We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dolphins in the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dolphins in the sea”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was our first trip to the Pacific Edge hotel , we stayed in the penthouse suite overlooking Sleepy Hollow Road and the sea beyond.We were surprised to find that we had a lounge and kitchen/ dining area.The furniture in the apartment was a bit tired and dated , but it did look as if it had recently been decorated and the bed was very comfortable with spotless bed linen.We saw dolphins swimming in the sea from our balcony which was an amazing sight to behold.
The beach was a very short walk away and sunbeds/umbrellas and towels were all provided free of charge.
We had breakfast at the Beach House Restaurant nearby which has lovely unspoilt views across the sea.We had one evening meal there also which was delicious , but the lighting was so poor we had trouble reading the menu and the service was very slow.
We only used one of the pools at the front of the hotel which was quite cold in temperature but clean , there weren't any towels that we could see to use and the road noise was loud.
The valet parking is compulsery and a bit of a pain as you have to keep returning to the valet area to get your keys back if you have kept things in your car that you need.
We probably would use this hotel again but only for a couple of nights, I think it would be the perfect place for the younger surfing generation who don't mind looking past the dated aspects of the accommodation.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the sea front not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grapevine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm glad you enjoyed staying with us in one of our ocean view rooms. We appreciate your comments as they allow us to assess and improve our service. In regards to the pool towels, we are happy to provide towels for you if you speak to the front desk. We are also required to have a valet due to the presence of the restaurant The Deck on the property though we apologize if that policy was not explained more clearly to you. I hope you'll come back and stay with us again; we'd love to have you!

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    381
    172
    146
    134
See reviews for
399
544
50
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stay was OK but the room was very small and the bathroom had no room to put toiletries out. There were 5 or 6 old buildings spread across the property, although it looks like they are trying to update. It is quite a trek around stairs, hallways and other buildings to get down to the oceanfront beach. Pictures on website are a little deceiving because all of property is old and rooms are quite dated. Valet parking is required at $20/night. Hotel rates are a little high for the condition of the property. Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Staff was very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
I'm sorry that you weren't more impressed when you recently stayed with us. We have many unique room types and are constantly working to improve the quality of our guests' stay; we would have been happy to move you into a room that might have been more to your taste. We are also required to have valet parking due to the presence of the restaurants on the premises, though I apologize if our staff did not explain this more clearly to you. I do hope you'll afford us another opportunity to impress you in the future; I know we can show you a great stay.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My children and I ONLY stay at Pacific Edge Hotel when visiting Laguna Beach. I just returned home from my 4th visit to this property (stayed Apr. 2 thru Apr 6) and I booked the same beachfront room with 2 beds. This hotel keeps getting better & better each time we stay here! The rooms are clean & well maintained, the location is ideal, and price point remains a great value for a hotel on Laguna Beach.
In addition to these attributes, the STAFF is what sets this hotel apart from the competition. Korhan is sincere and a true professional while Craig was so helpful with an advance request. These guys really make you feel at home.
And I don't know what I would have done without J.P upon arrival; assisting my mother the way he did. Above & beyond is the only way to describe the level of service you will encounter at Pacific Edge Hotel.

I know there are many other hotels that can boast the same ocean front views & location, but it's the incredible staff that makes Pacific Edge the ONLY option for my family. Thanks again Pacific Edge...see you in July!

Room Tip: You can hear the waves from ANY hotel room on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Haley,

I'm so glad to hear from you. We always appreciate receiving comments from our loyal guests. It's wonderful that you find the rooms clean and comfortable and that you find the staff friendly and accommodating. We would love to welcome you back again any time!

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,973 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The only pro is the location and the views. The con's are many. Every time our upstairs neighbor took a shower we got all his water in our bath tub, we complained they brought someone immediately who couldn't figure out how to get the cap off the clean out, so they pretended for a couple of hours and never did anything. Showers was a fast trickle and your could either take it boiling hot or freezing cold, cause for some reason you could not get a mix that didn't melt skin.
The valet is the most ridiculous thing you have ever experienced. You have to take your car to the valet and then walk back to your hotel room. WTF? So if you are staying in any other rooms than the ones on top of the restaurant you have to walk back up the hill to your room, only for the valet to park your car in front of your room, but you have to walk past your car back to the valet to have him go get it for you. Completely a waste of time.
Rooms are old and worn out and decorated with Ikea products. We were there for a wedding so we had 6 rooms, they were all worn out. Front desk was very nice but never did anything about any concerns we had.
For the price I would highly recommend to stay any where else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
I'm sincerely sorry to hear that you were not more impressed with your stay. I wanted to take this opportunity to address a few of your concerns. The situation with your room is regrettable and our staff should have moved you to a different room. I will speak with them about your feedback so we can improve in the future. In regards to the valet, our parking space is utilized for our hotel guests as well as the restaurant patrons of both our restaurants, thus Valet parking is required due to the unique lay-out of our property. I apologize if our front desk staff did not explain its necessity better. I do hope you'll afford us another opportunity to impress you; I know we can show you a great time.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Pacific Edge for 4 nights over spring break. There were several issues with loud hotel patrons and screaming and yelling through the night. This was not conductive to a relaxing good night sleep. The walls are thin and you are able to hear conversations in the adjoining rooms whether you want to or not.
The hotel clerk, Korhan, was extremely helpful and very nice which was quickly noticed as the other clerks were the exact opposite.
Our room was along the PCH and was very loud with traffic noises, even through the night. If you stay here, make sure that you are not in the buildings along the PCH.

Room Tip: Rooms along the PCH are very loud, if you can, get a room closer to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
I'm sorry to hear about your experience with other guests; I will pass your feedback along to our security staff. I'm glad you found Korhan accommodating and helpful and I hope you'll afford us another opportunity to impress you. When you book, be sure to request a room in the Reef building if you weren't a fan of the PCH.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The location of this hotel was amazing. We had a room in the Reef building and the view was great. The bed was very comfortable and so were the pillows. I loved the color and decoration of the room. There were some things I didn't like. Our valet was payed for since we stayed for 5 nights, but it would have been much more convienent if we could have just parked ourselves. The lighting fixtures were cheap plastic and one fell on us one night. The paint at the bottom of the bathroom door was warped. The shower rod was rusty and the door going to the balcony didn't fit the frame right and if you wanted to keep the door open, it made a lot of noise. Liked the hotel since we didn't spend much time in there but would possibly stay again if it was less expensive and the valet rules changed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmoris821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! I'm so glad you enjoyed staying with us in one of our Reef building rooms. We're lucky to have such a beautiful view. In regards to the valet, our parking space is utilized for our hotel guests as well as the restaurant patrons of both our restaurants, thus Valet parking is required due to the unique lay-out of our property. I apologize if our front desk staff did not explain its necessity better. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

It is a great location actually laguna beach you are very close to the ocean there are multiple room options . There was a huge storm when we were there they helped us a lot changed our room so the service is also great! I would definitely suggest to stay there also you would have a 20% off in the. Next restaurant where you can have a ocean view breakfast. Actually they have several discounts in town. I definitely suggest.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thanks so much for your great review. I'm happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your needs during that storm. We would love to welcome you back again any time!

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Property: Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing