about this. We would never want our guests to feel as though they were forced to stay in an unfinished room, and I apologize if you did. Your description of your room is not only embarrassing, but unacceptable. It seems that this particular room was overlooked, so I will speak to our team about this immediately. In the meantime, don't hesitate to call if you'd like to continue this conversation. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Best wishes,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

By the looks of the photos on their website the Laguna Beach Pacific Edge Hotel seems like it would be fresh, trendy and a nice ocean-front accommodation. We have stayed in Laguna Beach many times but this was our first time staying at the Pacific Edge Hotel. When we arrived we immediately noticed the property and the pools seemed very old "motel-ish" feeling. When we got inside our deluxe ocean front room with adjoining room for the kids, we were very disappointed in the condition. The view from the King bedroom balcony was spectacular, however, our room which was the closest to their bar/restaurant was extremely noisy and lacked any type of privacy as guests eating outside seemed as if they were right with us on our balcony. There was also a bar stereo speaker attached to our balcony so ALL day and evening we heard loud music in our room. When we finally complained about the manager turned it off for us be it was back on the very next day. Both the King room and the two Queen adjoining room were very run-down inside, including the bathrooms. Much of it was general maintenance that was obviously lacking. We complained and asked if there was a room that was more updated and less run-down but the second room they showed us looked just the same if not a little worse and that particular two-Queen bed adjoining room smelled really bad. We didn't realize this was a pet-friendly hotel either and many of the other people staying there did have dogs on the property and the beach, one of which ran into our room and had to be chased out by it's owner. The beach that is in front of the Pacific Edge is beautiful and perfect for the kids to play and run in the surf but seeing all the dogs do their "business" on it grossed me out to think our kids were burying themselves in that sand and building sand castles. Overall, we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
As proud residents of Laguna Beach, we take great strides to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable at all times. We're sorry to learn of your disappointment, especially since you were so looking forward to your stay.

We wish that we had been able to find you an available room to your liking. However, we find it prudent to mention that we are currently in the midst of making the necessary updates for our guests. This is an ongoing project, so we would be happy to hear any further suggestions you may have in regard to improving our suites.

We want all of our gets to feel at home, even our four-legged friends. While we can certainly understand your frustration, we have no influence on the care-taking styles of our visiting pet owners on public beaches. Still, we will see what steps we can take to make sure that all of our rules are communicated clearly to create a relaxing environment for everyone. Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. We hope to have another opportunity to earn your business next time you're looking to get away.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are clean and very well kept. This hotel has rooms and suites right on the beach or gardenview/partial views that are steps away from the beach. We stayed in the Beachfront King (room #124) for 2 nights and it was so beautiful. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. I will stay here again and will recommend it to everyone I know!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Yes, our ocean view is absolutely breathtaking! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you took the time to share your kind words. Thank you, Natasha! We look forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We didn't sleep here, but enjoyed one of their beachfront surf cabanas for the day. This was a spectacular experience. You get a private beachfront room and deck with easy beach access, your own server, a beach helper, and everything the hotel has to offer. Great place to have a girlfriend's getaway, baby or bridal shower, or entertain friends for a day at the beach. Walk to downtown Laguna Beach in just minutes from this amazing location!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Whether you're staying several nights or just for a quick day at the beach, we're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for the wonderful review. We'd love to welcome you and the girls back next time you're looking to get away!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing