We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Somewhat Secluded” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Cove State Park

Crystal Cove State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.99*
and up
Orange County Helicopter Tour from Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Somewhat Secluded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I love this beach! It is a tad hard to get to, but if you park in the lot off of Los Trancos Street and PCH, you can take the shuttle down to the sand and to The Beachcomber Restaurant for a dollar. This will save you a long walk down. And if you eat at the restaurant, they will validate your parking and you'll save $15 or so. (I have an annual State Parks pass, so I'm unsure what the current parking fees are.)

The beach itself is lovely and is rarely crowded because of its location. This is one of just a few SoCal beaches where you'll find shells and tidepools in pristine conditions. It's definitely worth the trek!

Helpful?
2 Thank Danean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    208
    32
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont miss this !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is one of the best places in Laguna Beach. a little out of the way for some and a local favorite. We cant say enough good about the place. Just make sure you take a sweater if you spend time on the beach around sunset. Be prepared to see a Sunset of your life with Romance in the Air.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful Natural Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We took our grandchildren here for the first look at the Pacific Ocean and the tidepools. Being from Florida, this was a whole new experience for them. From the time we were greeted at the gate by friendly staff to the time we left, we were very pleased with the balance between preserving the natural beauty and making it accessable to all ages. The parking was convenient, the facilities were very clean and the trail, though steep, was safe and manageable. Overall, we were able to accomplish our goal, seeing huge starfish among other things that delighted the kids. This was a great stop.

Helpful?
Thank wadleyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Come for sunset, although you may never leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I came to Crystal cove to take a walk on the beach after a day of meetings that I flew across the country for. I wanted to see the beach before heading back to the airport. I was absolutely taken away from the sights, sounds, and smells of fresh beach air. Its like standing on the edge of the world. Walking on the beach was breathtaking. This is a great place to come and walk the trails or hit the beach. Bring the kids they wont want to miss this gem of a state park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bocaberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
1,046 reviews
303 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“VERY SCENIC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you don't mind a long walk from the parking lot this is a nice place to visit. There are cabins that are from the 30's that give you a taste of the beach scene of that era.

There is also a restaurant with an open patio offering great ocean and beach views.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Cove State Park also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Crystal Cove State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing