We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day at Montage is a day in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montage Laguna Beach
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A day at Montage is a day in Paradise”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were here for a business conference for my husband and it was wonderful! The rooms are spacious - be sure to ask for an ocean view. The grounds, hotel and staff are immaculate. Linda, the concierge, was excellent - finding restaurants and giving directions. We had trouble signing into the internet ($19.95 per day) and an IT guy was here within 10 minutes to solve the problem.

The layout of the resort is unusual and the walk to the main lobby and back might be long. If you are not a walker, ask for a room near the lobby. Beach access is down a cliff (ramps are provided - but it is a long way.)

We had dinner last night in the main ballroom with the group and the food is excellent and imaginative.

We splurged on massages - very expensive with an included "service fee". Although the massage was excellent - a better bet is to get one in town for 1/3 the price.

The hotel was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view and close to the lobby, if you don't want to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We were honored to host your stay in "paradise." I will be sure to share your praise with Linda in Concierge as well as our amazing spa team. I hope your travels find you in Laguna Beach again soon.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    174
    64
    33
    26
See reviews for
288
478
35
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Fabulous-Fabulous-Fabulous!!! This resort is amazing!

ARIVAL: Upon arrival the valet staff promptly unpack you vehicle (almost entirely) before we exited the car. They catered to every need immediately.

ROOMS: Beautifully decorated! Peaceful, and comfortable. We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the pool & beach. Luxurious robes, large bathrooms with a large claw foot bath tub--big enough for two & adorned with many candles--separate walk in shower. Be sure to experience (the room service) breakfast served on your balcony! Heavenly! (However, don't leave your food unattended or the seagulls will swiftly enjoy your meal.)

GROUNDS: Breathtaking! The gardens were lush, colorful, and plentiful. There are SPECTACULAR tidal pools on the beach directly in front of the resort; I would have spent all day there if my partner had let me.

SERVICE and STAFF: When walking the grounds and passing by (any) staff, they would stop, move to the side, look you in the eye & smile. The fascinating part of this was that it did not matter who you approached, or the intensity of their conversation (which is easy to notice if you simply pay attention) the staff's energy would shift, and their eyes would light up as they greeted guests. There was never a disingenuousness greeting. Compared to any other resort I have stated it, the staff here were by far the most helpful, courteous, and friendly. (And maybe this is a perfect example of "you get what you pay for!") After spending a few hours on the beach and at the tidal pools, I returned to the room and removed my extremely sandy sport sandals & jeans and placed them over my suitcase. During the 'turndown service' the staff cleaned my jeans & shoes--there was not one grain on sand anywhere. The service here is simply off the charts.

FOOD: EVERYTHING was delicious!!! Breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts, pastry, drinks. That said, my favorite dinner while staying in Laguna Beach was at 230 (230 Forest Ave, Laguna Beach) Half Baked Chocolate Soufflé Cake--need I say more!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isis4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
What a wonderful surprise to return to your room and find that your sandy clothes have been made immaculate by our Housekeeping team. Your praise of our staff and grounds fills me with gratitude and appreciation. Many thanks for the comments and gorgeous photos. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

“Right smack on top of a beautiful sandy & rocky beach, this large resort is a Hollywood star magnet for good reason. An easy 1+ hour drive from LA (time it right per traffic), the property provides a fabulous getaway for various needs such as family, business retreat, girls spa weekend, couples chill time, fitness splurge. Rooms are handsomely designed, many with special views and the sound of crashing waves as you dose off. Don't miss the beach boot camp (complimentary at 8am a few times per week) or the lap pool if swimming is your thing. The outdoor fire pit looking onto the Pacific is a cool place for an evening cocktail and the spa is stunning and not to be missed. One of the best hotel gyms conceptualized is here - how do you not feel motivated by the shimmering ocean and walkers/joggers in plain view!?”

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

2 Nights here for a conference and I have to say, The Montage Resort personifies service, quality and a solid product that is worth it's higher price tag. It's true you get what you pay for....

King room with partial ocean view, I actually overlooked the residences that are located within the resort. Nice small balcony for my coffee in the mornings. Beautiful fluffy bed with great big pillows, nice amenities throughout the room included lotions and bath salts and soaps, just unreal! Huge bathroom with tub and separate stand up shower, robs, slippers, shoe horns, just everything. It was fantastic! I cannot say enough about all you get here and how well put together and kept everything is.

From start to finish the staff was just top notch. They knew how to do their jobs and more, went above and beyond the call of duty the entire time. Bar staff, valet, concierge, front desk, wait staff, all just personify service.

Breakfast both days off the menu was fantastic, had Huevos Rancheros on day 1 and lighter smoothie and yogurt parfait 2nd day. Service and quality top notch here.

Location is right on the coast, looks like I will be back with wife for a mini vacation if I can score the right price :)

It will cost to stay but it's worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2worldtravelersnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I am so proud of the team for their ability to “personify service.” Your praise is the best reward we could ask for. We look forward to providing the same great service to you and your wife in the near future.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the moment you enter until the time you check out The Montage delights with elegance and exemplary service in a Post Card setting. The grounds are immaculate, the views spectacular, and the employees go out of their way to ensure a seamless and memorable visit. Breakfast at The Loft on the patio overlooking the Pacific, stroll the walking paths and enjoy the private beaches. Explore Laguna Beach and it's many delightful Art Galleries and restaurants and don't forget The Montage Spa. In the evenings there is live music in Lobby Lounge, slow dancing encouraged, and late at night - when everyone is settling in - spend some time with your better half at the fire pit with a glass of wine savoring the stars, the privacy and the wonderful ocean breezes.

Room Tip: Choose the Surf View room and check the website for specials and discounts. Go across the street to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The resort is gorgeous and every room has an ocean view. The rooms are modern yet elegant, and the decor made me feel relaxed immediately. The grounds are impeccably groomed and beautiful. The service and quality of the dining was truly fantastic. This resort is luxurious and elegant without anything being overstated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan11doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at the montage this week for an industry conference. All I can say is fantastic. The room, the service and the experience. Great bed, bathroom, amenities, view, etc, etc, etc... If you are in Laguna, don't miss your chance to stay. Not inexpensive, but if you can afford it, don't miss it. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinoK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Beach
2.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
750 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
426 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
747 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,525 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Property: Montage Laguna Beach
Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including including rejuvenating wellness options at the 20,000-square-foot Spa Montage; gourmet dining at Studio, The Loft, or Mosaic Bar and Grille; outdoor relaxing by one of two onsite pool decks; and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing