We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things have changed and not for the better!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Things have changed and not for the better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've been staying at this hotel for over 30 years. We always stay in the oceanview rooms. The cleaning staff could not be more accommodating. The front office and recent valet parking are annoying. The price for October was staggering. We paid almost $350 for room + valet parking. This for basically the same room we've had for years. Agree the place needs a remodel, particularlly the showers and toilets, exactly as they've always been. Sadly we are looking at other options. Will never find a better ocean view, I'll miss that. Sigh.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere but in oceanview rooms, that and location are all this hotel has anymore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Your recent displeasure is truly disheartening, especially since you have been with us for over 30 years. However, you have left some detailed feedback that is invaluable as we work to make the necessary improvements in a timely manner. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. We hope to better represent ourselves should you decide to return.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    370
    165
    141
    129
See reviews for
382
524
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel has a great location, but it is in desperate need of a remodel and a better cleaning staff. After walking around in our room for 5 minutes in bare feet, the bottoms of our feet were black. Carpeting was old, damaged, and dirty. My son was finding random items on the floor, like old makeup brushes. Even the inside of the dresser drawers were dirty. Most of the furniture was beat up, and looked about 30 years old. The staff tried to help us and were very nice, but they didn't have much to work with in that there were not quality accommodations to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejellyfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Our guests' comfort is our first priority, so it's terribly unfortunate to learn of your disappointment. Our maintenance and housekeeping teams take great strides to ensure that each room meets our standards, and I believe that we failed you in this manner. Please accept our sincere apologies for any frustration this may have caused. That said, what you've described is completely out of the ordinary, and we'd like to make this right. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to discuss this in detail. Until then, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach and you can walk to a lot of places in and around laguna beach. They also have two pools and a hot tub. Staff was cortueous and they will give you towels, cabanas and chairs to sit on the bueatiful pacific ocean and watch the sunset, surf or just hang around.
Rooms are OK and have beach effect, but they are spacious and clean. Also, cost is reasonable. Note- the cost for beach facing rooms are higher and there is a $20 charge per day to valet park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YogeshL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
There is no better place to enjoy the sounds and smells of the fresh ocean air. We're proud to offer you a relaxing destination for you to lounge, swim and surf. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

You can't go wrong with the location of the hotel but if you can book a room with a balcony/ ocean view room you will be happiest. The reason is because the rooms could use alittle updating but a room with a balcony makes up for it. My husband and I were on the balcony the entire time enjoying the gorgeous view; if we weren't out at "the Deck" getting a drink & some food or one of the many other delicious restaurants along pch in walking distance to the hotel.

Even though the rooms could use some updating, the beds are extremely comfortable and they give you plenty of pillows. :)

I will be coming back to enjoy this beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelSarahLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
It's so refreshing to smell the fresh ocean air as soon as you wake up. We're glad that you and your husband made such excellent use of our balcony! Thank you for staying with us, and for your feedback. We are currently in the process of making the necessary updates for our guests, and we hope to earn another star when you return.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great hotel for family vacation. Great beach front location with private beach area for guests. Pool and spa area is adequate. Rooms were "beachy" and well maintained. Hotel staff was very attentive and hospitable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdub30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Soaking up the sun on our private beach is the perfect way to unwind! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and we can't wait to welcome you back! Until then, thank you for the kind words.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Loved the sound and beauty being right on the ocean but the room needs a lot of work. Carpet dirty and shabby, dogs were barking next door wouldn't recommend to anyone expecting better accommodations at the price paid here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azgirl021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
The soothing sounds of the crashing waves are sure to melt away any tensions you may have carried with you. However, we wish that you had a better impression of your room. While we are pet-friendly, we do not want other guests to be disturbed by their neighbors' animals. Please don't hesitate to alert us if outside noise becomes problematic. Thank you for your honest feedback. We understand that there is always room for improvement, and your candor will certainly aid us as we continue to make the necessary updates for our guests.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have already posted a review on Pacific Edge after my stay here last year, because I was once again blown away by the customer service. This hotel may not offer the best rooms. I stayed in a room facing the pool area, and the room was very small and there was obviously no view. However, the customer service is five-star quality. I've been to many five-star hotels whose customer service does not even match that at Pacific Edge. For example, I informed them that the trip was my mother's birthday gift, and on her birthday, they delivered a charming gift basket with candy and popcorn to our room with a lovely hand-written note. As I mentioned before, the location is excellent, as well, and the hotel occurs free lounge chairs and towels on the beach. I look forward to returning next year, as well, and to other Joie de Vivre Hotels after my experience here.

Room Tip: If possible, chose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nnicoleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Nicole,

There is nothing better than hearing from a happy guest like you! It is truly a pleasure to help our guests enjoy the special moments, and we take great strides to achieve that Joie de Vivre philosophy in everything that we do. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your mother's birthday with us — it was our pleasure to help you make the most of it! Thank you very much for the kind words. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing