We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing 5 Star Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Montage Laguna Beach
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing 5 Star Beach Resort”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Every room has an ocean view. The service is top notch. The food is AMAZing. The location in Laguna is a weekend dream getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms are great except for the rooms on the bottom and second floor....these rooms barely have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    171
    61
    32
    24
See reviews for
280
464
34
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We celebrated my birthday with an overnight stay... spa, pool dinner...the staff and facilities are first class. The spa manager was very helpful and thoughtful.. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly

Room Tip: all rooms are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was our second trip to Montage, Laguna Beach and honestly I enjoyed this outing even more than the first time around.

First things first: we were met at the door with a big basket of toys for our dog Charlie, who was staying with us for the first time, as we entered the lobby and it was wonderful surprise.Then again, Montage is what I would call a first class property and just like Disneyland, they tend do things well and get it right the first time.

Our room was a North facing ocean view (that is exactly like the images you seen on Trip Advisor) and as return guests we were given a split of chilled champagne and some little nibbles that were presented beautifully in our entry way.They also put a dog bed and bowls for our dog which helped us allot although we weren't told about those being provided when I asked. The only negative thing I have is say about our room is that while the cheerful California themed decor was very pleasant and reminded me of an upscale beach house, the yellow and white carpeting and upholstery could use a deep cleaning to give it that clean feeling we all love.Then again, with pets staying in the ground floor level rooms (where you are required to stay with pets) trying to keep the light colored fabrics clean and bright would and must be a full time job!

The bathrooms: have carrara marble and are very large with separate water closets for privacy and double sinks + a deep soaking tub that I wouldn't miss relaxing in after stressful day.

The Spa: Montage Spa is and remains my favorite after my last and previous visits. My only regret is not having enough time to really relax and enjoy it more than I did. I would plan spending a big chunk of time to just lounge around before and after your appointment and I would not miss spending as much time as possible there! Peggy was my massage therapist and I would highly recommend her.

Tips: Sunset Yoga is free for guests. When booking my spa appointment it said that my massage or facial would include lunch + sunset yoga, which I thought was a deal. It was a deal @219. + tip, but what I didn't realize is that yoga would normally not be extra if you're staying at the hotel.

Walking: this property sits of one of my favorite pieces of land in California and for this reason I always look forward to staying and walking at least twice a day to the beach and on the paths-especially if you're bringing your dog along. Also, there's a big fire pit on the property with a excellent view of the coastline that is very romantic and just a cozy way to end the day, especially during fall evening and nights but bring your sweaters.This coastal area gets foggy and cool most every night. The big beautiful pool that sits in the middle of the property is a stunner and I wish I could have taken some laps in it before leaving, but we were just too rushed to take full advantage of everything we could have but that doesn't mean you have to miss it.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms here should be great and have some kind of an ocean view, but sign up for the latest d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank married&inlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Montage to celebrate our three year anniversary. My husband booked an ocean view room and informed the hotel the reason for our stay. We live locally and wanted to do something different. We have a 10 month old baby and it was our first night away from her, so we wanted to stay close enough to grandma's house, just in case there was a problem.

When we were shown our room, we were really disappointed. They were going to put us in a room facing a residential neighborhood where there was construction going on. There was a ocean view but the main focus was on the construction. I thought that was really inconsiderate. I immediately asked for another room. The man who took us to our room offered us other rooms at an additional cost. I thought this was weird because we had booked an ocean view room and it was a monday night. The hotel didn't seem too busy, so I found it surprising that he didn't just offer us a better room. I told him that we wanted a ocean view room without construction.

In the end, we finally got a room with a very nice ocean view. The bed was comfortable and the amenities were luxurious. The only complaint my husband had was that the bathtub only fit one person at a time.

The service was great. We had lunch at the pool and the food was very good. I would recommend this hotel, but I do think it is on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Make sure you request ocean view room that is not facing the residential area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuTut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to Montage Laguna Beach. We appreciate your feedback, and apologize for any issues you encountered. We do not wish for any of our guests to feel dissatisfied.

I regret that you were less than satisfied with your room location; however I am happy that we were able to amend this situation for you. We pride ourselves on providing truly customized service with keen attention to detail, and I apologize that you didn’t experience this upon your arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I’ll send you a private message with my contact information. Please reach out to me if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Sincerely,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel and location are fantastic. Breathtaking views, great location, nice pool and though did not use it, the spa is supposed to be nice. The landscaping is fantatstic. Prices, however, are over the top, so this paradise does not come cheap. Even a sandwich at the pool is over $20. Can get breakfast at Ruby's across the street or pay $$$$ at the hotel. Easy to spot a celebrity at the hotel if you look. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Just think that service was a slight notch less than the last time we were here. This time it was a bit off season at the pool but busy with a meeting and luncheons so did not get the usual spritzes and smoothies at the pool and had to wait a bit to get our car when we went out, but not too bad.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We value your compliments of Montage Laguna Beach and greatly appreciate your feedback. I would like to apologize for any service issues you encountered during your time with us. I regret that we did not exceed your expectations in some outlets of the resort. Montage prides itself on providing truly customized service in order to ensure a flawless stay. I am disappointed that yours was anything less. I’ll send you a private message with my contact information. Please reach out to me if you would like to discuss your experience further.
Sincerely,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My 2 daughters and I spent Oct 8-9 at the Laguna Beach Montage. It was an overnight made in heaven! We all were treated like princesses and experienced first class service from the Vallet parking to the room attendants, spa, Loft restaurant and the attendants at the pool. We enjoyed the spectacular oceanview from our room which was comfortable, and well equipped with everything we needed. The Loft food was absolutely delicious.....mushroom risotto left you wanting more. It was served with attentiveness and expertise....we were served wines which complemented each dinner course. Thank-you all at Laguna Beach Montage! You exceeded our expectations and we will be back for MORE!!

Room Tip: Oceanview - the rooms have balconies and it is delightful to sit outside with a perfect view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbgerali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
399 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Everything about this hotel is perfect. The rooms are beautiful (even those without an ocean view), the restaurants have wonderful food, the service is excellent. You do have to pay attention to where you are going, as the property is quite big....but that does give you a chance to explore this lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floribel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Property: Montage Laguna Beach
Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including including rejuvenating wellness options at the 20,000-square-foot Spa Montage; gourmet dining at Studio, The Loft, or Mosaic Bar and Grille; outdoor relaxing by one of two onsite pool decks; and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing