We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, terrific service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We didn't sleep here, but enjoyed one of their beachfront surf cabanas for the day. This was a spectacular experience. You get a private beachfront room and deck with easy beach access, your own server, a beach helper, and everything the hotel has to offer. Great place to have a girlfriend's getaway, baby or bridal shower, or entertain friends for a day at the beach. Walk to downtown Laguna Beach in just minutes from this amazing location!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Whether you're staying several nights or just for a quick day at the beach, we're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for the wonderful review. We'd love to welcome you and the girls back next time you're looking to get away!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a package deal for two nights. Overall the staff and location are best part of this property. The reception staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are old and small but I liked the beachy and retro vibe it had going on. The location on a small, intimate part of the beach is outstanding - makes up for the old rooms. I mean come on, you're right on the beach, get your booty outside! When you want a break from the ocean (tide can get a bit rough) the pool and hot tub are a nice touch. Complimentary lounge chairs, umbrellas and beach towels for guest use - yes! We dined next door at the Beach House for an early breakfast - the setting, server and breakfast dishes were divine. Hopefully as the property gains its footing they can reinvest some of the profit in to the rooms - get rid of the tube tvs to get some extra room space - and update/replace the creepy stained curtains. I did ding them a a star because their valet staff was lazy in parking our car. Overall, I'd return, good value and great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flacaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Laguna Beach is the ultimate place to let loose! Between our beautiful beach, relaxing pool and mellow vibe, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for leaving such great feedback about our interiors—we are working to make the necessary updates, so we'll be sure to remember your words as we renovate! We'd love to welcome you back again soon, Sandra. Until then, thank you once again!

Best wishes,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel.

Pros:
- Location! Right on a beautiful beach with umbrellas and chairs.
- Location! Walk to most everything in Laguna.
- Super friendly, awesome staff. Javid was always so nice and helpful.
- Cute rooms, nice Lather brand products, fun vibe.
- Really reasonable price for our stay during a sale.
- Pet-friendly for no fee

Cons:
- You get some traffic noise in rooms on street (village view)
- No balcony or patio in our room.
- Older hotel
- Very small pools
- Our first room stunk of cigarette smoke but they moved us quickly and apologetically.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge I bet the ocean view rooms have an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Sounds like you had a blast! Whether it's good or bad, we are always happy to hear our guests feedback. It's candor like yours that allows us to become even better! Thank you for taking the time to share your story. We hope to have you back again soon!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Pacific Edge is a comfortable, older hotel that is a bit funky, but you can't beat the location. The ocean front rooms have an amazing view of the Pacific Ocean and the staff are very friendly. The walk to town along the water is beautiful!

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauran1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

You really can't beat our location, or our ocean views! Thanks for singing our praises, Lauran. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to see our oceanfront room. It was 70's, beachy themed, with a cute little equipped kitchen. The view was stunning and the hotel was clean and the employees were very attentive and polite. The restaurants onsite are wonderful with stunning views. If you don't get an oceanfront room, the have sun cabanas right above the sand with a furnished stocked room to relax. I loved staying in this hotel, I would definitely come back with the family.

Room Tip: corner rooms seem to have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffinjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Yes! Our beach-side cabanas are the perfect place to soak up the sun. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Laguna Beach—thank you for taking the time to share your kind words! We'd love to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

When you get there, the front lobby is nice. The resort is old and the rooms show this, however, the rooms are clean and maintained. The staff are friendly and greet you with smiles. On the most part the front desk staff could answer most questions, they do need to be more familiar with surrounding areas and towns. We took advantage of the two pools and hot tub/spa. They were clean, heated and maintained. Unfortunately for us the hot tub was out of order the last two nights we were there. Our room had a nice kitchenette, but no microwave or pots and pans to use. This should be changed, eating out can get expensive. Could hear the ocean from our room and very little street noise. Our room faced an alley. Would stay again, but would want an ocean view room and perhaps one with a fireplace. Thank you for a nice visit to Laguna Beach, CA.

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars and get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarDeeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. While we're delighted that you enjoyed your time in Laguna Beach, it appears that your room left you with mixed feelings. We're sorry about this, but we would like to point out that we are in the midst of making the necessary upgrades for our guests. As such, we will certainly keep your feedback in mind as we move forward. Thank you for leaving it. We hope to show you a 5-star experience should you decide to return.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The furnishings are a bit dowdy for such an amazing location. But then again, you cant beat the view and the location. The kitchenettes are great; fully equipped, very useful. Bathrooms small.
But the VIEW!! THE VIEW!!! The ice that came with my room probably liked the view too. I loved my patio, loved the restaurant, which is a Laguna Beach legend with good food and a great bar. I could have done without the mice, along with the so-so valet parking staff and the eh! front end staff, but every tried. The manager didnt believe me about the mice until I showed him A LOT of evidence, and then he was sort of decent about it, but this is NOT a Ritz Carlton staff. What you get at the PAcific Edge is GREAT VALUE, relatively comfortable and clean furnishings and GREAT VIEW!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room with a patio. Check the website for deals; they are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Yes! You just can't beat a view like ours. While we're delighted that you enjoyed gazing out at the ocean, we wish that your room had left you with a better impression. However, we are currently in the process of revamping our suites, and we look forward to making the necessary updates.

I am curious about your comments regarding mice. We have not received any reports of pests, and we take feedback like this very seriously. Where did you spot them? Please reach out to me if you'd like to discuss this further—we want to resolve that immediately. Until then, thank you for your review, Amy. We hope to welcome you back again next year.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
828 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 23 in Laguna Beach
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#9 of 23 in Laguna Beach
649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#19 of 23 in Laguna Beach
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $161 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing