We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montage Laguna Beach
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Montage Resort the week of July 5th, 2004 and had an incredible time. The staff was completely accommodating and there wasn't a single need that wasn't met. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were treated with first class service.

Our room had a beautiful ocean view and we were able to see the sunset each evening. The bed was so comfortable, it was hard to get out of it each morning!

The fitness facility was nice, although a bit small. The large glass doors open up to a breathtaking view of the ocean and waves breaking on the rocks it made exercising enjoyable. We also had the pleasure of working out next to Magic Johnson, which was pretty cool. The spa facility is also wonderful and is a MUST.

All in all, we highly recommend the Montage and will be returning. Keep in mind, it is very pricy so be prepared to spend some $$$$$.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,371 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
429
Reviewed June 29, 2004

Stayed two nights at the Montage in May and it was superb. The room was outstanding as was the service. The room was large, beautifully appointed and luxurious. I have read the complaints of several about indifferent service but we didn't experience it. Studio is no bargain but the food and service were excellent. Compared to many resorts, the Montage isn't privey at all and the faciliites are top shelf. The parking and entrance get a little crowded but there just isn't any space to do anything differently.

we'll be back.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2004

This place is OK at best. First it’s not exclusive by any means and there are hordes of locals coming in and out of this place. The $1200 suite barely had a view of the ocean. Service at the pool was sub par even with renting a cabana and the beach cabana was even worse. Both times our reservations and orders got lost. Unlike the 4seasons or the Ritz they did not acknowledge my birthday in anyway although they clearly knew about it. The spa was very nice and the service was attentive. The Studio restaurant was very good and they had a great selection of wine including every year of “Opus one” since 79. I expressed some of my concerns to the front desk and they had no response whatsoever. Over all a mediocre experience however the grounds and the location make up for some of it but that alone does not justify the price. Essentially this place is twice as expensive as 4seasons or the Ritz with half the service. I would have expected more seasoned and cultured staff for such a self-proclaimed legend since majority of the staff are high school kids which probably know very little about service at high end resorts. Wasted 6k plus another 1k for various gratuities this weekend and will probably not go back unless the service drastically improves.

5  Thank f360Spyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
214
Reviewed May 27, 2004

I think the Montage may be a legend in its own mind and some of the employees are mistaking working there with being a guest there. For example, at dinner, when I was aked how I wanted my entree prepared, I said "Well done", The waiter's brief look of disgust was inappropriate and totally unacceptable. I told him that I understood that some people felt that was not the best preparation but I liked it that way. What? I have to explain my preferences? At THOSE prices?

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
38
Reviewed May 17, 2004

Clearly one of the best resorts in the world. The staff is well trained, personable and displays the most respect for the traveler that I have ever seen. They are sooo gracious. The restaurants are out of this world. Try the Mosaic for interesting sandwiches and salads and Studio for a romantic evening. The best is The Loft. Great food and the most well trained servers anywhere. I loved it.
We stayed over Mothers day weekend and have already planned our next trip in August.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2004

The Montage is beautiful there is no doubt however the staff needs to take some lessons from whoever trains the staff at the Rtiz Carlton. When I first stepped up to the front desk, there was someone there already complaing. The lobby was overflowing with people and the driveway was a mess with people and cars. It just was very disorganized. The tables in the lobby bar were dirty and they do not have menus on them at all, where as at the Ritz, the menus are displayed and they serve food as well.
Great beach and grounds though.
Too crowded with visitors not just guests.

6  Thank miabellina1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Southfield, MI
12
Reviewed April 18, 2004

This is one of the best resorts in America.
The view is breathtaking, the ambience relaxing. I highly recommend it
for a romantic weekend with your wife ... or even short vacation with
the entire family.
The staff is courteous and helpful, ever mindful of our comfort and enjoyment.
The only drawback is the price. It's not cheap. But, if you have the time and money, it's a wonderful place to spend a few days. We were there in early April.
Whenever we return to Southern California, the Montage will be our home.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Beach
2.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
823 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
2.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $706 - $1,117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including including rejuvenating wellness options at the 20,000-square-foot Spa Montage; gourmet dining at Studio, The Loft, or Mosaic Bar and Grille; outdoor relaxing by one of two onsite pool decks; and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing