We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked out well after slow start”
Review of Starfish

Starfish
Ranked #16 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & Pacific Coast Hwy.
Description: The tastefully provocative STARFISH LAGUNA is located directly across from the Montage Resort, home to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. This gem of a restaurant is located in the heart of the Aliso Creek Shopping Center off Pacific Coast Highway, South Laguna Beach. From the moment you enter STARFISH , you will feel transported to an exotic wonderland of Coastal Fusion. The menu features Asian Fusion cuisine, highlighted with ingredients from Thailand, Vietnam, China, Korea, and Japan. From delectable fish fresh from the sea, to savory and enticing beef, chicken and vegetable dishes, STARFISH has something to excite every palate. Delightfully unpredictable, the menu will pleasure your palate with tastes of Ginger, Lemon Grass, Thai Basil, Jasmine, Daikon, Thai curries and soy sauces. Summer rolls, pho, udon noodles, coconut rice, wok sauté, ribs and other chef's expressions of American renditions of classic Asian cuisine will be served. Equally as enticing as the menu is the ambience. STARFISH is destined to enchant with exciting contrasts of deep, vivid colors of the sea with those of radiant sunset skies. Tufted banquettes in luminous soft turquoise sensuously welcome guests, while sultry black lacquered tables and chairs complement the lush decor. The elegant, horseshoe-shaped STARFISH bar further welcomes you as it takes center stage. Muddled libations flavored with tarragon, ginger, coconut, lemongrass and mango will be prepared as you observe. Asian mojitos, martinis, sakes, craft and imported beers, and boutique wines are served to excite your palate.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worked out well after slow start”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had 7:30 reservation for 6 of us, told they were "running late". Waited 25 minutes. Hostess then said they would put together 2 tables in the bar, we reluctantly agreed. However, we could see each other and talk, several different appetizers appeared "on the house", the food was good, and we had a fine time. Will go back! They appreciate customers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellosguardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    41
    16
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a gem!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Starfish is place you should go, if you wish to enjoy a truly incredible dining experience. From the incredible service to the amazing selection of food choices, you will not leave disappointed. Don't let the fact that it is in a shopping center fool you. Before you even taste the incredible food or drinks, you will appreciate the well thought out decor/ ambiance. Every time I've been there, the staff has treated me as if I were their family. I am out here for business (visiting from Texas), and the smiling faces at Starfish make it feel like home, and make me wish I was a local. Try the Wonton Soup, and the Ahi Poke. Both will rock your world! :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Starfish does a good job with this Asian Fusion style cuisine! We started with Pork Dumplings, which is basically Potstickers and they were very good. You can do small plates and share them "Family Style," but I chose the smaller portion of Baby Back ribs as my entree and it was delicious. It was plenty of food as I don't think I could eat the larger plate of ribs. The corkage was $20. The decor is chic and attracts a hip, younger crowd. The only thing I didn't like was that the place is noisy (this was Saturday night and there was a long line of young, hip people waiting to get in around 9 pm.) It is moderately priced. Starfish does a good job.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 360GUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Outstanding decor only slightly spoiled by a few generic Chinese prints and excessively loud music in an already noisy space. Adventurous menu let down here and there by execution. Dumpling appetizer was ordinary, and mushroom garlic noodles were light on both mushrooms and garlic. However,miso cod and ribs were outstanding. Prices and portions reasonable. Some very inexpensive options available. Definitely the kind of place where you can discover dishes worth returning for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haroldp933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
899 reviews
612 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,778 helpful votes
“Cool Ambiance With The Best Ribs Ever!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were staying right across the street at The Montage and decided on Starfish for dinner. I had read great reviews from foodie publications and was anxious to try it. They are on opentable which we used to book our table. The ambiance is dark, with a cool, hip vibe to the place. We started with the potstickers, then shared the Crab-Mango salad, followed by the smaller portion of ribs with a side of the garlic noodles.

The ribs were awesome and perfectly seasoned with a bit of spice to them. Everything we sampled was excellent as was the Mango Sorbet for dessert. Won't leave Laguna without a meal here in the future. They also offer a nice wine list and full bar for cocktails.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Starfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing