We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Tasting Gelato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelato Paradiso

Gelato Paradiso
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: authentic Italian gelato and sorbetto
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went there after a nice dinner at Nick's. Some of the best Gelato we have tasted. Nice variety of flavors. Very good service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank winecountrylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    36
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“All I can say is OMG you gotta go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Got a medium cone to share. The server asked if we were sure as they were generous in their servings. We were sure we could split a medium as we love gelato. OK we were wrong. It was like a pint of gelato in a house made cone!!! Had the Bacci (dark chocolate with hazel nut), espresso and tiramisu - HEAVEN

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meekyung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Gelato I've Had Outside Florence...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

And as good as any I've had IN Florence. This place absolutely rocks. It's tucked way back in a charming alley off of the main drag in Laguna. Look for a small green and wrought iron awning with gold "PepperTree Lane" lettering to lead you into the alley. Or just watch for blissed-out people eating gelato.

It's evil they open as early as 11am, tempting you right after breakfast. Their sickeningly helpful service people suggest hard-to-resist combinations. The whole thing is so addictive, they should be ashamed of themselves. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank collette2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
157 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gelato Goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place has some excellent gelato. After spending a few minutes taking in the gorgeous displays of some very fresh-looking items, we decided to go with the mango, strawberry, and double chocolate cones. Each was supreme in its own right.

The staff were really friendly and offer good recommendations and combinations. The parlor is in a very cozy and warm little end of the building it's in. (We almost missed it, though, since we didn't see any arrows pointing us to the far end of the alley it's in.)

If you're ever in the Laguna Beach area, be sure to treat yourself here. Our only regret was that we were able to go there just once given the short duration of our trip, but we definitely look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Even if you do not like ice cream, you will love Gelato Paradiso's sorbet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The smell of waffle cones cooking, walking under the pepper tree, the pathway itself, watching them make the gelato and sorbet or the combination of it all makes it magical and yummy to have dessert at Gelato Paradiso. My kids and husband love it so much! There is always a line in the summer be it 11am or 11pm. :) Worth the wait. Plus while they wait in line, I go to La Rue du Chocolat, my place to have dessert.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LagunaBeachFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Paradiso also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Gelato Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing