We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Beachfront Beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We are back at the Pacific Edge for the second time in a month. We looked at other hotels that were charging more than double (some more $500/night more) for a room. Our room is literally on the beach. If you drop an ice cube off the balcony it lands in the sand. The complimentary beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, and even sand toys for the kids are a bonus because you don't have to haul a bunch of things down to the beach. The staff and especially housekeeping are incredibly polite, professional and accomodating. You can park your car and never take it out because it is within walking distance of dozens of wonderful restaurants and even a grocery store. They provided a microwave and pack and play for the kid, and we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of decent red wine. The rooms are fine. But considering that you are literally a few steps from the beach, there is not a more beach accessible hotel in Laguna Beach. We called room service for breakfast from the Beach House restaurant and they told us 15 minutes. We were skeptical because we've never had room service in 15 minutes, and we were eating within 20 minutes. Truly outstanding. Food is good and reasonably priced. We will return. **Hint** Before you book, sign up for the Joy of Life loyalty club. It is free and you get legitimate perks (like a free bottle of wine). You can truly tell that this property is well managed.

Room Tip: Get the Oceanfront Rooms. The --06 rooms are really great. Beachfront corner suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redoakiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

It sounds like you had a lovely trip! It was our pleasure to help you enjoy your time away, and to give you a little more to celebrate. :) Thanks for the kind words. We'd love to welcome you back next year!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay upgraded my room to a 2 bedroom apartment style room. Was great lots of room for whole family. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The view eating breakfast each morning at the beach house resturaunt was amazing we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mummerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

From your beautiful room to our unforgettable ocean views, it sounds like you and your family had a fabulous beach vacation! We would love to welcome you back next year. Until then, thank you for your kind words!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

When we arrived we had just missed a complimentary wine tasting. I said my wife could do with a glass of wine after the appalling traffic on the I405/I73. The receptionist promptly gave us a bottle of white wine. That was a splendid gesture. They also gave us a discount token for some of the local shops and restaurants
The hotel operates a car parking valet service although you could park on the road providing you move it before 08:00.
The room lay out was more motel than hotel and are due for refurbishment.
Breakfast was at the Beach House, about 100m away, that had a wonderful coast view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valuation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

After the stubborn traffic you experienced, it was our pleasure to help you unwind with a bottle of wine! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave such kind words. We'd love to welcome you back next year!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from long driving trip west coast/Arizona/Nevada. All hotels good and of similar standard, however, the pacific edge was dire. . The Hotel info' looks good, but our room was tiny, dark, threadbare carpet, faced brick wall. we were offered upgrade for $100 !! as we were there for one night only, we didnt bother,
We found it odd that the room given was so poor compared to all of the others booked by the same agent, within the same price range between Palm springs, san Diego and all the way up the coast to San Francisco.
also uninterested unhelpful morose staff at desk,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckle-bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We take great measures to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. After reviewing your comments, it appears that we have fallen short of our high standards. This does not sound like us at all, and we'd like to know more about this so we may make the necessary updates as soon as possible. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to share which room you stayed in and the date of your arrival. Until then, thank you for your candid feedback.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've been staying at this hotel for over 30 years. We always stay in the oceanview rooms. The cleaning staff could not be more accommodating. The front office and recent valet parking are annoying. The price for October was staggering. We paid almost $350 for room + valet parking. This for basically the same room we've had for years. Agree the place needs a remodel, particularlly the showers and toilets, exactly as they've always been. Sadly we are looking at other options. Will never find a better ocean view, I'll miss that. Sigh.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere but in oceanview rooms, that and location are all this hotel has anymore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VegasLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Your recent displeasure is truly disheartening, especially since you have been with us for over 30 years. However, you have left some detailed feedback that is invaluable as we work to make the necessary improvements in a timely manner. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. We hope to better represent ourselves should you decide to return.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel has a great location, but it is in desperate need of a remodel and a better cleaning staff. After walking around in our room for 5 minutes in bare feet, the bottoms of our feet were black. Carpeting was old, damaged, and dirty. My son was finding random items on the floor, like old makeup brushes. Even the inside of the dresser drawers were dirty. Most of the furniture was beat up, and looked about 30 years old. The staff tried to help us and were very nice, but they didn't have much to work with in that there were not quality accommodations to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejellyfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Our guests' comfort is our first priority, so it's terribly unfortunate to learn of your disappointment. Our maintenance and housekeeping teams take great strides to ensure that each room meets our standards, and I believe that we failed you in this manner. Please accept our sincere apologies for any frustration this may have caused. That said, what you've described is completely out of the ordinary, and we'd like to make this right. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to discuss this in detail. Until then, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach and you can walk to a lot of places in and around laguna beach. They also have two pools and a hot tub. Staff was cortueous and they will give you towels, cabanas and chairs to sit on the bueatiful pacific ocean and watch the sunset, surf or just hang around.
Rooms are OK and have beach effect, but they are spacious and clean. Also, cost is reasonable. Note- the cost for beach facing rooms are higher and there is a $20 charge per day to valet park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YogeshL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

There is no better place to enjoy the sounds and smells of the fresh ocean air. We're proud to offer you a relaxing destination for you to lounge, swim and surf. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 23 in Laguna Beach
636 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 23 in Laguna Beach
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $164 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing