We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like in Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelato Paradiso

Gelato Paradiso
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: authentic Italian gelato and sorbetto
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just like in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Love the creamy goodness on a hot day. And less calories than ice cream!!! Off the main drag in a cute little alleyway next to a gourmet chocolate shop!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Onechiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    39
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in OC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We love this place....Love all the flavors. My favorite combo mixed berries, pistachio and dark chocolate with hazelnuts. Most of the time I can't make up my mind, plums, orange, watermelon, melon, lemon.....
Please bring back the other locations....Why did you close the CDM location, or Fashion island or Irvine (near mother's)?
We need more gelato paradiso around OC.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Expat-in-Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place must have at least 20 types of gelato. All favors I tried were delicious. The staff is friendly and there's plenty of them to help the long lines move through efficiently. Very member of my family was happy with their gelato choice. Yummy and refreshing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Soooo good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I saw all the reviews on here and had to try it, but was going with cautious optimism since I've been disappointed with so many gelato places in the US. Was pleasantly surprised to find that the texture/ taste of the gelato here was closest to Italian gelato that I've tried outside Italy. Had the pistachio and a baci type flavor. It's hard to see how other ice cream places survive in that area! Hard to find though, look for the little alley with shops/restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Dangerously close to our vacation rental”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is delicious. We were staying just up the hill from it and couldn't stay away. They have quite a few flavors to choose from and everyone I tried was my new favorite. You really must stop here and try it. The line is long but it moves fast and is WORTH IT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smileynvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Paradiso also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Gelato Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing