We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Nearby Hotels
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn At Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Laguna Beach Lodge(Laguna Beach)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Beach Inn(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Brisas Hotel(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Ranch at Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$136
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Casa del Camino(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$209
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$269
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Montage Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
$795
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,479)
Filter reviews
1,479 results
Traveler rating
580
397
197
159
146
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
397
197
159
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreef buildingocean frontsurf wingdeck restaurantdriftwood kitchenoceanfront roomvalet servicelounge chairssound of the waveshigh tideupon checkthe entire staffshops and restaurantsgrocery storebalconybeachlaguna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 1,479 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

By the looks of the photos on their website the Laguna Beach Pacific Edge Hotel seems like it would be fresh, trendy and a nice ocean-front accommodation. We have stayed in Laguna Beach many times but this was our first time staying at the Pacific Edge Hotel. When we arrived we immediately noticed the property and the pools seemed very old "motel-ish" feeling. When we got inside our deluxe ocean front room with adjoining room for the kids, we were very disappointed in the condition. The view from the King bedroom balcony was spectacular, however, our room which was the closest to their bar/restaurant was extremely noisy and lacked any type of privacy as guests eating outside seemed as if they were right with us on our balcony. There was also a bar stereo speaker attached to our balcony so ALL day and evening we heard loud music in our room. When we finally complained about the manager turned it off for us be it was back on the very next day. Both the King room and the two Queen adjoining room were very run-down inside, including the bathrooms. Much of it was general maintenance that was obviously lacking. We complained and asked if there was a room that was more updated and less run-down but the second room they showed us looked just the same if not a little worse and that particular two-Queen bed adjoining room smelled really bad. We didn't realize this was a pet-friendly hotel either and many of the other people staying there did have dogs on the property and the beach, one of which ran into our room and had to be chased out by it's owner. The beach that is in front of the Pacific Edge is beautiful and perfect for the kids to play and run in the surf but seeing all the dogs do their "business" on it grossed me out to think our kids were burying themselves in that sand and building sand castles. Overall, we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

As proud residents of Laguna Beach, we take great strides to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable at all times. We're sorry to learn of your disappointment, especially since you were so looking forward to your stay.

We wish that we had been able to find you an available room to your liking. However, we find it prudent to mention that we are currently in the midst of making the necessary updates for our guests. This is an ongoing project, so we would be happy to hear any further suggestions you may have in regard to improving our suites.

We want all of our gets to feel at home, even our four-legged friends. While we can certainly understand your frustration, we have no influence on the care-taking styles of our visiting pet owners on public beaches. Still, we will see what steps we can take to make sure that all of our rules are communicated clearly to create a relaxing environment for everyone. Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. We hope to have another opportunity to earn your business next time you're looking to get away.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are clean and very well kept. This hotel has rooms and suites right on the beach or gardenview/partial views that are steps away from the beach. We stayed in the Beachfront King (room #124) for 2 nights and it was so beautiful. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. I will stay here again and will recommend it to everyone I know!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Yes, our ocean view is absolutely breathtaking! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you took the time to share your kind words. Thank you, Natasha! We look forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We didn't sleep here, but enjoyed one of their beachfront surf cabanas for the day. This was a spectacular experience. You get a private beachfront room and deck with easy beach access, your own server, a beach helper, and everything the hotel has to offer. Great place to have a girlfriend's getaway, baby or bridal shower, or entertain friends for a day at the beach. Walk to downtown Laguna Beach in just minutes from this amazing location!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Whether you're staying several nights or just for a quick day at the beach, we're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for the wonderful review. We'd love to welcome you and the girls back next time you're looking to get away!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a package deal for two nights. Overall the staff and location are best part of this property. The reception staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are old and small but I liked the beachy and retro vibe it had going on. The location on a small, intimate part of the beach is outstanding - makes up for the old rooms. I mean come on, you're right on the beach, get your booty outside! When you want a break from the ocean (tide can get a bit rough) the pool and hot tub are a nice touch. Complimentary lounge chairs, umbrellas and beach towels for guest use - yes! We dined next door at the Beach House for an early breakfast - the setting, server and breakfast dishes were divine. Hopefully as the property gains its footing they can reinvest some of the profit in to the rooms - get rid of the tube tvs to get some extra room space - and update/replace the creepy stained curtains. I did ding them a a star because their valet staff was lazy in parking our car. Overall, I'd return, good value and great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flacaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Laguna Beach is the ultimate place to let loose! Between our beautiful beach, relaxing pool and mellow vibe, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for leaving such great feedback about our interiors—we are working to make the necessary updates, so we'll be sure to remember your words as we renovate! We'd love to welcome you back again soon, Sandra. Until then, thank you once again!

Best wishes,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel.

Pros:
- Location! Right on a beautiful beach with umbrellas and chairs.
- Location! Walk to most everything in Laguna.
- Super friendly, awesome staff. Javid was always so nice and helpful.
- Cute rooms, nice Lather brand products, fun vibe.
- Really reasonable price for our stay during a sale.
- Pet-friendly for no fee

Cons:
- You get some traffic noise in rooms on street (village view)
- No balcony or patio in our room.
- Older hotel
- Very small pools
- Our first room stunk of cigarette smoke but they moved us quickly and apologetically.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge I bet the ocean view rooms have an amazing view!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Sounds like you had a blast! Whether it's good or bad, we are always happy to hear our guests feedback. It's candor like yours that allows us to become even better! Thank you for taking the time to share your story. We hope to have you back again soon!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews