We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Nearby Hotels
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$125
$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Brisas Hotel(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$133
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laguna Beach House(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$249
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn At Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$283
$242
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Laguna Beach Inn(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$169
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Beach Lodge(Laguna Beach)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Casa del Camino(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$189
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tides Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$140
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,477)
Filter reviews
1,477 results
Traveler rating
579
397
196
159
146
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
397
196
159
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreef buildingocean frontsurf wingdeck restaurantdriftwood kitchenoceanfront roomvalet servicelounge chairssound of the waveshigh tideupon checkthe entire staffshops and restaurantsgrocery storebalconybeachlaguna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,012 - 1,017 of 1,477 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A disappointing end to a perfect honeymoon. However, I don't want to be too negative about this hotel so just like our honeymoon I'll start on a high. Here come the positives.

The staff, the friendly and approachable front desk staff who gave us a wine basket and a lovely hand written card and the grounds staff who always said hello.
In between the road noise, you could hear the ocean.
You could see some of the ocean from the balcony.
The TV, and wi-fi worked.
The lobby is nicely decorated.
Good location for browsing the various shops nearby and you can get a discount at some of the shops if you flash your room card at the till.
The quality of the food at 'The Deck' is fantastic, although a bit pricey. There is a 'happy hour' drink and food menu.
Once you get your head round the layout of the hotel (ever seen 'Relativity' by Escher) it has easy access to the beach.
Air-con worked and was remotely operated.
You have a jute bag in the room which you can use (I used it for laundry) how you please and buy for $20 if you want to take it home.
Laundrette on site (although you don't always get what you pay for from the detergent dispenser).
Ice machine.
Use of loungers and towels on beach and at pool.
Two small pools and a hot tub.
Coffee maker in room (check mugs as they are not always cleaned properly) with complimentary coffee/decaff pods.
Fridge in room, we stored tons of bottled water/juice in here.

After seeing the photo's of this place in the travel operators brochure we decided to end our honeymoon in Laguna Beach (as we're both arty types it looked perfect). Our room was the same colour as in the photo (just don't stare too hard at the stains or patches the decorator missed on the walls and ceiling) but the bathroom could have done with having the location of the toilet swapped with the sink as the layout just doesn't work in it's present form. The toilet roll holder was on the back of the door as the room was so small the door practically brushed the bowl when you opened it. Chrome had flaked off the shelf bracket and there was old creepy mirror. We were told we had a garden view room. The view was spectacular, if cars and concrete block and cast (stairs!!!) architecture is your thing as we had an excellent view of the 24 hour valet parking for the hotel, bar and restaurant (expensive and where do they put all those cars?), view of other buildings, view of the ocean between the buildings (not my definition of a garden). The S Pacific Coast highway make's for hours of fun listening to the the road traffic at night, I suppose we were on honeymoon and not expected to sleep much anyway, but after two weeks of travelling we wanted to end on a chilled out high. Sorry Pacific edge, but in your trying to be all things to all people you forgot the main focus of a hotel is it's rooms - no matter how much they are per night!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boogaloo_toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

From the moment you walk in to the time you check out, we want all of our guests to enjoy their time with us. I am sorry to learn that you did not leave with a better impression, especially since you were so looking forward to ending your honeymoon in Laguna Beach. We are happy to move our guests to a room that better suits their needs, so please don't hesitate to ask next time. That said, your comments are invaluable as we move forward. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed account of your experience.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel, really good value , we stayed in an oceanfront room that was steps to the sand. It is clean and nicely decorated, rennovated older hotel so don't expect the montage, but for the price it is an amazing value and really a great location
Beautiful low key and relaxing, we had our dog which at the time of year was welcome on the beach. Check with the hotel, summer months dogs are not allowed on beach, but all other times allowed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xtrafancy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Our beachfront location certainly can't be beat! We're delighted that you so enjoyed your time with us. We would be happy to host you and your four-legged friend next year, so don't hesitate to give us a call if there's anything we can do to enhance your next stay!

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and is moderate value. The rooms are spacious but are a little dated.

The main concern, I have is that we left the room at 9 am to go to the beach and returned at 1pm. The room was not cleaned and I called to have it cleaned. We left again and returned at 3:45 and it was still not cleaned. This is really unsatisfactory service. Additionally, the beach hours are listed 8am to 8pm and no one was at the beach so we did not have access to chairs. i did locate someone and he got us chairs but no towels. The beach side options of chairs and towels was a selling feature and the fact that we could not access these at 9:30 am was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmbpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Our guests' satisfaction is our first priority, so it is disheartening to learn of your recent experience. The service that you described falls far beneath our standards, and I will certainly discuss your points with both our housekeeping team and beach staff. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Your honest feedback is invaluable as we continue to make improvements for our guests.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We got a deal on LivingSocial for a 1 night, oceanfront room for $209. A great deal for a great location. The staff was nice, the room was nice and the view was amazing.....right on the water. Had happy hour at the Deck, which is right on the beach. Good prices and food too! Not sure I would go back and pay the full price, but would definitely consider a good deal and stay there again.

Room Tip: Although our first and only time, I couldn't imagine staying there if not on an oceanfront room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Sonia,

Thanks for giving us a try! I'm happy to hear that everyone made you feel so comfortable during your stay. The Deck is a fantastic restaurant — and the views are not to be missed! Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back next time you're looking to get away!

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Well, you can't beat the beautiful ocean view but it isn't worth the price. The parking is horrendous and you are forced to use their valet service which can be over burdened at a time you are likely to need your car. Parking near your room for convenience is out of the question. Although we were permitted to briefly park near our building to unload our luggage, it seemed to be a problem and we were cautioned to be quick about it! The buildings don't have elevators so you must carry all luggage you bring up concrete stairs. The staff could use some customer service lessons. Despite claims to be a non-smoking facility there were different three guests smoking all around us on their balconies. None of this would be a huge problem if it weren't for the exorbitant room prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Helen,

We are proud to offer a relaxing beach retreat, so I'm sorry to hear that your experience did not leave you with a better impression. It seems that the majority of your comments stem from service. All of our guests should feel welcome and well cared for, and it troubles me that you did not. I will speak with our staff about this immediately. Thank you for your candor. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to discuss this further.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews