We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beach front with terraces” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Laguna On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beach front with terraces”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

You have to weigh your options when you limit your preferences to beach front. I had a private patio in room 713- the front desk said it was shared, but the hotel construction worked in my favor! The room adjacent to mine was under renovation;). I did get a sewer smell when my room was closed up -----

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred S, General Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear of your poor experience.
We do thank you for your comments and your feedback. Clearly, that is the only way we really know how we did and where our weaknesses and strengths are. I regret that we dropped the ball so many times during your stay.

I've shared your review with our Housekeeping Dept.and Chief Engineer and have asked for their immediate corrective actions to ensure your experience isn't duplicated. We pride ourselves in our ability to provide excellent experiences, but in this case it seems we've failed. For this we are truly sorry!!!
We hope you'll give us another opportunity to regain your trust. We wish you all the best in your travels.


Warmest Regards,

Fred Schoneke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    83
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
71
128
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at laguna beach! This hotel is a bit older, but the rooms on the beach front are awesome! Nick was great and accommodated us with a room switch witch was terrific! The continental breakfast was great too! As soon as you walk on the beach they're there to greet you with chairs and umbellas or whatever you may need. Restaurant options are good and in walking distance.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank moultonmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred S, General Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this awesome review! It really means a lot to our team members to get mentioned by name, so thank you for making a point to recognize them individually! I'm so glad you were so impressed with the guest service...We definitely aim to please! We want our guests to feel like this is their home away from home while on the road, so I'm thrilled that you left with that impression. I truly hope that we will be your first choice if your travels bring you back to the area.

Thanks for sharing such wonderful feedback about your stay!

Sincerely,

Fred Schoneke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last year with my boyfriend and some friends. It's located on the beach, which we decided we were willing to pay a little more for.
The place is charming on the outside; the outside is white and has staggered rooms with stairs leading up and down the hotel - it reminded me of Greece. However, the parking situation is tight and there aren't many spaces to choose from (they have an additional lot away from the hotel). When we checked in, our room wasn't booked or there was a problem. Either way,they upgraded both our room and our friend's, so we appreciated that.
The new rooms were closer to the beach with hotel access to the water. However, I think the hotel in general is way overpriced. You are paying for the proximity to the ocean, that's for sure.
The rooms were white and very beachy, but were extremely worn and old. Our window didn't lock, the bathroom was very tiny, and the room needed some TLC. When you're that close to the beach, though, that's usually what you get.
All in all, it wasn't an amazing hotel, but it was nice. The upgraded room closer to the beach was what really made our trip. However, I would not stay here again because it was extremely expensive for even the smaller of rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred S, General Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I was delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable stay and that your accommodations exceeded your expectations. Our Team is here to serve all of our guests and it is nice to receive such positive feedback that I can share with them. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in the Laguna Beach area.

Sincerely,

Fred Schoneke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 days and loved every minute of it. The staff was GREAT, especially Josh B. with checking in. We got a suite with the most gorgeous view of the ocean and the sound of the waves crashing below; literally 10 feet away from the hotel at high tide.

We arrived on Mon. and never drove our car until we left on Sun. because there is so much to do within walking distance: restaurants, shops, strolling down the beach, playing in the ocean. Sitting on our balcony was our favorite of all, watching the sunsets. The hotel was built in the 50s and they've done a great job keeping it quaint and comfy with their remodeling. The breakfast was simple and the coffee delicious.

We didn't want to leave at the end of our 7 days and can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2ndGenAZnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred S, General Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback!

Thank you for your kind words about the cleanliness of our rooms, convenience of our location and service from our staff. We pride ourselves in delivering only the best service to our hotel guests and I am delighted to hear that our service exceeded you and your family’s expectations.

In the future, feel free to contact our hotel directly to make reservations for we often offer seasonal promotions for multiple night bookings!

Once again, we appreciate your kind compliments and recommendations and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Southern California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I gotta get back! Awesome view. Nice hotel! Private balcony put to use! We fell asleep on the patio chairs listening to the ocean!!! ...................................
..
..can't wait to go back!!!!""""

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugabee702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred S, General Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience here at Capri Laguna Hotel . We are happy that you found the accommodations and amenities beneficial. We pride in guest satisfaction and glad that staff were able to help you in every way. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Again, we thank you for your honest feedback.

Fred Schoneke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We also recieved the buy 2 nights get 1 night free. According to the website it looks like the oceanview rooms ALL face the ocean, this is not true. We were first given room 722, it's kitty-corner to the actual ocean and the balcony was shared with 2 other rooms. My boyfriend asked John at the front desk to switch our room so we could have a better view. He gladly accomodated us. Moved us to 712, great room with a fireplace! He even kept our rate the same! Staff was very friendly. There was minor construction going on, but no big deal. The pool is a little dated, but you're at the ocean! Who cares about the pool?! All in all, great stay. We will definitely be back. Thanks Capri at Laguna!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred S, General Manager at Capri Laguna On The Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback, and will take this as a learning piece to ensure we train our staff appropriately. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you!


Fred Schoneke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#13 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Laguna On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Laguna On The Beach

Property: Capri Laguna On The Beach
Address: 1441 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capri Laguna On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's a relaxing romantic getaway, an activity-packed family vacation, a quiet solitary retreat, or a quick trip filled with shopping, food and fun with friends, the Capri Laguna on the Beach is the perfect Southern California getaway. Nestled in the quaint seaside town of Laguna Beach, located midway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the oceanfront Capri Laguna on the Beach Inn is situated directly on the sand of the Pacific Ocean with its picturesque sunsets and world-renown coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Capri Laguna On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Laguna Inn On The Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Capri Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing